We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of wildlife to see!”

Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Wimauma
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The kayak trip was exhausting, yet very fun (o am not much of a kayaker and am not a super fit person). The absolute best part was the scenery and wildlife! It took us (double kayak) about 3 hours to make it down the river, with a 20 minute stop for lunch and a pretty leisurely pace. We saw many fish and turtles, a couple gators, and the best part was seeing the gigantic manatees toward the end of the river. I would definitely do this again!

Thank JiggeryPokeryJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

It sounds like you had a great day on the river. Thanks for your nice comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

Place is decent as far as kayaking down the river but.....

Whatever you do don't stay there overnight.

Valentines day we paid to stay in the RV.. made reservations... go there... Went down the river... had fun and drank all day... get back to the office to them telling us there must have been a mix up and we had to leave.....AFTER DRINKING ALL DAY THEY WANTED US TO DRIVE HOME.

After I told them that wasn't happening... they offered to either let us stay in their "guest bedroom" at the place the owner sleeps (no thanks im not 12 years old) or they would put us in a lousy hotel that is a few miles away and by absolutely nothing. We went here to camp and be outdoors mind you not stay in some motel 6 by nothing Valentines weekend...

First....

How do you let someone check in if they don't have reservations? You let us pay and go down the river then when we get back we have to go? The people that supposedly booked for this weekend weren't even there yet. WE WERE. We booked that weekend and we stayed there at least 6 other times within the last 4-6 months... we were regulars there so for the owner to first say that we booked the wrong weekend is CRAZY. I booked it over the phone. They were having a little party style thing going on that weekend and me and the owner talked on the phone about us being excited about it. He knew we were coming that weekend..... not the previous weekend like he said we booked it for....

and real fast... lets say we booked the previous weekend (WHICH WE DIDNT) When no one showed up all weekend... you dont call? email? nothing? Of course you dont because i booked the right weekend.

Secondly, Lets say we booked the wrong weekend (WHICH WE DIDNT) lets just say... Why would you let us check in? Go down the river and drink... but firewood to make a fire with etc... Then come back and kick 2 regulars that are in no shape to drive out of a place they are already at. We were settled into the RV. (This is at least 7 hours after we checked in) Bought fire wood. stuff to grill... etc... and on Valentines day.. after you made a reservation mistake, you're gonna kick us out? WOW.

I understand things happen. I get that... but its all about how you take care of it. Totally ruined our Valentines Day.

Its actually a decent little place to camp and go down the river.

Just stinks that the owner is dishonest.

WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN.

4  Thank Jerry813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

It saddens us anytime there is a misunderstanding with a customer as we want every visit to the Canoe Outpost to be an enjoyable one. For those rare times when one does occur, we make every effort to correct it. In this case, we allow for the possibility that there may have been a miscommunication about a reservation date. This is one reason that we always send out confirmation e-mails for the customer to review and verify. In this case, our confirmation e-mail clearly listed dates for the weekend prior. At check in, the customer verbally acknowledged that he was the person that we were expecting. He was allowed to check in and then go out on a paddle trip. When the other customer with a correct reservation for that lodging and date called to confirm, we realized our error in letting the first customer check in for the wrong date. Since we are a small property and were fully booked for that weekend, I felt it was moral and right to ask the first customer to vacate and give the lodging to the customer with a confirmed reservation for the correct date. Although no measure could fully correct this unfortunate situation, I feel we made every effort to accommodate this customer. We fully refunded his lodging fees even though he had been a no show for his reservation the previous week, we refunded his paddle trip, we gave him a certificate for a free 2 night stay on a future date and we offered to allow them to stay in our guest room or to put them up in a local hotel at our cost. This situation is unfortunate for all as I expect that I have lost a customer who had stayed with us several times and the customer has lost a favorite river get a way spot even though we would welcome them back at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was the first time my husband and I ever went conoeing, and we had a lot of fun. It was really relaxing. Even for first timers, we handled it well. It took us about 2 1/2 hours to do. I wish we would have pulled over and checked out some of the trails, but that can be for next time. The river was a little low in some areas, and we got stuck on some sand bars, but it just added to our adventure. It was a nice experience, and we will do it again!!!

Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We are so glad you came and paddled the river we love. Each time you paddle can provide a different and wonderful experience and we hope you will visit again. Thanks for the nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We visited Canoe Outpost on Little Manatee after Brian said we could take our dog in the canoe with us. Since we were in our 60's and hadn't canoed for many years, Brian suggested to go with the shorter trip first (about 2.5 miles) and if we got through that easy enough then just call from the first pickup point to say we were going onto the next one which was exactly what we did.
It ended up being a wonderful leisurely afternoon slowly meandering down the lovely river.....Not too many birds when we were there but hundreds of turtles sunbathing on fallen trees. It was shallow in a few areas but only once did we have to get out and pull the canoe for 10-15ft. Our paddle was probably about 6-7 miles and took about 3.5 hours including photo stops and lunch on the riverbank. It was a lovely sunny warm day and for the first time in many years, it brought back fond memories of paddling in the wilderness. At the pickup point, we pulled the canoe up on the bank and 15 minutes later Mike and Denny came with the school bus and trailer to take us and the others back to our cars. A very friendly outfit and a wonderful afternoon. Canoe rental was around $35 with discount.

1  Thank RACER283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

I am so glad you came and enjoyed your day on the river. Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you out on the river again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

A friend from NYC came to visit us last weekend and asked to see some of the "real" Florida (no theme parks, please). My wife and I presented her with two volumes of "Fox 13 Tampa Bay One Tank Trips With Bill Murphy (Fox 13 One Tank Trips Off the Beaten Path) by Bill Murphy," and asked her to pick a few. The canoe and kayaking routes along the Little Manatee River stood out for me. I'd seen a bit of the river years ago working a news story for WMNF-FM, thought it was beautiful, and wanted to go back. This was a great opportunity!

The people at Canoe Outpost, were real friendly, very helpful, and a pleasure to rent a 3-person canoe from (these aren't easy to find). The route map was a bit sketchy (especially about relative distances), but we managed easily, and had a lovely afternoon (choosing the shortest route-- about 2.5 hours of leisurely paced paddling). We saw lovely weeping trees, draped with vines and Spanish moss, lots of turtles, fish, birds, and frogs. Other paddlers that afternoon encountered manatees and a 'gator further down the route. The water was clear, and, along several patches, quite shallow.

Highly recommended.

1  Thank TwinFlayms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

I am so glad you took the opportunity to get reacquainted with the river. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River also viewed

Been to Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing