We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most awful place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bonaventure Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bonaventure Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bonaventure Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   250 Racquet Club Road, Weston, FL 33326 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Weston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most awful place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My 3 friends and I chose this hotel as a weekend getaway, a trip we take once a year. Upon arrival we thought we were in the wrong place. We had to confirm with the valet that this was indeed the resort and spa we were looking forward to. We were disappointed by the exterior but headed inside thinking it must be okay. We drove up to our room and felt like we were walking into a very run down apt and when we opened the door it smelled so bad, like a basement that recently flooded. My friend literally had tears in her eyes. We went back to the main desk and asked for a different room. We were told that all the rooms have that smell because they haven't been renovated but we could try another room. Well, the next room was worse. We could not stay here. The rooms were disgusting. We immediately made lots of calls and found a real resort and spa that met our standards. The only positive is that the staff was very nice and accommodating when we told them we can't stay. They must be used to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent arrival at our property. We were extremely concerned to receive your comments regarding your displeasure with our guest rooms, as it is so contrary to the usual positive reviews from our guests. We are very diisappointed that we failed to live up to your standards in this instance. We would very much like you return to our resort, as our guest, to demonstrate the extraordinary resort that we are known for and would ask that you contact our Executive Office directly at 954-349-5700, so that our General Manager may discuss the issues you raised and arrange your future accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
USVI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Bonaventure is better than ever. Even though they are not a Hyatt anymore, they were smart enough to keep the same caring staff.

Ask to speak with Kesha Brooks-Armour. She has made our stay wonderful. From the very first greeting to the daily waves and concern for our comfort, Kesha is tops! She has been especially helpful in setting up our free transportation to the Cleveland Clinic. Franklin and Joe are so accommodating as well. They are so dependable and easy to talk with. Going to Cleveland Clinic in a shiny SUV Caddy really makes you feel good.

Before I end, I must give accolades to the restaurants and their staff too. The food and service is delicious. I look forward to tomorrow's gourmet brunch.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our property! We were delighted that you found our service and staff (especially Kesha, Joe and Frankin) to be friendly and accomodating to all of your needs. And, our n ew Escalade is a great addition to the property and our guests are loving it during the shuttles to and from the Sawagrass Mills.

Please come back and visit us again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was a good deal for the price and I enjoyed the brief stay.

It was a grand location back during its heyday!! I was not impressed with the room and the closed-up stuffy smell. I arrived very late and was too tired to deal with room change and all that would have been needed to move to another building or room.

The property location is great and would be a good place to stay with some much needed upgrades to restore the luster for this grand facility.

I generally prefer hallways and do not like to enter my room from outside. Understanding that this is resort, it was an exception to the norm and reminded me of some previous resorts with individual entrances.

The staff was courteous and friendly with limited availabilty during the peak check out period. The location seems like it is struggling to survive and seems a uplift to keep pace with other options.

Room Tip: Arrive early and take time to review options including locations and room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. We were pleased to hear that our staff provided courteous and friendly service. You will be pleased to know that a renovation is planned for the property this coming year and we hope you will visit us again so that you may see first-hand, the positive changes that will have taken place.

Thank you for supporting the Bonaventure for so many years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bonaventure Resort and Spa this weekend, I must say I was very impressed! The hotel is beautiful! Our room was very clean, spacious, and included a small kitchenette complete with a fridge and microwave.The best part of the room was that we were on the first floor of building 4 which is right in front of the beautiful pool and waterfall. All we had to do was walk out of the patio! The boys loved it. The only downside to the pool area were inconsiderate people who leave their food and the birds take over, however, it was rather interesting to see them dip nacho chips in the pool to make them soft enough to eat.

The grounds were nice at this place. The first night, my sweetie and I took a walk around and saw the most beautiful swan and plenty of koi fish in the natural pond. I loved that. We checked out the spa and was very impressed with the 24 hour gym even though we did not get a chance to use it. I also wanted to treat myself to a pedicure, but I felt the $55 was a little to steep at this time. Next time I will be better prepared. We had some wings and quesadillas in the bar area that were delicious. I cannot complain one bit.

I loved this place so much that it is on the top of my list for our wedding next year. If we have it in FL...this will definitely be a place I would consider.

We got this room via Priceline so we paid ahead...we really wished we had paid for one more night. It was well worth the money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beautiful_Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of our resort. We were thrilled to learn that you found our rooms and facilities to your liking and we are excited about the opportunity to provide the perfect location for your up-coming wedding! Rest assured, we will make it a most memorable experience. Be sure to contact our Catering Department when you decide on a date!

We look forward to seeing you again soon and hosting your 2014 wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I purchased my stay through living social so I was excited about staying here, it came with a food and spa credit. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The room at first glance was nice and had a beautiful view. I soon learned the walls are very then and this is a very noisy resort. The guest on the floor above us were very early risers so we were forced to awaken to the very loud sliding glass door opening and closing and the smell of cigarette smoke filled our room. The bath room is very large and very nicely done but the water pressure is terrible. Housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired, the floor was never vacuumed, the tissue holder was empty and never refilled. The bed was made and towels replaced at best. The bed is terrible, it is hard and you can feel and hear the springs everytime you move. The best experience here was the spa! It was a wonderful experience and a must try for anyone thate comes to this area. All of the staff that I had any dealing with were very professional and polite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smilinva2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at our resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our grounds and that you had a wonderful experience our Alaya Spa. We do apologize, however, for the lack of attention with the cleanliness in your guest room. We appreciate your feedback and will follow up with our Housekeeping Department to ensure immediate steps are taken to improve our performance in this particular area.

We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond hill ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a top notch resort we required a wheelchair accessible room which they were able to accommodate. The grounds are beautiful the pool and hot are fantastic we would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank storminnorm1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We were thrilled to receiving such a glowing review of our resort and are pleased that you will recommend our property to others. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Never again. The manager was really nice and tried to be accommodating, but there are so many issues with this hotel.

The room was really old and had a smell. There's no room service menu. I got the groupon, which comes with a spa and food credit, so I was looking forward to holing up in my room with a movie and room service. I called the front desk and was promised a menu three times before I was told I should just come up front to get a menu from the restaurant and get take out. There was also no way to order a movie. Or know what channels were what. You know how when you check in, there's typically a welcome package with a menu, the channels,...? There was nothing. There were maybe 15 channels on TV and the TV itself was old and slow.

The spa, on the other hand, was so good. It's large and the massage was great.

In total, the staff seem unorganized, and although they're all super friendly, the hotel is old and I overpaid. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelfayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.3 mi away
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vacation Village at Weston
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston
7.8 mi away
Sawgrass Grand
Sawgrass Grand
#4 of 4 in Sunrise
3.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonaventure Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonaventure Resort & Spa

Address: 250 Racquet Club Road, Weston, FL 33326 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center and Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonaventure Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Ft. Lauderdale’s largest spa and surrounded by championship golf and world-class shopping, the AAA Four-Diamond Bonaventure Resort & Spa provides endless opportunities for relaxation, recreation, and pure enjoyment. This renowned south Florida resort features spacious estate-style guestrooms and suites, four sun-drenched pools, 24-hr fitness center, lush gardens, and multiple dining options, including the locally acclaimed Ireland’s Steakhouse. Conveniently located to Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and just minutes from Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall, the BB&T Center home to NHL, converts and special events, and Everglades Eco-adventures. Bonaventure features over 80,000 sq ft of newly renovated conference center space which showcases superior indoor, and vast outdoor, options for business and social engagements. Innovative food and beverage offerings complete the unexpected service all in an effort to provide the absolute best experience during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Bonaventure Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Weston
Hyatt Weston
Hyatt Spa Weston
Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center And Spa
Bonaventure Spa Weston Florida
Bonaventure Resort Weston
Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing