We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bonaventure Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Weston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is built as nine separate units spread over a large area. Thus buildings nos. 1 and 9 are furthest from the main reception lobby and dining room.
We had booked a 12 night stay (from 21st december) and on arrival the staff were very pleasant & helpful.
The room we were given was in building no. 1, deluxe double on 3rd floor. A quite large room with balcony. But we soon discovered that this room faced north, was in continual shade and felt cold & damp; part facing the road and with an overhanging tree.
As we were spending 12 days here, the next day we decided to ask for a change of room.
The helpful staff kindly offered a choice of alternative rooms available and we settled on a room in building no. 6 overlooking the golf course.
This was a wise choice. The view of the golf course and stream was south facing which all together made for a much sunnier, brighter and warmer aspect.
The one downside appeared a few days later. The room had an adjoining door to the next door room, which was then occupied by a family for a few days over the Xmas period. So for 4 days were were awakened earlier than was normal for us !!
Advise - Building Nos. 5 , 6 , or 7 with a golf course view ... but not with a door to the neighbouring room.
We had booked a room with buffet breakfast. This was good value. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and was served until 11.30 am. A most pleasant stroll along the nature trail from our building to the main lobby/dining room.
The staff throughout the hotel complex were most accommodating and helpful.
It is a 10mins. car ride to the Weston Town centre and 30mins. approx. to the Sawgrass Malls (if you must).

Room Tip: Suggest that you choose an upper level room for a better view and to avoid the noise of the 'duc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hermioneluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonaventureMgmt, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you had such a wonderful stay! As for the music...we have changed our music provider and the overall acoustic experience has greatly inproved. Hope you'll come back soon to have a listen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

i agree with previous reviews - very elegant and clean hotel, far from everything, lots of separate buildings, no free breakfast. there is free parking and free wifi, however, and a fine restaurant. we were very pleased with the service we received when my son realized he had left his expensive headphones under the table when we left. he didn't mention this until we were well on the way to the airport. we called the Bonaventure and received a call about 30 minutes later - they had found the headphones and another son's Nook! They had dispatched someone to the airport to try to meet us but we were past security when i heard the message. they then sent the package FedEx overnight and we received it the day after we checked out. Robert was extremely thoughtful and responsive to our needs.

Room Tip: ask for a building close to the restaurant - building 4 is convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asb37626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonaventureMgmt, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

So, glad everything was great & your electronics got returned! Similarly, we rencently had a collage football team stay with us and a bunch of those young men left electronics too! We returned them and it makes me think of my own boys who are always leaving things. Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room was very elegant (the bathroom has a bidet!!!), clean and had a very comfortable king size bed. Breakfast was not included in the rate but we made coffe ourselves in our room (there's coffe and a brewing machine in the room). All rooms are in separate buildings, so you have to drive to your room after check-in. Didn't use the swimming pool but looked nice. This hotel is far both from Fort Lauderdale and Miami, so it's not convenient if that's what you want to see. But it's very close to Sawgrass Mill shopping center (that's why we chose it). We got got a good deal with hotwire. I wouldn't stay here with full rate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fuscol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonaventureMgmt, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thirlled that you loved our resort. Next time you visit, and do some shopping, you might want to check out Pembroke Gardens. Unlike the Sawgrass it's an upscale outdoor mall with great dining too. Or even closer to the property is the weston Town Center. I like it because there are several unique boutiques.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I got hotel on Priceline for Friday nite only for an amazingly low $70 -the facility was empty in between major conferences My room in building 2 was clean and very modern, bath had marble and granite and tub and shower, beds very comfortable - tv was not flat screen , not my issue - pools were clean and well maintained, as was whirlpool All good for me and parking was free

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Bonaventure Resort and Spa in Weston Florida on vacation this past December, 2012 and we pre-paid their high rates based on what we believed was a real and true value. They 'baited and switched' as if they authored the term. Though the hotel promises beautiful surroundings, secure facilities, room by room Internet connectivity, excellent amenities, prime location for us to be near Fort Lauderdale, they failed to deliver on their promises. We were out all day our second day there and upon returning to our hotel room late at night we discovered our hotel room door was open and had been open all day!! We had checked it before leaving early in the morning and confirmed it was closed and locked. Upon notifying the hotel front desk manager of this fact he was non-plussed, surly and sarcastic. We realized that although the hotel had been recommended on some internet travel sites it was all just marketing talk, sales fluff and puffery. In each of our subsequent conversations reporting the open and unlocked door, the response from the hotel's management grew nastier and nastier. It was a series of responses unworthy of a hotel run and operated by the likes of Jim Maurer, a superbly qualified GM. The proof was in the pudding, however, and this hotel and staff were entirely apathetic at best, upon learning of their failure to provide the most basic security for their guests. Their open expressions of hostility made for an increasingly uncomfortable stay at this high priced Weston, Florida resort and spa. To make matters worse the hotel promises and assures room by room internet connectivity, however even with this seemingly basic requirement that most other hotels have mastered, they let us down with this as well. Our room lacked proper internet connectivity and upon inquiring, we were told multiple differing, totally separate and entirely different explanations by the staff as to why the room did not have internet connectivity. At one point after waiting in our room three hours for a return call "in five minutes" the hotel sent an engineer to diagnose the room's internet infrastructure. He came to our room, looked at our computer and underneath the desk, and then said he didn't know why there was no connectivity, and he would check and let us know. That was the last time we heard anything from the engineer and anyone at the hotel regarding this. We called later in the day and the hotel receptionist said she did not know when, if at all, the internet connectivity would be restored. We were told multiple differing explanations by the hotel staff regarding the hotel's failure in providing internet connectivity. We were unprepared for such shoddy, incompetent, and inhospitable (not to mention offensive) staff and management behavior in response to our voicing and articulating hotel-provided guarantees which they failed to deliver on. We shan't be staying at the Weston, Florida Bonaventure Resort & Spa ever again, needless to say, and we will affirmatively drive all of our friends, relatives, business contacts, and even strangers away from this fundamentally rank hotel and offensive staff. We liked the pools, the grounds, and the surroundings. However, the Bonaventure Resort and Spa failed us at the most fundamental and basic hospitality 101 core set of values - namely securing our property and personal belongings in their hotel as guests, and caring to know of their guests' experiences with their hotel's "hospitality" or lack thereof. Should any Trip Advisor members be considering a stay at this allegedly hospitable "resort and spa" we strongly urge them to RUN from this godawful establishment and surly staff, and we do mean RUN AWAY and AVOID at all costs, lest they risk their family members safety and security and not be as "fortunate" as we were, in our "enjoyment" with our stay.

Room Tip: The room had a moldy mildewy scent and was unclean upon arrival. Later in the day a housecleaning p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank newbizhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonaventureMgmt, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you so very much for the detailed review of your recent stay. While disappointed that your experience was not completely up to your expectations I can assure you that your points and staff challanges have been reviewed with our team.
Additionally, I would like to share with you that the property has recently changed hands and the new ownership has just announced the upcoming renovations which will include the changing out of all the carperts in the guest rooms for wood flooring. They are also looking into upgrading our wireless systems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is like many in Florida - older but well-maintained. They are trying to seem more exclusive than they are. Rooms are OK but could use better lighting, fitness center nice once you find it. Food on the pricey side. We were traveling with a group and often met in lobby. The piped in canned music is obnoxiously loud. Check in personnel can't hear guests, everyone has to speak loudly to be heard. There are lots of hard surfaces and the sound just reverberates.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTravel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Manager at Bonaventure Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Bonaventure Resort & Spa for your recent vacation with your friends. Your comments regarding the loud music have been addressed - you were absolutely correct. We have completely revisited the "sound" of not only our lobby but the listening experience throughout the resort. We hope we have the pleasure to be of service in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here Thanksgiving 2011 and now New Years 2013. This time we used the amenities and WOW. The 3 pools are great, but the main pool is huge, headed, has a waterfall, and has an outdoor bar with TV. My wife is in love with the spa and the staff. The restaurant does a great job with all meals. The breakfast starts the days on a good foot. The grounds has a lot to offer for walking, lounge chairs, sunset, pictures. We saw the maintenance crew inspecting the entire grounds while we were at the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonaventure Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonaventure Resort & Spa

Address: 250 Racquet Club Rd, Weston, FL 33326-1198 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range: $109 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonaventure Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Ft. Lauderdale’s largest spa and surrounded by championship golf and world-class shopping, the AAA Four-Diamond Bonaventure Resort & Spa provides endless opportunities for relaxation, recreation, and pure enjoyment. This renowned south Florida resort features spacious estate-style guestrooms and suites, four sun-drenched pools, 24-hr fitness center, lush gardens, and multiple dining options, including the locally acclaimed Ireland’s Steakhouse. Conveniently located to Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and just minutes from Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall, the BB&T Center home to NHL, converts and special events, and Everglades Eco-adventures. Bonaventure features over 80,000 sq ft of newly renovated conference center space which showcases superior indoor, and vast outdoor, options for business and social engagements. Innovative food and beverage offerings complete the unexpected service all in an effort to provide the absolute best experience during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bonaventure Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Weston
Hyatt Weston
Bonaventure Resort Weston
Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Hotel
Bonaventure Spa Weston Florida
Hyatt Spa Weston
Hyatt Regency Bonaventure Conference Center And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing