We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic honeymoon!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blue Moon Antigua

Upper villa deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upper villa deck
Galleon Beach upper villa dining and living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Upper villa deck
Galleon Beach
upper villa dining and living room
kitchen/living room
upper villa kitchen
outdoor garden shower
lower villa bathroom
upper villa living room
walk to beach
sunset from villas
Galleon Beach (villas on left) from Middle Ground
Jacuzzi
morning rainbow from villa deck
steps to villas
Jacuzzi and BBQ area between villas
lower villa bedroom
Galleon Beach dock
hike to Shirley's Heights from villa
view from Shirley's Heights with Galleon Beach and villas
classic yacht racing from villa deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint Paul Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sage R
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We just returned from 12 days at Blue Moon for our honeymoon, and we couldn't have had a better experience. The villas are beautiful and very well stocked with all the amenities you could possibly need; the view across English Harbor is stunning; and the hosts, Michael and Shonnie, are incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. We were so busy with wedding planning that we didn't plan anything for our honeymoon besides flights and lodging, but it wasn't a problem at all because Michael and Shonnie were so helpful when we arrived with suggesting the best things to do and see and making us reservations.

We spent our days in such a wide variety of ways -- relaxing on our private deck just taking in the view; hiking on trails both straightforward and challenging; snorkeling and swimming at secluded beaches; circumnavigating the whole island by catamaran; getting massages; testing out the wonderful cuisine the island has to offer; and cooking for ourselves in the villa kitchen. We've only been back for a few days, and we're already wishing we could return to Antigua immediately! When we do, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere other than Blue Moon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GahuGrrl
Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“There is no better villa experience on Antigua!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We just finished our third stay at Blue Moon, and will be back! I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Antigua. Located above the English Harbour and just next to Falmouth Harbor, there are 2 spacious, comfortable villas nestled into the hillside with astounding views of the water and surrounding landscape.

We've stayed in both the upper and lower villas. Each is laid out in a similar way, with a front porch/balcony overlooking the harbour (we ate our meals out on the porch), a living room with desk/bookshelves, tv (we didn't use the tv but it had access to various channels), well-equipped kitchen, bathroom and bedroom.

The bedroom featured a king bed that was more comfortable than ours at home, with ample closet and dresser space, and a luxurious mosquito net.

The kitchens are laid out perfectly - ample space to work and cook, quality cookware, microwave and stove, cutlery, blender, coffee maker, and mid-size refrigerator with an ice maker that made our lives soooo sweet! We went shopping in a couple of the local supermarkets and easily prepared our own meals, something that not only saves money but heck, why would we want to eat out when we had the best view on the island?

The bath is also spacious and contains plenty of storage and many helpful items. The shower is located just outside, via a door from the bath or an entryway from the front of the villa. While Antigua doesn't get cold, the hot water felt good right after a swim. Ample bath and beach towels are provided.

Folks who visit tend to leave books behind and both villas feature a ton of random reading if you want it. There are ample outlets installed anywhere they might be needed, so plugging in and using the wireless internet (a private, secure signal) was easy no matter where we were sitting.

The lovely breeze floated through the screens of the huge windows of the house, one of my favorite aspects of these villas - they are extremely well-designed, open and airy. It's so nice to fall asleep lulled by the very gentle waves that wash up into the protected harbor, and to feel a breeze - I'll take this over a hotel room any day.

Between the two villas is a hot tub - yes, a hot tub, situated so we can sit and look out over the harbor while sipping on a margarita and letting the jets work on our tired snorkeling muscles. Next to the hot tub, up on a little platform, is a gas grill for guests to use. The layout of that area is particularly suited if both villas are rented out by friends, as a place to sit on cushioned benches, soak, and socialize.

Flowering bushes and plants abound on the property, and the host, Shonnie, is just down below the villas in her home if needed. Down at that house guests can be supplied with snorkel equipment, or use the yoga area, which is such a bonus for those of us who practice. Right from the house we hiked to many amazing areas - up to Shirley Heights, or around the shore to castle rock, or down to the beach to take a water taxi to Nelson's Dockyard. Shonnie gave us excellent advice on places to eat in Falmouth Harbor as well as ideas of where to find info on places to visit and how to get there. We've never rented a car there - once at the Harbour, everything is just too easy to get to - but there is parking and the entire area of Galleon Beach is gated and safe. This time around we used Shonnie's massage therapist, who visited our villa for a very reasonable rate - there is a massage table usually stored in the upper villa but it's available to guests of both.

This is a great place for folks who want a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy2252...
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We love staying here so much it's becoming a habit. Blue Moon Antigua is a couple's paradise. The villas are beautifully appointed & well-kept; we wish we could wake up every morning in such simple beauty & peacefulness - with a spectacular view. Galleon Beach, adjacent to English Harbour, a great location, is only a water-taxi ride away. We enjoy the low-key atmosphere, lazy swimming & restful sunning. Galleon has a wonderful sense of privacy that caters to all kinds of people. The restaurants nearby are truly outstanding in some cases; having a kitchen is fun, too, if you just want to hang out & relax.The local grocery stores are accustomed to supplying all the fancy yachts with food & have fantastic choices. The hosts couldn't be more helpful & friendly; it's like visiting family!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinbagon...
Trinidad
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is no ordinary guesthouse”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I was looking for somewhere nice as we celebrating a special occasion. Started by checking out the hotels of which there is no shortage but moved to B&B as they are usually spacious. Blue Moon nestled as it is above Galleon beach offers spectacular views and from our villa you could see across to English Harbour. With a wrap around verandah and living area dancing the bay you could sit anywhere and enjoy the views. I was slightly concerned there was no a/c but it's not required as the cool breezes keep the place cool. The outdoor bathroom is a nice touch.

Did not use the kitchen but the villa gas all the amenities, including a jacuzzi!

Being on a hill there are a fair few stairs to manage so if you're mobility is challenged then consider somewhere else. Parking is not all that daunting the driveway just looks intimidating the first time round.

Poor Shonnie and Michael must have to give driving instructions to everyone. It's not that hard to find, past English Harbour and on your way up to Shirley Heights, driving at night for the first time you need their advice. Shonnie was helpful, felt sorry for yes and gave us a few supplies to keep us going till we got to the supermarket but the tap water is triple filtered and us safe to drink. There's wifi! I would accept any and all of Shonnie's dining suggestions as every recommendation of hers was spot on.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
Malden, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from our very enjoyable 10 day visit to Blue Moon. We would echo the other reviews in mentioning the beautiful location, proximity to a fabulous beach (Galleon), and extremely helpful owner (Shonnie). We spent much of our time visiting the nearby restaurants, snorkeling off Galleon, and hiking in the nearby hills. Shonnie is excellent at getting you settled in and advising on the best places to visit and how to get there.

I would mention that if you enjoy the outdoors and hiking at all, the climb up to Shirley Heights is not to be missed -- particularly the trail that takes you down by the shoreline and dumps you off at Galleon Beach. This particular section of trail was some of the most beautiful hiking I've ever done.

I would also note that the snorkeling off Galleon Beach (at the far end away from the main entrance) is very good, with many fish to be seen. Shonnie has snorkeling gear you can borrow.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in May”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I started our retirement and a one month vacation in this idyllic location before moving on to the BVIs. You are close enough to all the restaurants of English Harbour yet just around the corner in a most beautiful bay and beach where we swam every day with very few people around. The views from the top of the hill where the villas are located are possibly the best on the island. The villas are extremely well appointed and spacious for two. The owner Shonnie is a consummate host, guide and everything you could wish, going the extra mile to ensure her guests have everything they need. We now look back to our week at Blue Moon villas, as THE perfect quiet retreat within glorious surroundings.
One note regarding time of year - during the second week of May, many of the restaurants were starting to close down for the summer, but it we still found great cuisine with Shonnie's help.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fantastic two month extended holiday during January and February 2013. What could be nicer escaping the British winter and waking each morning to the sun coming up upon the boats in Freemans Bay, fringed by palm trees along Galleon Beach. This view is stunning seen through the filigree leaves of Shonnie's lobster-claw tree. This scene greeted us each morning for 53 days. Warm sun, shimmering seas And balmy breezes; the temperature constantly in the 80s.
We stayed in one of two villas that Shonnie and MIchael own above their own gardens. The outdoor shower with its tropical plants was a delight to use, followed by a dip in the jacuzzi pool each morning. The large veranda with its fantastic views became part of our outside living each day. We enjoyed cocktails as the sun went down listening to the tree-frogs and the tranquility of the national park behind us in the hills.
OK, so there are some steps to climb through Shonnie's tropical plants in order to reach this amazing location, and it is not something perhaps which you would choose to do in the heat of the midday sun. But then why would you, when you could be swimming and chilling out with the turtles in the bay below? If you needed to, however, there are little walls under the trees to sit on on your way up.
A complementary boat will take you across to English harbour and some fantastic little restaurants. Try Rum Baba, Abracadabra, Cloggie's at the Yacht Club for its Wednesday night BBQ, and of course the ever-famous Catherine's. You may of course choose to simply sit outside on your own veranda and dine alfresco, and be lucky enough, if she is in port, to see the very famous Maltese Falcon glide across the bay, like a magnificent contemporary Galleon. Either way, the super-yachts coming and going make an interesting and truly delightful scene.
Chloe the dog, with the most exquisite eyes, will accompany you on nature trails up to Shirley Heights. This is also another great location on a Sunday night for listening to the very talented Halcyon Steel Band. A real party night each Sunday; great music and great views while you sip rum punches.
One last thing, internet access is fantastic from up here.
How can we not return? This is a fabulous location with Shonnie and MIchael being great hosts.
Linda, John and Becky

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing