We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Took our breath away.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paddles Snorkel and Kayak Eco Adventure

Paddles Snorkel and Kayak Eco Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Took our breath away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

First let me say that Jenny and her family are the most warm and friendly people we have ever encountered on vacation. The paddles shuttle picked us up right outside of our resort. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Jenny and offered some light snacks during registration. Then the group is directed to take a very short walk down to where the kayaks are. The view is something out of a dream, and to think this wonderful family and their business gets to experience this paradise everyday makes all green with envy! Kayaking, eco tour, short hike up Great Bird Island where you get to see the tropic bird and some frigate birds was great but snorkeling was fantastic. Upon your return you are treated to Rum punch and homemade banana bread. It all went by so fast, I would highly recommend Paddles and hope to go back soon.. thanks Jenny!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank teakaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    59
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best Shore Day of our Cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

There is a reason that this attraction has only very good and excellent ratings! It was truly such an excellent, enjoyable day. Usually, we plan our own days ashore, renting cars, planning our own tours, but the ratings and write ups for Antigua Paddles made me think we couldn't go wrong booking this tour. And it was everything you would want an excursion to be... and more. There are several activities that a wide variety of people would enjoy. None require experience or a great deal of athleticism, and every little detail has been carefully worked out. A very classy operation for a very reasonable cost.
I booked this online before our cruise. I received detailed instructions upon booking. If for any reason the ship doesn't dock, is late, or the tour doesn't run, you get your money refunded. At the rendevous spot, we met the owner who took us over to the bus we would traveling in to get to our adventure. Our driver, Myson, pointed out interesting sites and facts about Antigua as we drove. The speaker system was excellent, so I could actually hear all that Myson was saying. Upon arrival, we walked down to a lovely area and then were given an opportunity to use the restroom before we started. We enjoyed a boat ride to the kayak area. Kayaking was simple. Our guide took us to an area where we could pick up a conch and a sea urchin, and talked about the mangroves that surrounded us. After kayaking, we took a boat ride past small islands through the crystal clear waters, saw peliguins, and other birds. A beautiful area. Then over to an island for an 8 minute hike for a 360 degree vista. A great stop for pictures. Then on to a reef to snorkel for about 45 minutes. When we got back, there was a flower for each lady and a wet cloth to wash with. A snack was provided, and there were a small collection of things to buy if you were so inclined. I got a green survivor t-shirt which I love. Then back to Myson and the bus for an informative ride back to the ship.
When I asked my husband what his favorite shore day was, he picked our day in Antigua. It was mine too. The reviews and ratings are right on. If you want a beautiful and fulfilling day in Antigua, this is it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great family fun..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A very warm welcome, a great activity for a family, including teenagers. Lots of friendly help with the snorkelling and kayaking, no matter how experienced. Wildlife we saw in the mangroves really interesting, and the guides really brought it to life. One of our family stayed at the base and could not have been looked after better in the lovely gardens. Overall really well organised and excellent value. Fruit punch and food at end was a nice touch. Loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Return to Paddles Kayak and Snorkel Eco Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Returned to Paddles Kayak and Snorkel Eco Adventure two weeks ago after having been there in December. Another great time kayaking in the mangrooves and snorkeling off Bird Island! Excellent service from the staff and nice touch at the end with snack and punch with Sweatpea. Will definitely keep Paddles in mind the next time we are in Antigua.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“One of the best excursions we did!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I agree this was on of the best days we spent on our recent 10 day cruise. The staff were friendly and informative from the time they picked us up at port right to the time they returned us. The snorkelling and kayaking were terrific. The added personal touch of homemade banana bread and rum punch at the end were fabulous. We would not hesitate to recommend Antigua Paddles.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Llana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddles Snorkel and Kayak Eco Adventure also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Paddles Snorkel and Kayak Eco Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing