We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bonaventure Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Weston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Spent four nights here recently over the Christmas holiday. Selected the hotel primarily due to location, which was convenient to family and friends. Also got a $99 rate on Hotwire, which I thought was pretty good for the holiday period. While the property is ok, there is nothing about it that really stands out which would bring me back. The place feels tired, it must've been built in the 1970s, consists of a bunch of buildings with rooms accessible from outside corridors, which gives it a motel-like quality. Frankly it felt a bit seedy. The rooms themselves are spacious, and the bed was comfortable. The rooms seemed musty however, as if they have a mildew problem - not uncommon in climate's like south Florida. I guess if you need to be in Weston or western Broward county this is a good choice. However I didn't love it, and can't imagine going back anytime soon. On the positive side, the staff was cheery and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2008

This hotel is the perfect compliment for a pre-cruise or post cruise stay given the attentive and excellent service and beautiful surroundings and accommodation.

Prior to our cruise we drove to the hotel to find its location and while we were there inquired if we could leave our golf clubs there while we cruised. The hotel were only too pleased to do this for us even though we would not be staying there for another two weeks!

Following check-in (excellent and efficient), my sister-in law and friend wanted to go to the SawGrass Mall but had missed the shuttle by about half hour so booked a cab to go. The concierge saw them waiting for the cab and offered to arrange for the shuttle just for them. As the cab was on its way, they declined but the concierge arranged for the shuttle to pick them up at the end of their shop anyway.

The room was beautiful, the bathroom very luxurious. The grounds with its birds, multiple pools and lovely tranquil and tropical walks were superb. The public areas are beautiful and have lovely tropical fish tanks.

We also dined at the hotel and found the food to be very good.

You can print boarding passes for free from the computer in the main lobby though general iternet access is charged for.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MAXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

I got a room for 1 night through Priceline for about $75 a night for us, and a room for 2 nights for the outlaws. They arrived first and as the reservation was in their name they checked in, and got to their room. It was very musty and they were switched out to a room overlooking one of the pools with a balcony. They had a larger kitchen area but small bathroom. Their safe didn't work. We checked in, and was given a room about 8 doors down, very large bathroom but no balcony and smaller kicthen (which was fine by us). The hotel amenities looked great, although we didn';t use them. Our room was a bit musty also. They just seem a bit 'drab'. Nice enough, gorgeous area, but a bit drab. Very much a tried and tested Hyatt Regency feel. We would stay there again, but the initial good impressions of the hotel were a bit let down by the room. Was about 5 mins drive from Sawgrass Mills Mall (not that great) and the Bank Atlantic Centre (best NHL venue)

Stayed: November 2008
Thank F1y_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for a convention for two nights in early November. We booked a 1 bedroom suite. The room had a large living room, two full baths, a kitchen and large bedroom. The bathroom off the master was very large with high quality toiletries. The carpet was a bit worn but other than that, the room was well appointed. Wireless access was free.

The hotel has rooms that are spread out in several buildings, which are low rise buildings. We were on the second floor and the room opened out to the outside, rather than a common hallway.

The service was excellent. An error in our accomodations booking at check-in was immediately resolved (within seconds) with an apology. The staff was always friendly and outgoing and addressed us by name.

The hotel isn't anywhere near the beach, but for a conference stay, it was quite enjoyable. I'd stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Broder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

After spending a week relaxing in the Keys, we needed a place near the Ft. Lauderdale airport to catch an early morning flight. We got a great deal on Priceline, and were very pleasantly surprised by what we got for the price.

The grounds are lovely, and the pool was a nice spot to spend a few hours relaxing. Staff at the pool bar, desk, and valet were all wonderful. Room was beautiful and spacious.

The only complaint was that they charge for internet. You'd think a property like that could give it away instead of the ridiculous charge for it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IrishNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

At approximately 2:00 AM a deafening loud siren went off inside our room. We had no idea what the problem was. We phoned the front desk and they did not even know that there was an alarm sounding and had no idea what the problem was. We quickly got dressed and vacated our room to find other hotel guests milling around the parking lot also unaware of the problem. Nobody from the hotel arrived on the scene to provide direction. About 10 minutes later a fire truck arrived and the firemen searched the hotel but could not detect a problem and finally turned off the siren. The firemen pulled away and still nobody from the hotel staff arrived to tell the guests what had happened. We went back to our room but it was now 3:00 AM and since we did not know what set the alarm off we were afraid to go back to sleep. IT WAS A NIGHTMARE. Later in the morning (arounf 9:00 AM) I went to the front desk to inquire about what had happened and the front desk manager still had no idea that anything had happened.

The Hyatt Regency Bonaventiure is a beautiful resort but from my experience I can say it is VERY POORLY MANAGED.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FourStarHotelGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

I just stayed at this property for a local girls get away and had a great time. We are from the area and wanted a get away to a spa nearby and we were pleasantly surprised. It was quiet and relaxing. The grounds are beautiful including a pair of swans that are in a small lagoon off of the lobby.
The AAA price was excellent ! Midweek was $98.00 ! The room even had a small kitchenette.
The spa was wonderful too. It is an Elizabeth Arden Red Door. All of the hotel and spa staff were professional and helpful in every way. There is a nice gym that is open 24 hrs.
It did seem empty at this time of year. There were only 2 other tables at breakfast.
This is a quiet hotel out of the way but just a short drive to Weston's Town Center or a lttle further to Ft Lauderdale & the beaches. It is only minutes from the large outlet mall Sawgrass Mills too.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lope43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Weston
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
0.2 mi away
Vacation Village at Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
1.8 mi away
Towneplace Suites Fort Lauderdale Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonaventure Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonaventure Resort & Spa

Address: 250 Racquet Club Rd, Weston, FL 33326-1198 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range: $113 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonaventure Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Ft. Lauderdale’s largest spa and surrounded by championship golf and world-class shopping, the AAA Four-Diamond Bonaventure Resort & Spa provides endless opportunities for relaxation, recreation, and pure enjoyment. This renowned south Florida resort features spacious estate-style guestrooms and suites, four sun-drenched pools, 24-hr fitness center, lush gardens, and multiple dining options, including the locally acclaimed Ireland’s Steakhouse. Conveniently located to Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and just minutes from Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall, the BB&T Center home to NHL, converts and special events, and Everglades Eco-adventures. Bonaventure features over 80,000 sq ft of newly renovated conference center space which showcases superior indoor, and vast outdoor, options for business and social engagements. Innovative food and beverage offerings complete the unexpected service all in an effort to provide the absolute best experience during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bonaventure Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Weston
Hyatt Weston
Bonaventure Resort Weston
Bonaventure Spa Weston Florida
Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Hotel
Hyatt Spa Weston
Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing