We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Retreat in Paradise”
Review of Zandoli Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Patrick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zandoli Inn
A TripAdvisor Member
Reston, Virginia
13
Reviewed September 3, 2005

We spent a glorious week at Zandoli Inn in March. Innkeeper Linda, her daughter Jennie, and the Zandoli staff were gracious, attentive, kind, and fun, and made us feel right at home. The food, the accommodations, the views, the grounds are superlative, and provided the perfect homebase for our exploration of Dominica. Both Linda and Jennie were very helpful and insightful in helping us narrow down the things we wanted to do and places to see. We started each day with a sumptuous breakfast of local fruits, refreshing juices, and home-made breads--or heavier fare if strenuous activity was planned for the day--on the patio, chatting with Linda or the other guests about our plans for the day. Then, spending the day roaming about Dominica--hiking (yes, we did the hike to Boiling Lake--fabulous!), snorkeling, enjoying the myriad waterfalls, and more. We also spent one day simply lounging about the Inn, snorkeling, sunning, soaking in the refreshing cool pool, wandering the bouldery coast. After a full day of activities, a brief nap and a shower, gathering for cocktail hour with Linda and Jennie, and other guests to share laughs and stories. (If you are so inclined, Linda's secret recipe rum punch is not to be missed.) Followed by Jennie's gourmet dinners, each morsel a mouth-watering delight. Then bedtime, lulled to sleep by the cool breezes and rhythms of the waves. A perfect vacation, and Zandoli was the perfect place to stay. We'll return again and again. K&K

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Zandoli Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2005

My wife and I just returned from Dominica and a stay at the Zandoli Inn. The Inn is as a serene and immaculate a location as anyone could imagine. The view of the sea and the mountains from our room was stunning. The owner's daughter Jennifer and her staff were wonderful. They were there when we needed them and otherwise were unintrusive. The food was sensational, from the fresh fruit to the native dishes, as well as the main courses prepared by Jen who must be considered a gourmet chef. Jen also helped to arrange guides for bird watching and hiking. If you're animal lovers like we are, the Inn is the place to stay. Resident are two friendly dogs and a couple of affectionate and playful cats. It was like having part of our home with us. We were fortunate to have great, albeit hot and sticky, weather and even with the unscreened windows opened in our room, insects were not a problem at all. No television, no radio, no computer, no newspapers. If peace and quiet, except for the sounds of the ocean and the birds, are what you are looking for, this is the place to try. Would return in a heartbeat. John

2  Thank dawgpounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
25
Reviewed April 30, 2005

Dominica is truly a hidden treasure in the caribiean and the Zandolli Inn is the only place to stay while you are there. If you want the best of the best for: food, rooms, company, planning, sites, relaxation etc. this is your only option. Each morning we woke to fresh fruits and several choices for breakfast. The days plans were organized by Linda, the woman who runs the inn. She set us up with a trail guide, snorkling locations, sites to see or just lunch by the pool! Each day would end with a fresh gourmet dinner (by any standards)-- everything was really wonderful. That night you would retire to your room with all the windows open, the light of the moon and a light breeze. Dominica is definitly an adventurers destination, but staying at the Zandolli Inn made every day relaxing, polished and perfect... I can't wait to return.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2005

The Zandoli Inn is a dream come true: beautiful views, secluded location, pristine rooms, caring staff and wonderful meals. There is nothing else I could want in a vacation getaway. When I walked into the room and saw the view to Grand Bay and south to Martinique, I was awestruck. We stayed 5 nights with Linda and every one was a delight. She is so knowledgeable about Dominica and its people; it helped make our vacation even more special. There is also good snorkeling right off of the rocks below the inn.

4  Thank MaryAnn_and_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2005

My boyfriend & I stayed at Zadoli Inn from Feb 18-21. We were amazed when we stepped onto the property. the place is immaculate, the grounds are beautiful, and the view is outstanding! we stayed in room #4, which was very comfortable, with a great breeze flowing through the room at all times of the day; we slept with our doors & windows completely open, only covering with a very quaint mosquito netting in case those guys decided to come in, which, i will say, thye didn't. i didn't recieve one bite. i will recommend if making reservations that you request room #5 as it had the best view of all the rooms.
Zandoli is very far from anything else, so you basically have to eat breakfast & dinner there, which came to be quite pricy. that was the only downfall - the price of everything. dinners were around $35 and breakfast was $10, but the food was good! especialy the breakfasts. everything is home cooked & fresh, so that is a reassurance after passing stand after stand of BBQ places on the island. We ate breakfast there, did our daily thing of hiking or scuba diving, then retreated back to the hotel for rest until dinner, had dinner, and then slept. very chill, very relaxing.
Once I start (currently in medical school) making some money, I will definatly stay there again. Linda was a fabulous hostess, on the querky side, but we loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arorasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Athens, GA
13
Reviewed September 13, 2004

Our three-night stay at Zandoli was superb. We felt like we had stepped into another world, without depressing world news, clocks or daily demands. It was so relaxing and completely private. Our room, #5, had the most extraordinary view over the bay. We slept with the windows and balcony doors open each night, watching the stars and fireflies before falling asleep, and didn't even need our mosquito net. The snorkeling was great and the food was just delicious! Each dish was creatively prepared with many local ingredients - we were beyond satisfied! Marlies was a very gracious host and we vow to return. We highly recommend Zandoli and beautiful Dominica.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Russell, Ontario
517
Reviewed August 20, 2004

We stayed at the Zandoli in Jan 2004. With only 5 rooms, it is quiet and tastefully done. Beautiful gardens, amazing views of the Caribbean, great food and very personalized service by the owner. Note there is no beach, but some stairs down to the sea where you can swim off the rocks. We will return.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Patrick Parish
24.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
148 reviews
14.9 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
323 reviews
19.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zandoli Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zandoli Inn

Address: Roche Cassee | Stowe, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Patrick Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Patrick Parish
Price Range: $135 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil, secluded hideaway with captivating views, dramatically located on six acres of forest gardens 80 feet above the sea. For the adventurous, the boulder shoreline below provides sea access for those who snorkel. Resident guests enjoy breakfast and dinner overlooking the Grand Bay and the sparkling village across the bay. Zandoli Inn is just a 25 minute drive from Roseau and a special place to stay while investigating the southern end of the island of Dominica. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing