We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once upon a time very nice but looking tired these days . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bonaventure Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Weston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Once upon a time very nice but looking tired these days . . .”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I spent several days here for a corporate retreat. We typically choose very nice resorts throughout the country, however this resort was disappointing. Check-in was a nightmare with long delays for our group. Some of the rooms have been updated and are up to standards. Other rooms are very dated and in a sad state. We honestly commented that one of our colleagues rooms looked more like a Days Inn than a 4 star resort. The lobby and restaurant are fairly nice but as you look around the grounds you notice a lot of deferred maintenance that needs attention. A glaring example is the entrance way -- wooden shutters on the columns at the entrance are broken and needing paint, not exactly what I envisioned. For what we paid per room I'm imagining many other options that would have been much better. If you could get a great rate, it's probably worth a visit. But don't pay 4 star rates or you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXfan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your post and while we have not completely rolled out our upcoming renovation we have been touching various points of the resort. As you mentioned we have several guestrooms that now have wood flooring and all new bedding and some furntishings. Because we are a sprolling location, 9 buildings, the renovations will/are minimally invasive however the results are hugly impactful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    329
    274
    152
    115
See reviews for
322
323
87
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family stayed in this property pre and post cruise. Bonaventure was somewhat further than any of the other hotels that we stayed in previously in the Fort Lauderdale area however it was nice to be away from the noise and I95 traffic. We got the hotel off Priceline so the price was right but the hotel is in needs of a minor facelift. We got a pool all by ourselves on the far side of the resort and the muscovy ducks were a treat to feed. But the best thing about the property was the exceptional customer service. Krystal the front desk attendant made things right after a first night snafu. After an awful first night stay, she went way out of her way to ensure that our next check-in (post cruise) was much more enjoyable - for us and esp our inlaws (travelling with us post cruise). Considering the size of this property, front desk and room service was very prompt and attentive even amidst hosting conferences! Well done Bonaventure

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at our resort. We were thrilled to hear about the excellent customer service you received on the part of our front desk, especially Krystal. She have already shared your kind remarks with her - it brought a smile to her face. We hope your future travels will include another visit to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Mind you...we didn't pay that but you can find this recently re-branded resort on most of the hotel deal sites for way under that rate. Room was fairly clean and yet the bathroom was quite dated. One of my pet peeves is charging for wi-fi in this day and age. $12.95 a day is utterly absurd!
Check-in was quite efficient.

I remember when they had the Red Door spa here, one of the original Elizabeth Arden facilities. My wife said it was one of the best experiences she ever had feeling very pampered and relaxed. Now its something else, we didn't try it this time.

Over all, not bad, just unremarkable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longball4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We would like you to know that we are considering either reducing the cost or offering free internet to our guests in the very near future - this will be a part of our renvoation that begins this summer.

As you know, we now have our aLaya Spa available to our guests - it is an outstanding facility with excellent services and staff - we hope you will be able to experience it on your next visit - we are confident you will be extremely pleased! Please check out our website for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recently attended a conference at this property. The meeting room facilities were excellent and appeared recently renovated. The staff throughout the property could not have been more cheerful or friendlier - they recognized guests and made them feel welcome. Jorge at the pool and steakhouse is the hardest working guy on the property, and the effort he puts into his job is appreciated. The steakhouse food is delicious, and the pool area is very pleasant. That's the good news.

The bad news is the rooms don't live up to the rest of the facilities, and the housekeeping in my room was completely unacceptable. The rooms show their age, and at check-in I had a torn window screen, dead gnats on my window sill, and a dirty bathroom. I reported the issues, but the housekeeping never caught up the entire time. The pool deck was dirty, and I washed my feet in the bathtub the first day, but the tub was not clean enough to use for anything beyond that (the separate shower appeared to receive more attention). Part of a dirty footprint was still there when I left 4 days later. Not ok. The front desk was appalled at check-out, but the hotel clearly needs to step up the housekeeping oversight and standards. If you are in a building facing the pool, be prepared for morning noise as well - the landscaping crew clearly worked much harder than the housekeepers, and early!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CG_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind remarks about our friendly staff - especially Jorge at Cabana Bar - we will pass on your comments to him for a job well done!

Unfortunately, we were disappointed to learn about the difficulties you experienced with the lack of cleanliness in your guest room. We are taking immediate action to improve our performance in this area and appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Md
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We were to stay for three nights and just could not handle it.. Dirty and way overdue for a redo. Staff was out of touch with poor and inadequate information. Logistics really bad with sprawling facility. They need a little transport to carry you to and fro. We checked out after one night and switched to the Harbor Beach by Marriott. A properly run joint. I would pass.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaimeDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were very disappointed to learn about the difficulty to encountered with your guest room. We would like you to know that we are about to embark on a renovation of the entire conference center, restaurants and other areas this summer. We do hope you will give us another chance to visit with us again in the future so that you can see firsthand, the positive changes that will have taken place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went down for a conference, had to stay across the street, but spent 90% of my time at the Bonaventure. First off, besides the front desk staff, the rest of the staff doesn't speak English- at all. Trying to get anything (a soda refill during our dinner) was impossible. One of my coworkers was in the spa and they were interviewing potential staff and had to call in a translator because none of them spoke English. Im not sure what language it was, because we tried Spanish and that didnt work either. It was a problem and the service suffered because of that.

The other issue was the non-existent outside of your room WiFi. We couldn't access the internet anywhere and were just told that they dont have the capability to do that. In 2013 at what is supposed to be a 4 star quality hotel, that is something they should fix.

The food was okay, typical hotel food that seemed to go down in quality as the days passed. We ate at Ireland Steakhouse and it was just okay. Service wasnt great (we were literally the only people in there, a table of 5 getting an early dinner) and it took a long time for us to get drinks and our food.

Overall it was just okay, nothing special

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank einafets7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our staff and the lack of wifi service in certain areas of our resort. Please know that we will share your concerns with our key managers so that immediate steps can be taken to improve our performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were going to be in the FLL area for a few days and are not big beach goers so we looked for a place that was away from the crowd. This place was a great deal on hotels.com so we went for it. The first impression of the property in the lobby is positive and the front desk staff is helpful. The first room we were giving was the king deluxe we booked, it was in building 8 and was rather dark and sad looking. The second room we tried in building 1 was a suite ($20 a nite upgrade) but it was not made up so off to the front desk for another try. Room 3 was also a suite in building 4...3rd time was the charm! Great room, clean quiet and very roomy! Food and services on the hotel property are quite expensive and we ate and played off site. There are several decent places to eat nearby (a 5 min drive) and the font desk has a map, we enjoyed lunch at the Carolina Ale House and drove down to the beach for dinners (25-30 mins).

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors of building 4...you will be near everything and still have qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyformoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay aat our resort. We agree that it is a perfect place for rest and relaxation. We are pleased to hear that you found our front desk staff so helpful and that you enjoyed our clean and quiet guest room.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future whenever you need to get away from it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,887 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,100 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonaventure Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonaventure Resort & Spa

Property: Bonaventure Resort & Spa
Address: 250 Racquet Club Rd, Weston, FL 33326-1198 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonaventure Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Ft. Lauderdale’s largest spa and surrounded by championship golf and world-class shopping, the AAA Four-Diamond Bonaventure Resort & Spa provides endless opportunities for relaxation, recreation, and pure enjoyment. This renowned south Florida resort features spacious estate-style guestrooms and suites, four sun-drenched pools, 24-hr fitness center, lush gardens, and multiple dining options, including the locally acclaimed Ireland’s Steakhouse. Conveniently located to Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and just minutes from Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall, the BB&T Center home to NHL, converts and special events, and Everglades Eco-adventures. Bonaventure features over 80,000 sq ft of newly renovated conference center space which showcases superior indoor, and vast outdoor, options for business and social engagements. Innovative food and beverage offerings complete the unexpected service all in an effort to provide the absolute best experience during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bonaventure Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Weston
Hyatt Weston
Bonaventure Resort Weston
Bonaventure Spa Weston Florida
Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Hotel
Hyatt Spa Weston
Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing