We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pretty Beach”
Review of Long Bay

Long Bay
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$148.00*
and up
Island Safari 4x4 Discovery Tour from St John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On the far-eastern coast, you'll find coral reefs in water so shallow that you can actually walk out to them. Along the beach are the Long Bay Hotel and the rambling Allegro Resort Pineapple Beach.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Pretty Beach”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Long Bay is a good compromise beach, meaning it is not too crowded like Dickinson Bay (Sandals) yet offers some amenities such as beach chairs, umbrellas and food service. The water was very calm the day we visited, but it is a bit rocky getting in an out of the water.

Probably best for either sunning or snorkeling.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dvandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    82
    32
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful - one of the best”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Long bay is one of the best beaches we visited. From the sand to the water and scenery, it is a must see .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dsmoothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It's okay”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were here on a day where there was no cruise ship and it was pretty busy, so I can only imagine how crazy it can be with one or more of the ships in port. This is a nice area for tourists. Lots of beach bar type places so you can get a drink and stop for a bite to eat. If you're going snoreling keep your expectations in check. Because there are so many people and the area is so shallow, the reef is pretty recked. There are alot of sand bars and cut throughs, so you can navigate okay, but the sheer volume of people this area sees has really made an impact on the sea life. it's probably about waist deep water, so the reef sees alot of foot traffic. We did see alot of small fish, and an octopus. Despite everything we had a nice day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYHilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Busy family beach”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just to be clear, there is some snorkeling, but nothing that captures your interest for longer than a minute. Would go out on a snorkeling trip instead. The beach is beautiful, crystal clear water and quite busy with kids running around. There's a lady selling coconut water and fruit at the entrance, very refreshing. The guy renting you the umbrellas and beach loungers directly left of the entrance is obnoxious at best, wouldn't go back to him a second time. The restaurant la Tartaruga is overpriced and mediocre food, would try any of the other ones next time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible snorkeling”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had the chance to go snorkeling in Cozumel, Mexico last year and thought it would be nice to go again this year. We were told by our cab driver that Long Bay had great snorkeling so we decided to give it a try. We paid $12 per person for our snorkeling gear in Cozumel, which included a life jacket. In Long Bay they had old, worn out gear and forgot to mention that life jackets cost extra until we were ready to go. They tried to charge us $72 for gear for four people. I said the price was different than what we were told and it was too high, and he agreed to $50 with one of us without a life vest. There were no lockers to put your things in, so you have to leave your belongings on the beach out in the open. No one told us where to snorkel, so after ten minutes of looking at sea grass and murky water my daughter went up and asked where the fish were. We swam out quite a distance off shore to scope out the situation to see if my 7 year old son could come out. We saw three dull colored fish at the reef. The waves were pretty intense, and the reef almost reaches the surface in many places. I was almost pushed onto the reef a few times by waves, it is flat and sandy, then suddenly a column of coral is right next to you. The water is pretty murky there because of the waves. We decided to head back after only being in the water for half an hour. No refunds. If you want to have a great time snorkeling with the whole family, go to Cozumel. Beautiful, clear water, the coral reef is far below the water, colorful fish the moment you jump into the water, and my then 6yr old son had no trouble getting around safely. Long Beach was a major disappointment to me, and especially my kids. You get a lot more for your money (only $12 per person) in Cozumel.

On the bright side, the beach is nice, and a great place to swim, not over crowded, but watch out for glass in the walkways. A half hour taxi ride from the cruise ship, at $9 per person. They drive crazy there, so hold on!

Helpful?
2 Thank Pondnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Bay also viewed

Saint Phillip Parish, Antigua
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 

Been to Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing