We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Recommended experiences in and around Antigua
from $112.81
More Info
from $133.34
More Info
from $128.21
More Info
from $176.93
More Info
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
154
43
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
154
43
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cats and dogs animal lovers animals seem heart warming gentle animals their lives bought a t shirt t shirts wonderful animals pot holes cold drinks humane society no pressure for sale english harbour island tour jolly harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 210 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The lady who told us all about the Sanctuary was lovely
The donkeys are well cared for and love a bit of fuss
We were able to groom them and spent lots of time with them 8n the shade of the trees
Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank helen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I drove here during our stay in Antigua and it turned out to be one the best parts of our trip. The place is run by a couple of ladies that truly care about the well being of these animals. When you arrive they give you a brush, open the gate and let you walk in to the penned area, pick whichever donkey is willing and brush and pet them.

They’ll come up to you in a few minutes. They are gentle and trusting, particularly of my wife, I’m assuming the abuse some of them suffered was at the hands of men. Some are a little hesitant.

They rescue wild and injured donkeys that were abandoned by the sugar cane plantations.

For $25 US you can sponsor a donkey, to help with costs. WARNING: You will need to clean your shoes or flip flops afterwards, it is a farm with lots of farm “accoutrements” !

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank WHurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

Part of the island tour - a fantastic day
The Donkey retreat was lovely, there was also a cat sanctuary

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

great little trip to see the beautiful donkeys. please go and support the work they do for these amzing creatures, and the other wildlife of antigua.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank jimmypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2019 via mobile

Definitely good people with great intentions but must say the animals seemed depressed, lack of energy coats in poor condition, poor diet , captivity doesn’t always work. Travelled throughout Antigua and saw wild donkeys in great condition and living well, fully understand that things go wrong and some animals need care and attention but long term in this sanctuary may not be the solution.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank FOXATION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K C, Executive Director at Antigua's Donkey Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2019

Hello "Foxation", thanks for getting in touch and sharing your concerns. It would have been a good idea had you raised them with our staff at the time you were here. Happily, these concerns are not well-founded and we are very happy with the life we are able to offer these at-risk animals. They are not depressed, they are sensible and preserving their energy in the heat of the day but move quite differently in the cool of the evening. Thanks to our supporters, they receive an excellent diet of guinea grass (which they love), high quality hay and straw as well as the treats that visitors bring, usually apples and carrots. The donkeys' coats are in excellent condition, particularly since they receive several brushings per day from our visitors. They are, however, in the process of acquiring their winter coats so some might have an uneven appearance.The donkeys you saw roaming are fatter for sure and, according to experts from the UK Donkey Sanctuary often fall into the category of obesity which you perhaps are aware is the number one health problem for animals in developed countries. They also fall victim to angry crop farmers, road accidents and cruelty. All donkeys in our Sanctuary faced these problems and are here for their safety and well-being. Perhaps a little more knowledge will help you see things in a different light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews