We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful stretch of river”

Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Wimauma
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a lot of fun canoeing a stretch of the Little Manatee River with a rental from Canoe Outpost. This was in May, and the summer rains had not started yet. The river was low, so we were in and out of the canoe, paddling and dragging it. We had gotten a Groupon that helped this be an even more economical trip. We have heard that it is a lot of fun to canoe and kayak this stretch when the river is higher and faster (which it probably is now, since it has been raining so much the past 2 or 3 months). Canoe Outpost has cabins (though we did not stay overnight) and the shop has some cool t-shirts as well as food.

1  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for paddling with us and taking the time to write a review. The Little Manatee River can provide different experiences and looks at different water levels, each level having its own charms. We hope you will return to sample the variety.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 75 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Canoe Outpost is truly an undiscovered gem of Hillsborough County. Located on the Little Manatee, Canoe Outpost rents canoes and kayaks for excursions downriver to a pickup point. The route takes you past and through Manatee River State Park. There are places to stop and view wildlife, fish, picnic or swim along the way. At the end of your paddle, signs direct you to a pick up point where the staff loads up your canoe or kayak and drives you back to the Outpost. A great, relaxing way to spend part or all of a day. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. They also offer launching and/or pickup services for your own kayak or canoe. Great family fun! We have been there several times over the past few years.

Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We are glad you have discovered the Little Manatee River. Thanks for your visits and your nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It was our first family canoe trip. The operator was very nice, gave us tips, and instructions to help us out. The water was higher than normal, and the current was swifter than normal also, so that made for an exciting trip. We didnt tip over, and stayed dry, except for the rain shower that came up. We had fun, and would definitely go again. Awesome trip!!!

Thank Jonwoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for choosing the Canoe Outpost Little Manatee River for your family's first canoe trip. The higher water levels of the summer rainy season can provide extra excitement and some challenges. Since your family is now officially a paddling family, we hope you will visit us again soon. Perhaps to try the lower water levels of fall and spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We checked this place out based on reviews. The river is quiet and calm, a great float trip. We saw tons of turtles and two gators. The staff was friendly and very helpful providing maps and instructions.

1  Thank PoliceChief3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for visiting. We are glad you enjoyed your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Due to weather being colder than expected, we decided to find something different to do. We hooked up with the Canoe Outpost through some friends and we are glad we did. The owners are the nicest people and the trip was so relaxing and beautiful. This is not a difficult canoe/kayak trip. But, it is relaxing, pretty and fun. I would highly recommend this as a way to escape the hustle and bustle of the beach areas.

1  Thank Rookie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thanks for paddling with us and posting your nice review. We appreciate visitors to Florida who can enjoy a day on the river even if it is not 80 degrees all the time. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River also viewed

Been to Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing