We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful place, exceeded all expectations”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blue Moon Antigua

Upper villa deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upper villa deck
Galleon Beach upper villa dining and living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Upper villa deck
Galleon Beach
upper villa dining and living room
kitchen/living room
upper villa kitchen
outdoor garden shower
lower villa bathroom
upper villa living room
walk to beach
sunset from villas
Galleon Beach (villas on left) from Middle Ground
Jacuzzi
morning rainbow from villa deck
steps to villas
Jacuzzi and BBQ area between villas
lower villa bedroom
Galleon Beach dock
hike to Shirley's Heights from villa
view from Shirley's Heights with Galleon Beach and villas
classic yacht racing from villa deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint Paul Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Peter S
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful place, exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We've just returned from almost a week in the lower villa. It exceeded all of our expectations. Immaculately clean and airy, it had everything we needed, in the kitchen area (including an ice-maker), in the living area with comfortable chairs and space for a PC (and WiFi), in the bedroom with a bed protected by mosquito netting, and in the bath, especially the outdoor shower. We had breakfast each day on the veranda overlooking the harbor, marveling at the view. The villa was open with large screens in the front and on the sides so that it stayed comfortably cool during the day. Shonnie could not have been more helpful, and we greatly enjoyed the good company of her friendly (and polite) dog Chloe. Situated above the Galleon Beach resort villas, we had privacy and a superior view, but we were still close enough to the beach to walk there in less than five minutes. Although the walk in the other direction, up from the beach, requires more energy, it provides an excellent way to get exercise. Shonnie provided food and beverages in the refrigerator to get us started; we had a rented car and bought additional supplies as needed from a grocery store (Bailey's) about 15 minutes distant. We look forward to our next stay there, and to seeing Shonnie, Michael, and Chloe again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O
Chattaroy, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful getaway”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We had a wonderful couple of days staying here. It was nice to have our own private accomodations, but the owners made us feel like we were family, even having us for Thanksgiving dinner! We feel like we made lifelong friends.
They had plenty of gear to borrow (snorkles, flippers, dvd's etc.) and many great ideas about what to see and do on the island.
Would love to go back someday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry B
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“like living in a beer commercial”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The views and setting were so perfect that it seemed like it had been staged. This is the archetype of a Caribbean sojourn. Shonnie and Michael are connected and know the ins and outs of the island. Follow their lead or explore on your own. Did I mention fly fishing for giant tarpon or sporting clays shooting? Both available and the guides supply all essentials. If you have never had a 40lb tarpon on the end of a 9 wt. fly rod, you haven't been fishing. The only down side is that we had to come home. Loved it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenghisKh...
Jonesborough, TN
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa; Gorgeous Views”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful villa with gorgeous views and an owner who'll take great care of you. I'm apparently the only person not to give this place 5 stars, but I think it's important for readers to know what they're going to have and what they're not going to have.

The good stuff is that it's a beautiful 4-room villa. It has everything you can think of for amenities, and if something is missing Shonnie will get it for you. I've never stayed at a place that was so well furnished. The views from the balcony are spectacular. Chloe, the resident dog, is friendly and lovable and if you take her with you down to the beach, or walking some of the trails, she'll be your BFF (best friend forever, for those of you who don't text).

There are some things that you need to consider, however. This property is not within walking distance of restaurants or attractions. There is a cafe down at the Galleon Beach Resort, but it's only open five days a week at lunchtime. So, if you're interested in a vacation where you cook in and walk down to the beach each day, you're in luck. It's perfect. We prefer to be a little more centrally located, but that can be overcome by renting a car. The roads, especially in and out of Galleon Beach are atrocious, so it's a matter of driving an obstacle course.

Secondly, this is NOT a bed and breakfast as it's shown on TripAdvisor. This is a vacation rental. Breakfast is not included, but you have a full kitchen in which to cook whatever you like for breakfast.

And lastly, we stayed in the upper villa which is 108 steps from the road. The lower villa is probably more like 80 steps. It doesn't sound too bad, but it can wear on you, especially when you're toting your roller bags, or you get down to the car and realize you forgot your sunglasses in the villa!

Great place, especially if you like privacy!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveOil0...
Lebanon, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

My husband and I stayed for 5 days in Antigua and we are so grateful that Trip Advisor led us to Blue Moon!! It was the best part of our trip and made our entire stay in Antigua magical! We stayed on the upper villa and the views are to die for. It's tempting to just hang out on the veranda all day!
Shonnie, Michael and Chloe are true gems. We felt like we were staying at a cool relative's house they make you feel that much at home. We took Chloe hiking a lot and we still are talking about how much we miss her!! Shonnie is very sweet and has so many great recommendations about what to do on the island. She let us borrow a few snorkels and we hiked to some fabulous snorkeling! It was our first time and we are so grateful for her generosity. She was nice to bring us into town and to places on the island several times. You can also take a boat for free into English Harbor if it's during the day.
The villa literally has everything you could want. It has a satellite radio, a blender, a fridge and stove. The entire villa is open with screens to the outside so you can hear the waves coming up while you sleep. The outdoor shower was quite an experience as well!!
We didn't rent a car, but we will next time and I would recommend it. Getting taxi's wasn't difficult, but it just made going in and out of town more of a project. English Harbor and all the restaurants aren't far away. It took us awhile to figure out how to use our cell phones internationally so calling the taxis was a hassle sometimes.
Everyone keeps marveling at our pictures, they are so beautiful. It was a very private, relaxing, and romantic place and we attribute that to this beautiful piece of paradise that Shonnie and Michael have created. I really think what they charge is an incredible bargain! We felt guilty when Shonnie wouldn't accept some money we tried to give her when we left as thanks!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamKate1
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A real gem in English Harbour!!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

A huge thank you to Shonnie, Michael and Chloe for their warm welcome when we arrived, despite our extremely late arrival thanks to LIAT! The top villa was immaculate and had everything we could have wished for during our far too short stay. Facilities are great at the villas including the jacuzzi and barbeque, plenty of seating and sun loungers with spectacular views over Freemans Bay and English Harbour on our private terrace. We had the bonus of views of the super yachts in Falmouth Harbour too, thanks to the position on the hillside. The beach was quiet which almost gave us the feeling it was only for us! Shonnie was always available if we needed anything or any advise, and she had great knowledge and lots of guidance whatever we were looking for. If you looking for a busy loud resort, this is not for you but if you are after a quiet, scenic and location with stunning views and a convenient base for the most beautiful part of the island including Shirley Heights, English Harbour, Nelsons Dockyard and Falmouth Harbour with a villa to match, then this superb.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy R
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I spent 10 days at this wonderful villa in November. It is well appointed and has beautiful views and amenities. The real Gem at this Villa is Shonnie the owner and her husband who live in their own home close by. I chose not to rent a car and Shonnie picked me up at the airport as well as offered me rides in to town and to local restaurants and sites. She made many suggestions and recommendations on places to visit and restaurants to eat at. She WAS the gem here!

I recommend this Villa to anyone who is looking for a quiet getaway and is not afraid of a few stairs!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing