We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Village at Weston the worst place ever!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vacation Village at Weston
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a reservation with this hotel since june for the holidays. Could not accomodate as requested because we do not check in at the same time. This place is frozen in the 80s and has the worst costumer service ever. Rooms were dirty, tile in the bathrooms were ckacked and falling apart. The caulk around the shower door was full of mold and mildew, NEVER AGAIN IN MY LIFE!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Weston, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your time at the resort. Special requests such as unit location, room views, floor level, etc, are accepted prior to arrival but accommodations are based on a first-come, first-served basis with no guarantees. We will make every effort to honor all requests if we can. We’re sorry that we couldn’t provide you with the vacation you expected but we hope your experience doesn’t deter you from visiting the City of Weston again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Best things about the resort: The grounds are nice, mature, and well kept. The pool area is nice if you’re lucky enough to get a place to sit (see review for more details). There’s a little deli on-site that has pretty good food although pricey. The kids seemed to like the smoothie bar as did the adults who “livened up” their smoothies. The room (A-side) was good sized and had everything needed for a weeks’ stay for two adults. I think a family would’ve struggled, but for a couple it was fine. Bed was soft but comfy.

Best things around the resort: The resort was in a good location for the southern Florida experience. Very close to Sawgrass Mills Outlet Center (HUGE! Worth a visit if you’ve never been), Fort Lauderdale Beach, and about 40 minutes to South Beach Miami. Weston Road has several strip malls with fast food chains, coffee shops, Publix (food store), pharmacies, restaurants, etc. If you want to catch a sports event on the big screen with a bunch of other sports fans, visit the Carolina Ale House – great sports bar!

We visited the resort during New Years week (12/29/2013 – 1/5/2014). We don’t typically travel at this time but thought we’d mix it up a little this year. Typically we vacation in May and September which means less families at the resorts. I’m providing this preface so it might put some of my comments around our stay in context if you choose to keep reading.

We arrived around 4:30 PM on Sunday to find a line at check-in. The desk staff were somewhat slow and the “hospitality clerk” greeting people was not very welcoming. Nevertheless we got our room and paperwork and had to chat with another fellow before we could get our parking pass – anyone who has been to a time share likely knows who this other fellow was. Yep that’s right, the guy who tries to sign you up for the sales pitch. So we told him we already owned several timeshares and weren’t interested in his tour, pitch, or the free gifts they offered. Sadly we were suckered in by the promise that they only wanted us to complete a survey and take a tour. Oh, I should also mention that there is a $25 “resort fee” that all guests pay. They list all of the things that gets you but to me it’s a way to haggle you out of $25 as what they claim you pay for should be free anyway in my opinion.

Anyway we got out parking pass and went to out unit. We were in the Ibis building on the 5th floor and had the joy of having our balcony overlook the parking lot, carwash, and highway. Awesome! Whatever, we decided not to make a big deal out of it but be warned, if you get a room on the far end of the Ibis building (ours was 9-515A) it’ll be noisy. The room was adequately furnished and had all of the utensils (cork screw, can opener, spatula, etc.), appliances (toaster, blender, microwave, coffee pot), etc. we needed for our week long stay. We chose to eat in most nights and breakfasts as we typically do and we didn’t need for anything. The dining area had a glass top table with 4 chairs. There was a couch (fold-out/sleeper), 2 chairs, 2 end-tables, and a coffee table in the living space along with a flat panel TV (~32”) and DVD player. The bedroom had a queen bed (might have been a small king), two night-stands, and a bureau along with another flat screen TV. There was also an alarm clock. The bedroom had a soaker/whirlpool tub and the bathroom had a double-sink vanity and large shower. There was a balcony accessible from the bedroom and living area that had a table and 4 plastic chairs.

The furniture was adequate albeit a bit tired. The bed was soft, but comfortable enough (pillows were lumpy though). There were plenty of towels etc. provided and sheets/blankets/pillows for the fold-out bed if needed. There was also a portable radio in the closet from the 80’s era lol. There is also a safe in the closet for guests to use. So far – except for the noise factor – so good.

The next day we decided to speak to the front desk fellow to cancel our “tour” at which time we met his “manager” who ensured us that we were the drivers of how long the survey/tour took and there would be NO SALES PITCH. He even up’d the gift we were to receive and told us the buffet alone was worth our time. We reluctantly went along with them and 3 hours later we had to sit through their sales pitch while eating powdered eggs and visiting one of their other properties (Mizner) close-by. Seeing the “manager” in the lobby later that day he couldn’t even look either one of us in the eye. I don’t know how these folks live with themselves. But whatever…moving on…takeaway from this that no matter what they tell you, it IS most certainly a sales pitch.

The grounds of the resort are nice…very mature. You can tell the resort has been there a while by the mature trees and garden areas. However, with maturity comes aging and you could see some of the buildings exteriors were showing some signs of age. Things like sliding doors not fitting right, faded/molded paint, etc. could be seen. Not horrible or defaced or anything…just in need of attention.

The pool is very nice with the water fall and the kids area. Sadly the kids area was almost empty everyday and they were in the larger pool with the adults. Now it could be because of the time of year, but if you wanted a seat poolside, you would literally have to get in line @ 8:00AM when the pool opened and rush in to grab chairs! This is ABSURD! We’ve been on many vacations and this was the first time we’ve ever encountered this. There are rules stating you can’t reserve seats and anyone found reserving seats would have their things removed after 45 minutes of not sitting there. This was not being enforced during the earlier days of the week. The resort either needs to expand their existing pool area or add another pool to their grounds (maybe where the “event parking” is since that lot was primarily vacant anyways?).

The entertainment crew had things going on throughout the days…and they catered to pretty much anyone – kids, adults, etc. They truly tried hard to provide fun times for their guests. The on-site deli is pretty good, but sort of expensive for what you get. To be expected…I didn’t say this as negative feedback, just setting expectations.

The resort was located in a nice area and close to a lot of what people go to southern Florida for I would imagine. Weston is a beautiful little town, but don’t be expecting any nightlife like in Miami or Fort Lauderdale. It’s just not like that…but it is very nice, clean, and safe and close enough to those other places I mentioned to where you can still go rip-it-up if you want to.
Overall, we had a wonderful vacation. We chose to laugh about the noisy balcony and horrible view and made sure we got up early to get to the pool to get seats. We would likely give this place another shot, but at a different time of year when maybe it wasn’t so crowded. We spoke to others who had been there before and even they said they had never seen it like that. The only true negative that I will end this review on in hopes that someone in their management team addresses is the sales pitch. Most people hate dishonesty…myself included. Don’t lie to me to hit your stupid numbers. I was honest with you, I expect the same in return. This truly is the one negative from our stay that would prevent us from going back. I’m on vacation…I’m away from the stresses and pressures of everyday life – I don’t need to be pressured and lied to by the people who are supposed to be making sure I enjoy myself. Simple concept people…work on it…get it right.

Room Tip: Avoid the "15" side of the Ibis building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CoupleFromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Weston, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking time out to share the details of your trip with us. We’re always happy to receive feedback because it helps us know what areas we need to improve our services and ultimately improve our guest’s experience. We’re very sorry for the miscommunication you experienced with our marketing representative. We do not condone overzealous tactics because we realize that it is counterproductive to our goal, which is to provide vacation experiences that will inspire travelers to stay with us again and again. Your comments have been sent to the management of the marketing team at Weston and will be used as a training tool to prevent these situations for future guests. We’re thankful that overall you appreciated the value we offer visitors in South Florida and we hope that you will return so that we may have another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a timeshare located west of Ft. Lauderdale. We booked thru RCI. It is NOT a "Gold Crown" property. RCI has definitely lowered its standards over the last few years. With the downturn in Florida real estate, this Developement isn't being upgraded in a timely manor. The unit was clean and the pool is nice. We had a one bedroom with partial kitchen that is advertised as accommodating four people. Our corner unit was smaller than other units we have stayed in with the same amenities. The televisions are old school. You are charged $25.00 for a package that includes WI-Fi. People were sitting in the hallways trying to access the internet. The staff we encountered were polite but unable to handle the volume of disgruntled guests. This is a large property. So, if you just want to be in the nice Florida weather and "resort" lodgings aren't important to you, this will be fine. If you were hoping for beautiful accommodations and surroundings, you will be gravely disappointed by Vacation Village At Weston.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 362lianeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Weston, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We’re that you didn’t enjoy all aspects of your vacation with us. Usually we receive high marks regarding our resort and have had many repeat travelers each year. We hope that we may have another chance to share our hospitality with you to prove to you that we’re a great vacation destination when visiting south Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Weston is a good location in the Fort Lauderdale area, close to shopping, the BB&T sports complex yet out of the heavy traffic of Fort Lauderdale.
The resort has a great pool with a warm waterfall and a large hot pool.
The swimming pool is very good for children, shallow enough in some areas and it has a Volley Ball net.
The service was prompt when we called about needing supplies. We called that the patio doors would not lock. The repairman came within an hour and fixed a few other things while he was three. He replaced the drawer in the dishwasher when we pointed out that a price had broken.
The cleaning staff are pleasant but difficult to communicate with because we do not speak Spanish and they speak very little English. The supervisor came to be sure that we had received what we had asked for.
Elizabeth the Concierge was most helpful in accommodating what we needed.
We had great weather for swimming, golfing and walking. It was a good time to be in Weston.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kolinKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Weston, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your recommendation! Vacation Village at Weston is a favorite vacation destination for families and couples alike due to our convenient location to South Florida Attractions, our oversized rooms, and awesome staff. We’re thankful that you appreciated the value we offer and we hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Weston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

As we only stayed for two nights I could not really give a true evaluation of Vacation Village but from what I sampled it was good.
The check in went smooth and we were in our accommodation within minuets. It was clean and had plenty of space. Could not understand why there was no dishwasher, Oh well you can't win them all. The pool looked great but was unable to use due to bad weather. There are plenty of dining options close by so eating out is no problem.
We made a HUGE mistake of going Sawgrass Mills on Black Friday, never ever again. the only place to park was up a Palm tree so we turned round and went back. went back the next day and everything was back to normal.
Vacation Village was easy to find and we would stay again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wingers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Weston, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We appreciate your positive review regarding your recent stay at Vacation Village at Weston. We’re glad that you enjoyed our spacious accommodations and the dining and shopping opportunities near the resort. Thank you for sharing your experience with our tripadvisor readers and we hope to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to South Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Used our RCI points for a week here, we have been before. Check in was easy and very little pressure to attend the "sales pitch", $25 resort fee is a bit chintzy, they really charge for WI-FI which we don't use.
We had a one bedroom apartment in Osprey on the 5th floor with a reasonable view of the Everglades. The unit was well stocked and the furniture, although not new was substantial and the main TV was relatively new. The jacuzzi tub is not in the bathroom but in the bedroom, idn't bother us!! Plenty of towels which were switched on the 4th day as well as the rubbish removed by the cleaning staff.
The swimming pool is interesting with a waterfall and hot tub, but the noise from afternoon games of bingo etc. is a nuisance.

You need a car to get anywhere, there plenty of goo restaurants in Weston and good golf courses not far away. We enjoyed our stay and found everywhere in the resort clean and tidy. One complaint was the slow nature of the computers in the business centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveE45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Weston, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We appreciate your recommendation of Vacation Village at Weston and that you took the time to share your experience with us. We’re happy to know that you enjoyed the comfort of your accommodations and our relaxing atmosphere. The $25 resort fee you wrote about not only includes wifi in the private rooms, but also shuttle service within a 3-mile radius of the resort, in-room safes, resort activities, and discounts at participating restaurants in the area. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort the next time your travels bring you to Weston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Comfortable hotel but away from other regular attractions/sites.

Besides that, you can enjoy the pool, gym and some additional features.

They try to sell you timeshare properties ... when you find out you are in the midst of a sales process ... but we courageously resisted.

God bless you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Weston, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for the review of your visit to Vacation Village at Weston. We’re delighted your stay was a pleasant one and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Florida vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.6 mi away
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Weston
2 mi away
Towneplace Suites Fort Lauderdale Weston
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Weston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Weston

Address: 16461 Racquet Club Rd, Weston, FL 33326-3131
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range: $175 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vacation Village at Weston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 672
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the famous South Florida Spa, Tennis and Golf Community of Weston, lies a vacationer's dream at Vacation Village at Weston Resort. Indulge in spacious one-and two-bedroom suites with amenities like private Jacuzzi tubs, kitchens, and living and dining areas. Resort amenities include a heated, outdoor pool and relaxing outdoor whirlpool. Poolside activities, barbecue facilities and more also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Vacation Village at Weston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Weston Hotel Weston
Weston Vacation Village
Vacation Village Weston Bonaventure
Vacation Village Weston Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing