We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a not so great location!”

Candela Restaurant Wine Bar, Tapas,
Ranked #12 of 86 Restaurants in Wilton Manors
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Okland Park Blvd
Description: At Candela we recreate the way Spaniards approach dinning, a lay back setting where wine and unpretentious bold dishes fill the table. We encourage our guests to share and sample our menu. Be the creator of your own Chef's Tasting Menu.
fort lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food in a not so great location!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

You would never think of going to this restaurant if you were to choose an establishment by its location. It is in a nondescript shopping center off of a busy street behind KMart! But do not let the map deter you from trying its treasures. We had a lovely meal, with a great bottle of wine that our waiter suggested. The atmosphere is very surprising once you get past the look of the plaza. The chorizo appetizer was delicious. I had the suckling pig special, which I had not had in a long time and it arrived with a perfectly crackling skin and was very good. I would definitely go back and recommend it to friends.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ligia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    24
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Wilton Manors”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This restaurant is family owned and operated. The chef, Armando, is very personable and puts together a wonderful menu. His wife, Julares, is the primary server. The restaurant is one of the best in terms of food taste and quality. Their wine selection is very good and fairly priced. Because this operation is very small, expect things to take a little longer. Don't go if you are in a hurry. Armando makes some excellent dishes. Check them out and you will be pleased.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GR8PNUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Fort Lauderdale Treasure”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Last night we dined at Candela again. What a great evening! The restaurant was busy with such a variety of people. The food is always delicious. Every time I go I have to have the yuca! It is the best I have ever tasted. Last night I ordered the moroccan chicken stew. What an amazing journey for the taste buds! The flavors are so lively and interesting! The ambiance of the restaurant is superb with white table cloths, soft lighting, and beautiful Spanish music in the background. The owner/chef always comes out to greet each table and talk about the food. He is passionate about his art and loves to see his guests enjoying his creations. I recommend ordering several different dishes and sharing amongst your friends. Don't forget to save room for the creme brûlée, delicious!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fun, family owned Cuban / Mediterranean restaurant”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a fun little restaurant. Family owned and operated, the Chef will often appear at your table and describe the specials or check-in about the dishes. The menu is varied enough and the daily specials are worth considering. The service was a little off but certainly polite and everyone is trying hard. Sit in the main room and if you are 6 or more there is a great large wooden table by the window. Perfect for a friends get-together to enjoy good food and wine. The wine list is not extensive but some reasonable selections and moderately priced. Food was great - hot, tasty, good portion and well presented.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petertravel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine worth trying”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This restaurant has so much well prepared food by chef and owner Armando that each visit is a culinary journey .
The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the food surpasses as expectations
You might have to wait as the food is freshly prepared but you will be rewarded with an incredibly sophisticated taste sensation
This place is definitely worth the journey as a tourist in Ft Lauderdale or as a local !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candela Restaurant Wine Bar, Tapas, also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Wilton Manors, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Candela Restaurant Wine Bar, Tapas,? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing