We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSTANDING !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Florida Seafood House - CLOSED

Old Florida Seafood House
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend who visits Ft. Lauderdale yearly !
Who can complain about the early bird from 5-6 with 25% off already reasonable prices !
For $20 I had an excellent Tilapia Royal with a touch of crab and baby shrimp, double baked potato, carrots, an excellent salad rolls and excellent fluffy cheesecake for dessert!
My wife had shrimp scampi which rated "outstanding." Would be a stop anytime I'm in the area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gtmueller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    15
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
“Who needs Charles'?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Outstanding Stone Crabs- as good as any elsewhere. Been dining at OFSH for years, and the consistent quality of fish, other foods, service, and portion brings my "snowbird" family back year after year. You want it prepared a certain way, ask them, they may be able to accommodate your wish. Their Raw Bar offers the best-fresh shell fish in FL.
Thanks OFSH...see you next year!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old really is old...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Terrible experience. I have celiac disease and asked specifically if the tilapia was breaded. The waitress reassure me it was not. However, when my food came it was breaded in flour. I had to trade my dinner with my mothers meal. My mother ordered shrimp scampi and it was the worst shrimp I have ever consumed. I honestly should of ate the breaded fish to end this terrible venture. Overall, never come here it's old and the food tastes the same way.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cierrapfister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth every dime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been going to Old Florida for over 15 years, and it is one of the few resturants we have found that the food/service/atmosphere are always excellent.

An older crowd and very loyal following, the owner, hostess and servers know the regulars by name. Especially in the "den".

Jim loves the Shellfish Marinara, I always have the Maine Lobster Tails. The meal comes with bread, a great salad, potato, fried zucchini or creamed spinach. The house dressing is amazing!

A bit pricey, at $32 but for an occasional splurge its definately worth the money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood with a straight forward preparation and presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went there twice in ten days. I admit, I like the place. Go out of your way to dine there.

Raw oysters and clams. Many fish of the day selections. Large portions. Attentive service. What is their not to like?

I generally order 1/2 dozen raw clams (devine) and one of the "fish of the day" grilled. Never been unhappy. My wife likes the deserts; I don't indulge.

Ambiance: the dining room is a large open room with tables and booths. Basic wood tables with place mats. Cheerful atmosphere. In a room off to the side there is a bar, where food is also served.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EfficientFrontier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Florida Seafood House also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Wilton Manors, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing