We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonaventure Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bonaventure Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bonaventure Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   250 Racquet Club Road, Weston, FL 33326 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Weston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Most items have been covered by other reviewers, but overall this was a very nice stay for the price. I will highlight a few items here:

-I was in building 5 on the 3rd floor. My balcony overlooked foliage and the nature trail - very pleasant. Highly recommend walking the nature trail -serene; you see many birds and turtles. the foliage is very nice all around the resort. And an occasional stray cat. Also near the spa is the nature preserve with the swan Cleo - pretty. Good AC in the room and quiet.
-The room was a small executive suite with kitchenette, 2 queen beds, a table and chairs and an old, old box TV with so-so picture. No guide available for the TV other than channel listing. Not very large for more than 1 person but a nice small marble bathroom. The bed was just ok; it was a little creaky and the sheets and pillows were strange. This may have been because I was upgraded to a Pure allergy free room - although the air purifier in the room was great. No ants like others have mentioned, but there were small no-see-um's in the kitchenette and bathroom. Otherwise very clean. There is room safe in the closet, a hair dryer, soap/shampoo/conditioner/lotion.
-You do not get daily maid service like a hotel. It's fairly random - mine turned out to be around every other day. But when they do clean, they do a good job. My one comment is that I stayed a week and the sheets were not changed - got a little musty towards the end. There is no laundomat; you can get laundry service for $$$$.
-The spa is lovely. I had both a 50 minute massage and a facial - both very nice if overpriced. When you have a spa service you get free access to the spa/gym/yoga all day - plus access to a smaller pool just for the spa - which is very nice and has great lounges. The gym is pretty good - but there were no towels the day we went, just paper towels.
-The kitchenette is confusing as mine had nice features (fridge and stovetop) but as others have mentioned there are no utensils or pots/pans. So really just re-warming food and cold drinks. No real cooking unless you actually pack or buy everything.
-I only had an appetizer and one drink at the Zen bar. As others have said the bar staff is fun and attentive. But given the bill for this with tip was $30, I realized I would not be eating at the resort. Tasty, but very overpriced for food and drinks. The fish tanks would be pretty with actual fish in them...there is 1 fish in one tank, and 2 or 3 in the other. I understand back in the day they were populated...
-The concierge is a ghost. Never was there when I looked. Front desk staff is friendly. The resort store is par for the course - expensive snacks, toiletries and clothing/bric-a-brac. I agree with others that it would be nice to have coffee/tea available in the lobby. I also missed not having a newspaper. Less expensive hotels usually have these features and sometimes more like free fruit or cookies - but none here.
-There are restaurants nearby but you need a car. As others have mentioned, no walkable restaurant or convience mart.
-Tiki hut and pool/waterfall is pretty. Same overpriced food and drink as in the lobby. The pool is pretty clean and other than a reunion one day, was not very crowded. I had friends staying across the street at Vacation Village. That pool is much larger, but was crazy full and loud with kids all over the place. The Bonaventure also had kids, but less insane than Vacation Village. If you are trying to compare Vacation Village and Bonaventure - Vacation Village has suites with full kitchens and utensils if you plan on cooking. But it is not as pretty as Bonaventure, is more basic - and be prepared for kid explosion at Vacation Village.

Room Tip: Building 5 seems renovated, although ask about the TV as my room had a relic. There apparently is a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Trash is a mystery. When you have the random room service the trash is removed. otherwise I did not find any trash receptacles.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whizzzyCanton_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank for writing a review of the Bonaventure Resort & Spa. We're very happy that you enjoyed the resort amenities, pools, spa, nature walks and our resident swan, Cleo! Our goal is to make every guest feel welcome with these amenities suited for families, couples and children and we are glad that this made for the perfect backdrop for your family reunion.

We hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    298
    229
    131
    97
See reviews for
259
286
78
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
179 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nothing extravagant but nice it has everything a person could use, gye, restaurants, pool, parking lot etc. My family stayed at this resort for our family reunion. The resort wasn't like any of other resort I've stayed at before but it was still nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loneto38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We're very happy that you enjoyed the resort amenities; we strive to make our guests feel welcome with resort amenities suited for families, couples and children, and it sounds like we hit the mark for your family reunion!

Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed two nights while visiting family in Weston. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. We didn't make use of the kitchen though it was a great feature. The only disappointment was having to make "hotel room" coffee. It would've been nice to have some complimentary coffee in the reception area, because we didn't have breakfast at the cafe.
There aren't any convenience stores in the area either.
though we'd still highly recommend staying here.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous12852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our resort. We're thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry, however, that you were disappointed with the quality of the in-room coffee and we will certainly look into the possibility of other options.

Thank you again for your kind remarks. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham. AL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was our annual church-conference trip, a meeting with about 450 people. We pretty much had the whole resort to ourselves (which our organizers try to arrange when we can).

We were in a room with a kitchen, which included a microwave, small fridge and two-unit cooktop; we didn't use the latter because there were no pots or utensils. Spacious room with two beds, and a balcony that looks out over the pond and nature trail in back. There's a flat-screen TV with plenty of channels. No room service, though, and on-site food service is limited to one restaurant. There's also no bell service, at least that we could find, and there wasn't even a luggage cart to be found.

As other reviews have mentioned, there is a main building which houses the registration desk, meeting rooms (of which there are many, including a lecture hall with desks and tiered seating), restaurant, lounge (which was closed during our stay) and spa. The rooms are in several separate buildings behind the main one. You can park fairly close to the room buildings.

This is a former Hyatt property that was rebranded not too long ago. It is obviously an older property that has gone through a makeover or two, but everything seems to be well-maintained, and I've seen much newer properties in worse shape.The grounds were particularly nice, with a walking trail beside the pond in back, and two small-ish pools. The staff which served our meeting was efficient and warm.

WiFi was free, but sluggish; they'll upsell faster service if you need it. It was good enough for our needs.

When storms hit on a couple of days, there was quite a bit of standing water on the exterior hallway. Poor drainage.

Overall, a good stay. Can't speak to the value for money, as our room was part of the conference staff block.

Room Tip: All rooms enter from the parking-lot side and face toward the pond and/or pools. By the way, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realkyhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your church conference. We find our property to be unique in being able to accommodate large groups who have the luxury of "buying out" the entire resort. We so happy you were able to find the time to experience most of our outlets, including our nature trails which provide beautiful views of the landscaping and wildlife.

Thanks for sharing your experience. We hope you will be able to come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family stayed at this resort for our family reunion. The resort wasn't like any of other resort I've stayed at before but it was still nice. Nothing extravagant but nice. We visited the Ft. Lauderdale area during the 4th of July holiday and expected everything to be extremely high but it wasn't.The rate we were given was amazing! Would I stay at this resort again, only if I can get the same rate we received during this visit.

They can stand to do some updates in and around the resort. But I will say the staff was amazing, especially the bar staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clynnm0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our resort. We're so happy that our property provided the perfect location for your family reunion. Please be sure to check out our website for special packages throughout the year - we'd love to have you come back for another visit.

Thanks again for visiting us and your kind words about our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a slumber party at the Bonaventure Resort and Spa for my daughter. Everyone was very helpful and it was beautiful and clean. The grounds are really beautiful and the spa is my favorite place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for lagoon/water view. Very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a great review! We're delighted that your daughter's slumber party was enjoyed by all and that our staff was instrumental in the overall success of this event. We're so happy you have found our aLaya spa as your new favorite destination - please come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the resort as my husband was attending a convention in late June. The rooms are roomy and the kitchen was nice, but there was nothing to cook things on. If you have a kitchen, you should have at least some plates and utensils. The place overall just needs a giant pressure washing. The pool was pretty, yet when you looked closely it was filthy. Kids with goggles were remarking how dirty the pool was. The wait staff in the bar were awesome and remembered us and our order on the second night. The food in the bar was great. On our last morning I noticed we had ants all over the bathroom floor. A lot of ants. When I told the front desk about the ants she just shrugged her shoulders. For the price and how this hotel sells itself, I was really disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HF925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on our resort. We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our spacious rooms and the excellent food and service received at our Cabana Bar and Café. We appreciate your feedback about the main pool and plans are in the works to remarcite very soon. We will also look into the ant issue in the room and do apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you and your family.

We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.5 mi away
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
0.2 mi away
Vacation Village at Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
1.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fort Lauderdale Weston
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonaventure Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonaventure Resort & Spa

Property: Bonaventure Resort & Spa
Address: 250 Racquet Club Road, Weston, FL 33326 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center and Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonaventure Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Ft. Lauderdale’s largest spa and surrounded by championship golf and world-class shopping, the AAA Four-Diamond Bonaventure Resort & Spa provides endless opportunities for relaxation, recreation, and pure enjoyment. This renowned south Florida resort features spacious estate-style guestrooms and suites, four sun-drenched pools, 24-hr fitness center, lush gardens, and multiple dining options, including the locally acclaimed Ireland’s Steakhouse. Conveniently located to Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and just minutes from Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall, the BB&T Center home to NHL, converts and special events, and Everglades Eco-adventures. Bonaventure features over 80,000 sq ft of newly renovated conference center space which showcases superior indoor, and vast outdoor, options for business and social engagements. Innovative food and beverage offerings complete the unexpected service all in an effort to provide the absolute best experience during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bonaventure Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Weston
Hyatt Weston
Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center And Spa
Bonaventure Resort Weston
Hyatt Spa Weston
Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Hotel
Bonaventure Spa Weston Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing