We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park with Class III white water rapid”

Big Shoals State Park
Attraction details
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice park with Class III white water rapid”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We took our kids and did a couple hours hiking there. You will pass the sign of little shoal entrance and then turn when you see the sign of big shoal entrance. It is a little bit driving to find the parking lot. So if you feel why I still can't see the parking lot, just hang on and you will get there. By the end of the trail, you will hear the loud sound of the white water rapid. It is amazing. We also did a picnic in the park. A very peaceful park.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chachaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a great place to bring a picnic and check out the river. They also have a nice walking trail that runs along the river. The shoals size and really vary depending on the water level in the river.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend a few hours”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautiful view of the rapids at the end of a short trail. There are plenty of creatures to see. I would pair this trip to a visit to the Stephen Foster park. The entrance to the Big shoals public area is not very well marked. It is at the end of a dirt road. There is no park ranger. The fee is $4 per vehicle.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have taken two sets of guests to this place and both of them mentioned how peaceful and quiet it was there. The hiking trails are well marked. For those who enjoy taking photos, down by the river is best. Once finished the hike, well maintained restrooms are by the parking lot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just traveling around”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is such a naturally beautiful place. We walked all around just looking at the water and foliage. We took a picnic to sit and enjoy as well.

Helpful?
Thank Debi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Shoals State Park also viewed

 
White Springs, FL
 

Been to Big Shoals State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing