We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate , beautiful location and fantastic food”
Review of Zandoli Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Patrick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zandoli Inn
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Intimate , beautiful location and fantastic food”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Traveled with spouse and adult daughter.
Peaceful location, could swim and snorkel right on the property, though it is very rocky. Rooms are not airc onditioned, thankful for fans and bug nets. OUr stay was great, and Linda and Jen were both very helpful in advising us on places to see on the island Jen is the best chef! She prepared gourmet food with local ingredients and even managed to make a very special Christmas dinner for us. Our dietary restrictions were all taken into consideration. Hotel is very small so take that into consideration, only 5 rooms total. you are right in the middle of the jungle, off of a bumpy road, 45 minutes from Roseau. Nothing to do, though there is a small cold pool, and lounge chairs to sit on.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suebee110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
92
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

My wife and I spent two days & one night at Zandoli Inn and it was one of the most romantic relaxing places we have been together. The owners were wonderful and helpful and the food was exquisite. Whether you are soaking in the pool, snorkeling on the reef or relaxing in the beautiful room with the ocean breeze and sound of the waves, this place has it all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkAJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Each year that we go back to Dominica we find new things to do - amazing given this is such a small island, but it's just so rich and diverse.. but one thing remains the same - we stay at Zandoli Inn.

I'm really surprised by the review that talked about car traffic at Zandoli as bad as Lincoln Park Chicago- I've lived there, and I see no comparison. Zandoli is in a quiet part of the island. I fall asleep to the distant sound of waves crashing. And if anything, the birds may wake me up in the morning. If you stay in town, you get party noise, and a TON of traffic.

We've stayed at various places on the island our first couple years. But each year we spent more of the trip at Zandoli and the last few years we just stay there. I love the service, the super clean and quiet and tasteful rooms. A lot of the wood furniture is made locally, with local style so you understand a bit of 'local culture' and Linda and Jennifer can tell you so much more. I love the location which has the freshest sweetest air from all the flowering trees and fruit trees, with a nice little perch by the ocean (and swimming if you are comfortable). And I greatly appreciate the fantastic food at Zandoli. It's not cheap, but quality never is. The bread is fresh baked, the seafood fresh caught, etc.

Planning to go back again...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Topotopanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Sorry. I know everyone is wowed by this place. If you are given a room on the bay the view makes up for the sparten accomodations, plastic fan and stingy food/beverage fee for item services. Booked this after reviews and web site. 2 1/2 hour circuitous drive to get to paradise to be placed in a small back room, facing the "forest." Thought, OK, relax, enjoy the trees...then heard the sounds of traffic just behind the line of trees a feww hundred yards from our room. Was told not to worry. Only a problem early AM when people go to work..6 am... and about 3:30-5:00 pm. For me this is the time I happen to like to sleep in or nap on a tropical get away. Again, the other 3-4 rooms had lovely views. We were exhausted to get to this oasis of paradise and to be subjected without warning to traffic louder than I hear in Lincoln Park, Chicago was distressing.
In addition, there are no restaurants, snack bars, or small convience stores near this hotel. If you desire a beverage or snack you are required to fill out a notebook with your entry and are charged accordingly. We were charged $10.00 for two non alcholic punches. Perhaps I would not have been so upset by this stingy maneuver if I was partaking of the rum punches that are all the rave.
In summary, I warn folks to budget the food costs into your stay which appears to be quite reasonable until you add in charges for picnic/dinner/etc. I would recommend a fixed price as all inclusive rate for food and beverage as you really are captive here and do not have any other options. Writing down your snacks is petty.
The ambiennce is the nature. The hotel is dumpy. The common room has worn wooden tables and old game boards.
A real disappointment. Changed hotels to a hotel in town...nothing fancy, but private and quiet.
Try Beau Rive on the Pacific Coast. Fabulous. Great, gracious owner/inn keeper. Loveley, tasteful accomodations. Great food.
I do not normally write review. I am sure people love this place. But know what you are getting into..isolated, plain, costly with food add ons and avoid the room without the view!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank amktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservezandoli, Manager at Zandoli Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
It is unfortunate for you and Zandoli that you didn’t enjoy your time with us. We are fortunate that the vast majority of our guests find Zandoli to their liking and many return numerous times. We are shocked by your review and could address all your comments but would rather just wish you a happy time wherever you go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

If you wish to immerse yourself in the boundless beauty of Dominica, Zandoli Inn is most definitely the place for you! My girlfriend and I recently spent our vacation there, and we were astounded by how well the establishment met our needs and exceeded our expectations. The facilities and grounds were spotless. The decor was tasteful and more than a little charming. The service was warm, helpful and accommodating. And the view from our room was unbelievable – both from our private balcony and the window directly across from our bed. The food was amazing! The chef used local ingredients to create delicious gourmet meals. Believe me when I say that places like Zandoli are a rarity on Dominica. It's one of the most beautiful places on one of the most beautiful islands on Earth.

Many thanks to Jen, our wonderful hostess, who took the time to show us around the neighbouring villages and the expansive Zandoli trails and gardens. Be sure to save some time to walk down to the sea and sit by the water's edge – it's such a serene experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philcrenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Awake to a spectacular view of Pointe Taname and the gentle waters of Grande Bay. Enjoy breakfast of freshly brewed coffee, local fruits, and breads served on a shaded terrace. Stroll down the garden path for a swim in the plunge pool or continue down to the bay and slip into the clear bay for a swim or snorkel.
After a day of island exploring, enjoy a mango daiquire while watching the sunset. Dinner is local fish or meat expertly seasoned and accompanied by local vegetables. No TV or loud music to disturb the chirping frogs, the singing birds or the lapping of the sea against the rocks. A unique location for anyone seeking the ultimate relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaveintomyimpulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

By far this place had the best views and highest attention to detail of all the places we stayed in Dominica. The food was amazing, very fresh and tasty. The staff is courteous and professional. My personal favorite were the homemade crackers. Jen went out her way to provide quality service. She helped us get an excellent rate on a rental car and gave us transportation to pick it up. She was knowledgeable and helpful regarding things to see and afforadable ways to see them. The views - while dining, from our private deck, from our bed, from the garden - were all spectacular. The inn is perfectly designed and tastefully decorated. It is very private and seculded. There are books to read and info on Dominica. The bed was the most comfortable of all we slept on in Dominica.

I would recommend bringing your own snorkel equipment as there is none in the area to rent. Also, having a rental car before arrival saves on time because Stowe is a bit isolated from other stuff. The inn is a little pricey but food and services are expensive all over the island and for the quality this seemed to more appropriately match than some of the other places we stayed.

We would definitely recommend this inn and we stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southernsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Patrick Parish
7.3 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
864 reviews
24.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
492 reviews
19.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
6.2 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
24.5 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zandoli Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zandoli Inn

Property: Zandoli Inn
Address: Roche Cassee | Stowe, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Patrick Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Patrick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil, secluded hideaway with captivating views, dramatically located on six acres of forest gardens 80 feet above the sea. For the adventurous, the boulder shoreline below provides sea access for those who snorkel. Resident guests enjoy breakfast and dinner overlooking the Grand Bay and the sparkling village across the bay. Zandoli Inn is just a 25 minute drive from Roseau and a special place to stay while investigating the southern end of the island of Dominica. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing