We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vacation Village at Weston
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Weston
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2006

We stayed here from May 21-27, 2006 and had a great vacation! The city of Weston is beautiful and the landscape throughout the city is well cared for! This gives you an idea of the location of the Vacation Village properties in Weston. Everything is well-manicured and clean! We arrived from a red-eye flight into Fort Lauderdale and Vacation Village was a straight shot on Hwy 595. Although we arrived hours before the scheduled check-in time, they had no problem finding a suite for us. The lines tend to get long during the peak check-in time, so it's best to arrive early if you can. We were put in the Ibis complex, which is behind the main lobby and right next to the pool. We had a corner room, which was great! We could see from our balcony whether or not the pool was busy.

Since there were only 2 of us, I didn't mind staying in the "B" suite. I think it would be small for 4 adults, but just right for 2 adults and 2 children. The walls are pretty thin, so we enjoyed the quiet for the first couple of days, then a family came in around the 3rd or 4th day, and we could hear the baby crying, and heard whenever they left. But we're easygoing people, so it didn't bother us too much. If they can put up with our late night comings and goings, we can put up with a crying baby!

The living room is adequate, but the dining area is just a table pushed up against the wall right when you enter. The kitchen is a partial kitchen which means that the stove is a plug-in stove. It took a long time to boil eggs, so we only used this on occasion. Since we were on vacation, we ate out a lot for dinner and warmed up any leftovers in the microwave the next morning. They don't provide you with dish soap or cooking oil, so you're pretty discouraged to use any of the dishes. But housekeeping did the dishes for us when they did their mid-week cleaning. That was totally unexpected! The gift shop, which is the size of a closet, doesn't provide much in the way of necessities. So I'm glad the grocery stores and pharmacies were close by (though not within walking distance).

When you check in, you are given a map of the immediate area, as well as a printed guide of local attractions and places to visit along with the directions and trip times. It was very helpful! There is also a computer room with about 6 PCs and a printer so you can use the internet, but if you have your own laptop they offer free wi-fi in the lobby and at the pool.

We were out most of the time, so we didn't get to participate in the onsite activities. The gym is pretty small with a few treadmills and weights. There is a small arcade for the kids and a ping-pong table in the pool area. Although we paid the $20 for the buffet breakfast, I already knew what this was about, so we took the last possible day they offered and weren't bothered until that morning. Since we "missed" our breakfast, they left a message trying to sweeten the deal by offering us more if we attended the next day. We just didn't call them back and weren't bothered again.

We are in our 30s, so we really enjoyed visiting South Florida. Fort Lauderdale was 15 min. away, and Miami was about 30-45 min. We didn't mind driving since we come from the SF Bay Area where driving is the norm to get around. The Everglades aren't far, so there are opportunities nearby to take an airboat tour and spot alligators and other wildlife. Seminole Hard Rock is also nearby, which offers several options for restaurants, bars, and even a casino. Sawgrass Mills (about 7-10 min.) also has everything all in one place. There is the typical mall stores, but surrounding the mall is a Super Target, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, various restaurants and gas stations! It's a one-stop shopping spot!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank jnettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    360
    203
    95
    89
See reviews for
475
317
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We stayed in the Osprey section of Vacation Village in the "A" units which are the larger units with full kitchen, king size bed, and jacuzzi bath. It was a nice room with all the features of a rental condo. The view was of a garden area - nothing special. There was no pool in the Osprey section so you had to walk over to another section for the pool which was nice, but crowded with kids. The shopping and dining at Sawgrass Mills makes this an attractive stay. Vacation Village is some 15 minutes from Fort Lauderdale. The Concierge service was always busy or non-existent. Check-in was a breeze. Check-out was a breeze.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank spunkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2006

My husband and I traveled to VV@Weston from California from May 5-May 12. Our room was very comfortable and large (Crane building with type A room). We had a large dining table, fully equiped kitchen (if you like to cook on vacation), spacious living room with a big screen tv, one bedroom (another tv) with king bed and large jacuzzi, and large bathroom with shower and a his/hers sinks. Like an apartment. Two things that are not on site is a restaurant and a bar in the pool area. We either had to cook or drive off site to restaurants. We're use to resorts that have a bar by the pool that serves cold refreshments. If they add a restaurant and bar the place would be complete. Otherwise, great place to vacation.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 8, 2006

We stayed at Vacation Village in Weston from April 14 to April 24, 2006. My family just loved it. We stayed in the Crane building which is directly across from the registration building and close to the Weston pool. We rented out both the A and B units. My two teenage boys stayed in the B unit and my daughter, wife, and myself stayed in the A unit. The boys loved having their own space even though it was smaller than the A unit, but it was more than enough room for the two of them. The A unit had a kitchen, dining room table, living room with pull out bed couch, king size bed with Jacuzzi, and very spacious bathroom. We were all extremely happy with our living quarters. The pool was great. It was very long with a waterfall in the middle. We found out after the first day that the best time to go to the pool was either prior to 11am or after 3pm. It became quite crowded otherwise probably because it was Spring Break. Stores and Restaurants were all within a 15 minute drive once you become familiar with the area. Sawgrass Mall was within 10 minutes, Fort Lauderdale beach within 30 minutes, and it was about 1.5 hours to Key Largo. The resort provides you a map of local restaurants, but we found quite a number of them on University Drive just off I-595. My family loved the location of the resort and did not mind driving to get from place to place. Overall, we had a great experience at Vacation Village in Weston.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield oregon
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2006

We stayed at Vacation Village over spring break 2006. We were lucky enough to stay in the Ibis buiding, closest to the Weston pool (the one with the waterfall). The Crane building is also close by. We had units A and B since there were 5 of us.They were similar but the B is MUCH smaller. If you just need a bed and a shower,the B unit would be fine, but it doesnt have a dishwasher, and to eat at the table you would have to pull the table out and block the door. The A unit was one of the nicest timeshares we have stayed at. Very spacious, nicely equiped kitchen. We used the BBQ out by the pool, it was popular, so if you want to BBQ, get there early. I would like to see them add more BBQ units there is only 1. The pool is beautiful, and over spring break the chairs filled up quickly. People reserved chairs with towels early in the morning. We checked out other buildings, Sandpiper and Heron, each had a motel size pool and was far enough away we had to drive. The Publix store is very nice and 2 Walgreens, again you have to drive or take the shuttle. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was friendly, we were all over southern Florida during our trip, from Ft. Myers to Key West and having a beautiful room to stay in close to the highway was a blessing.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
19 Thank ketx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2006

We have stayed at Weston twice (2 weeks each time) and have reservations for 4 weeks next winter. Before our first trip there, we read reviews about the traffic noise from I-75, so we requested a suite away from the highway, and the request was honored. We are very sensitive to noise, but that worked out OK. The insulation is such that, once inside, you don't hear the traffic. But your balcony would be noisy if you were on the highway side. Our suites were very clean and well maintained, and they cleaned mid-week as well (3rd or 4th day of a one-week stay), and provided clean linens also. There are 2 washers/dryers on each floor, and we never had to wait to use those--but we were there in Feb., so I don't know how it is during peak time. There are lots of good restaurants, excellent shopping, and the pool is great!! You DO have to get to the pool early if you want a lounge chair for sunning, but since melanoma isn't high on my list of priorities, I usually just swim and then leave the pool area. We aren't interested in night-life, and for an occasional trip to the beach, the 30-minute ride isn't a big deal. The resort did ask us to do the timeshare preview, and we did it on our first visit. The next year we declined, and they called a couple of times to offer us more money if we would go. I wouldn't say we were pressured...just given several opportunities. So don't go if you don't want to buy...let's face it: the purpose of this lunch/brunch is to sell property! But you can pass on the "opportunity". NOT to be missed is Smith Park, maybe 10 miles south of Weston. We went there about every other day...great walking trails, golf driving range, tennis and handball are free, and on the week-ends you can rent a paddle boat. (There's a water park in the summer, but it's not open when we're there in the winter.) There were so few people at the park, we always felt like we had our own private place. There is a Wal-Mart, Stein Mart, Dollar Store, and several grocery stores on the way, so if you need anything, you can probably pick it up on the way back from Smith Park. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank himes2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.6 mi away
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Weston
2.0 mi away
Towneplace Suites Fort Lauderdale Weston
7.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Fort Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Weston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Weston

Property: Vacation Village at Weston
Address: 16461 Racquet Club Rd, Weston, FL 33326-3131
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vacation Village at Weston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 672
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the famous South Florida Spa, Tennis and Golf Community of Weston, lies a vacationer's dream at Vacation Village at Weston Resort. Indulge in spacious one-and two-bedroom suites with amenities like private Jacuzzi tubs, kitchens, and living and dining areas. Resort amenities include a heated, outdoor pool and relaxing outdoor whirlpool. Poolside activities, barbecue facilities and more also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacation Village at Weston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Weston Hotel Weston
Weston Vacation Village
Vacation Village Weston Bonaventure
Vacation Village Weston Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing