We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-la”
Review of Zandoli Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Patrick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zandoli Inn
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shangri-la”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Magnificent views of Grand Bay, with ocean swimming for the agile. Quiet, forested, Tree orchids, nestled on sea cliff. Excellent dining, fine rum punches. Get Sea Cat to help you scramble upstream to amazing Victoria Falls - and swim behind the deluge -, tasting Dominica's fruits and spices (plus Manny's bread and anonymous moonshine) on the way.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin I P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
92
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to Zandoli because of my great experience last year. Jenn and her staff has provided what we needed for my parents (72 y.o and 78 y.o.) and me. We loved rooms with great ocean view and cool breeze without air conditioner at night. Jenn is the iron chef in Dominica. Her three courses meal was the highest standard possible in the island and we could not have an idea to eat anywhere else. We felt like we were in a Michelin-Starred Restaurant in the wonderful Caribbean setting. Rooms were clean and neat with great Western standard which fulfilled our needs. When we had a plan to go to Titou Gorge, she rented life jackets for our convenience. She also arranged the best guide for our boiling lake hiking. Now, Zandoli is my second home in Caribbean island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGeek57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I really liked Zandoli. A lot of care has been taken in developing the inn to fit well with its surroundings and the views over Grand Bay are stunning to wake up to.

I got there after spending a week walking, canyoning and swmming round Dominica's beautiful natural attractions so it was a great place to unwind. It's a peaceful and secluded spot but my host Jenn had plenty of suggestions for things to do nearby (if you didn't fancy snorkelling off the rocks at the foot of the property or just relaxing by the plunge pool). You probably need a car to get to and from places while you're there but that's true of the island as whole - go with a sense of adventure and you won't be disappointed.

Jenn and her team were generous with their time and advice throughout my stay and the food and service were excellent (including the house rum punch). Zandoli is great base for exploring the south of Dominica, the hotel itself is stylishly understated and there is a warm a friendly atmosphere to complement the idyllic location. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The hotel has been well designed so that all the rooms have great views across the bay and plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

It has taken me some time to write this review as we could not make our minds about the Zandoli Inn. It has a great many good points but also a few issues some of which guests ought to be aware of to set their expectations.

The Zandoli Inn is a small, 5 bedroom, hotel in a lovely position on the south coast. There is no beach but then Dominica has never been a beach island. Our room, and I think all the others, was large, airy and had a good shower and adequate bathroom. The balcony had good views of the sea.

The owner Jenn and her staff were very friendly and attentive and the standard of service was high.

So why the problem? Firstly the Inn is in an isolated location so in practice you have to take dinner in house. You are supposedly told in the morning what will be served that evening (there was only one option but presumably you could ask for something different in advance) of course the day you arrive you are faced with a fait accompli and in practice we did not discover what was being cooked until the evening on all three nights. We will eat most things so were not too bothered and during our stay ate lobster, octopus, fish and curry (goat I think) but I know of plenty of people who would find this "difficult" and would then feel awkward about making a fuss.
The food was fine, well presented but not very special. By the time 15% service and 15% tax had been added to the bill it was also quite expensive ($300US a night for the room with dinner and breakfast for two but excluding drinks).
If you want to be in the south of Dominica I am not sure where else you could stay, in exploring the area we did not come across any other strong candidates. Did we enjoy our stay? - Yes but if you are planning a visit to the Zandoli Inn just be prepared for the dining arrangements, perhaps ask what is on the menu in advance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Zandoli Inn – a most enchanting spot for a break

The Zandoli Inn because of the warmth one receives from staff there feels more you are entering a friendly host home than an Inn. This is a credit to Jenny and Linda, daughter and mother respectively who runs this lovely place. More remarkable because of its rear location in Stowe, and sandwiched between Bagatel, Dubic/Grand Bay. It’s rear, since it was built by Linda’s late husband it was the only guess house in this part of Dominica. Zandoli Inn snuggles in the woods around it and the mountains at one end, and has the most remarkable view of two bays looking out on the Atlantic Ocean; as well as the “Martinique channel”.
The Inn is not large and has limited rooms, five guest suites in all, but what it lacks in size it makes up with the warmth already mentioned and the fantastic view that guests can enjoy. What Zandoli has going for it, is its tfood that is locally supplied and a bar that has a wonderful range of Jenny’s cocktails. If you like the local stuff, then try her rum punch or coconut punch; just beautiful and certainly on par with the best on the island. With your rum punch try her homemade chicken pate’.
If you are single, a couple or family a break here will certainly recharge your batteries; the panoramic view will take here of that. If you are making your own way there then you need to make a longish journey from Melville Hall airport and then a 13 miles or 25 minutes journey from Roseau the capital, but when you get there, it would worth the journey. Can’t wait to have my next rum punch and pate'.

Room Tip: Talk to Jenny or Linda
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clynton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Zandoli Inn is beautifully designed, set amongst lovely gardens and in a spectacular location. Jenn is a great host and an excellent cook. Great to wake up in the morning, have a refreshing swim in the ocean, and then head out to visit all the wonderful places that Dominica offers. Lovely to return to the best rum punch on the island and a delicious meal. Exceptional!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conigliera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you truly want to "get away from it all", there's no better place than the Zandoli Inn. There are no televisions, radios, or clocks in the rooms and it is so healthy to just unplug from the constant barrage of technology and noise. At the Zandoli time truly seems to stand still. Who needs tv when you have a spectacularly beautiful (and I do mean spectacular) view of ocean, mountains, and rainforest? Who needs radio when you have choruses of frogs and birds? We enjoyed spotting whales and sea turtles, as well as identifying different birds and we didn't even have to leave our room for that---we did that all from the comfort our private balcony. There are some nice trails to hike through the forest surrounding the Zandoli as well as a rocky shore where you can just rest peacefully, or, if you're a strong swimmer, there is a place where you can access the water and perhaps do a little snorkeling. Jenn is a wonderful hostess who really went out of her way to make us feel at home. She grew up on Dominica and is a great source of information about what to see and do. She is also a superb chef and the food at the Zandoli was an unexpected pleasure --- it was the best we've had anywhere! We hope to return soon, but for a much longer stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CS&AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Patrick Parish
24.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
487 reviews
19.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
7.3 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
321 reviews
24.4 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
224 reviews
27.3 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zandoli Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zandoli Inn

Property: Zandoli Inn
Address: Roche Cassee | Stowe, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Patrick Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Patrick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil, secluded hideaway with captivating views, dramatically located on six acres of forest gardens 80 feet above the sea. For the adventurous, the boulder shoreline below provides sea access for those who snorkel. Resident guests enjoy breakfast and dinner overlooking the Grand Bay and the sparkling village across the bay. Zandoli Inn is just a 25 minute drive from Roseau and a special place to stay while investigating the southern end of the island of Dominica. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing