We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First of four weeks in Weston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
New Ulm, MN
Level Contributor
181 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“First of four weeks in Weston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

RCI exchange for one week in an A unit (A units are bigger than the B units and have a balcony) at Sandpiper 1. Unit was clean, location good, good bed, fully-furnished kitchen, (except no salt and pepper and no pizza cutter;-). A little dated - e.g. huge old TV in the living room (but I believe they are working to upgrade those) was all right, but the screen was a little "fuzzy." Our week was a bit cool, but not anything like what they were experiencing a lot of the rest of the country. Hot dogs/hamburgers available for $2-3 on Wednesday and other activities like water exercise but it was too cold for us. We enjoyed the hot tub every day though. The Heron pool and hot tub at Bonaventure are our favorites in the Vacation Village complex of several choices of pools.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We appreciate the review of your recent visit to Vacation Village at Bonaventure. We’re happy that you appreciated our property and hospitality. Each year we make a significant investment in the resort and are in the process of upgrading the televisions. Thank you for writing and we hope that we may have an opportunity to share our hospitality with you again the next time you desire a relaxing Florida getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    140
    98
    67
    51
See reviews for
195
135
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Front desk check in needs improvement. Computers are old and slow. Room has very cheap appliances. No vending machines in property. Pool is very nice. Location is very good. Keys did not work. Needs overall upgrade.

Room Tip: Get A unit. It has balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BaltimoreElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you taking the time to share your experience. We’re disappointed to read that our resort did not meet all of your expectations. It is our goal to offer great vacations at affordable prices for our guests. We appreciate your comments as these observations can only help us to improve our performance and our property. We hope in the future you will choose to visit us again and allow us the opportunity to prove that we are a great choice for lodging while visiting Weston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Went to this place with rci and had a 1 bedroom. Check in has a lot of timeshare reps so watch out. Guy was nice in check in and told us he upgraded our room to the newer area which after entering the room I realized was complete BS b/c it was the same room I had booked. We stayed in the Osprey building. Buildings look nice and colorful from the outside but as you enter in, there is this old smell. Rooms have 2 doors to go through to enter in, I guess for security purposes. Rooms are old inside, esp the kitchen and bathroom areas. The bedroom area looked like the only updated part and yes the tv was a huge olden days projection tv. the pull out sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable and the worstpart about our room was this stench from the bathroom ever since we came. it reeked of urine every time you entered the bathroom. we called maintenance to fix our toilet and get rid of the smell but nothing worked. instead, for temporary relief we bought an air freshener that didn't help much either. overall, the location of this place was nice in weston but the only grocery store nearby is the overpriced publix. they really need to update this place though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your review, and we’re sorry you were disappointed with your accommodations. We offer great rooms at affordable prices for our guests and are constantly striving to improve the quality of our resort. We appreciate your comments because it lets us know in what areas we need to improve our service. Thank you for posting and we hope you will return and allow us another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We did an exchange thru Interval International; as a result, we got assigned the worst place ever, the Egret Building for a week. During our stay the showers hardly work (e.g., small stream of water coming out of shower head) and there is no concierge service (e.g, luggage service) upon your arrival. Everything is really old in the rooms (e.g., televisions and furniture). Plus, majority of all the television channels are in Spanish! I think the worst part of it all is staff wasn't hopefully at all...the only thing they care about is getting you to that "BS" presentation. Compared to this so "called" resort, Westgate Resorts is 20 times better. If we ever vacation again in South Florida and no rooms are available thru Interval International, we'll probably just stay at a La Quinta Inn and Suites than this resort! This resort really sucks!!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Juwunp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Usually we receive high marks regarding our accommodations and amenities. We have many repeat travelers each year who appreciate the value we offer travelers and we apologize that we could not provide you with the same experience. We hope that you will reconsider and return so that we may have another opportunity to prove to you that we’re a great choice for a Weston vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We purchased a week at this resort through the Armed Forces Vacation Club. We have no complaints about our accommodations, though a bit outdated (small TV in bedroom and box TV in living room) but for the money we paid 100% better than a hotel room.

The LIES, and the way we were treated, on the other hand, are impossible to forget, and will always be in our minds when we hear Bonaventure.

It started when we checked in. We were directed to another counter to obtain our parking pass, where we were told that guests at the resort get a free breakfast or lunch, and were asked what day would work best for us. We were surprised, but when we were presented a list of “gifts” to choose from, we knew this was for a timeshare presentation and told the woman at the counter we were not interested. She adamantly told us it was not a presentation, that all they were asking for was our opinion on a new unit. I told her if it sounds too good to be true it is, but she again assured us that this was only for an opinion; that after we have our buffet, and give our opinion, we can leave. I guess we were naïve to believe that she was actually telling us the truth.

We arrived for our buffet and were driven offsite by our sales rep, Frank, who joined us for lunch. We knew at this point that there was more to this than just viewing a unit. We are timeshare owners with Marriott so buying another timeshare in the future is not out of the question, and since we were already on this presentation thought we might as well make the most out of it, and listen to how RCI compares to our current ownership. After receiving information from Frank we told him that we were told this was not a presentation, and we were sorry his time was spent on us, but we cannot buy at this time. We very well may be interested in the future, we were impressed with RCI and even told him we would try to seek him if and when the time was right. He was gracious, and we thought it was time to leave. That is when it became ugly. A woman (Tina or Trina) came out and was downright nasty. First, after thanking my husband for serving our country (he is in the Air Force), she presented us with other buying options. We told her, too, that we could not purchase at this time and she became downright mean. We told her we had a lot going on in our life right now (although I do not feel we owe anyone an explanation or information as to what is going on in our life, or REASONS why it is a bad time) and it was impossible to purchase at this time. She was nasty and told me that if she had things going on in her life she would not be on a vacation, and especially at a timeshare presentation in the first place! I was shocked, angry, hurt and speechless. First of all we were tricked into attending the presentation in the first place! She even had the gall to come back again with another set of figures. I was in such disbelief at that point I could hardly contain myself. After a third appearance, and another set of figures, she finally threw her arms up, rolled her eyes, and told us “we were free to leave” as though we were prisoners. We have NEVER been treated like that. It took us a good 24 hours to recover from this horrible experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We apologize for the experience you had with our sales staff. It is definitely not our common practice to insult or aggravate our guests during the sales presentation and the treatment you received is inexcusable. Your comments were forwarded to management at our corporate office and necessary steps have been taken to ensure that this type of situation will not happen again. We appreciate you taking the time to comment and we hope that that this unpleasant situation does not deter you from staying with us in the future since you seemed to enjoy the resort itself and it’s amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here December 23-27, 2013 with family for a Christmas getaway.

I had read the reviews and was very concerned so I called before hand and was assured that the reviews were for the Bonaventure Resort and Spa across the street.

When I arrived I was given the option to pay a $25 resort fee which covered wifi so I did only to learn that the wifi is free. The other guests in my party connected to it without paying the fee.

The unit I stayed in was a mile in half from the registration center, thank God I had a rental car as it was 1:45am when I checked in.

I stayed in an A unit, much more spacious than the B side. The furniture was dated and the sofa bed was more comfortable than the king size bed in the bedroom.

I have NEVER been to a timeshare that does not have a washer and dryer in the unit. There was one washer and one dryer on each floor that charged $1.25 each. If you needed quarters, hopefully you had your own, as there was not a machine for change. Because I was only there 4 nights I did not receive midweek service and had to ask a maid in the hallway for more toilet paper and had to wash my towels and wash cloths.

The property was nice and clean and very quiet.

I went to the timeshare presentation and was amused that the breakfast was served at the Bonaventure Resort and Spa across the street. They are all affiliated.

The resort is not close to anything so you will need a rental car.

I will not stay here again. I found a better deal at the Marriott.

Room Tip: Pick an A side room because they have a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alexis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re sorry that our resort and amenities didn’t meet all of your expectations. We’re not sure why other members of your party were able to connect to the Wifi because the $25 Resort Fee is mandatory for all rooms. In addition to WiFi this resort fee also includes computer and internet access in our business center. “Bonaventure” is a dependent district of the city of Weston, Florida and Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort and Bonaventure Resort & Spa are different properties located in that district. We’re not affiliated with the Bonaventure Resort & Spa. Guests who attend our presentation are taken to the Bonaventure Country Club across the street for breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to post and we hope you will consider visiting us again and allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The worst place ever, we stayed there for a week and the showers hardly work you get a small stream of water coming out of shower head. Every thing is old in the hotel rooms. I think the worst part of it all is there empolyees don't understands or speak English.

Room Tip: We rented three suites there and we all share the same problems. Wouldn't recommend this Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We regret that that you didn’t enjoy our resort because we strive to provide a great vacation for every guest that chooses to stay with us. We’re successful most of the time, however it seems in the case of your visit we fell short of that goal. Thank you for taking time to review our property and we hope that we may have another chance to welcome you back to Weston and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.6 mi away
Vacation Village at Weston
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Fort Lauderdale Weston
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Property: Vacation Village at Bonaventure
Address: 16461 Racquet Club Rd, Weston, FL 33326
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vacation Village at Bonaventure 3.5*
Number of rooms: 653
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-appointed Vacation Village at Bonaventure features spacious one-and two-bedroom suites that are equipped with luxurious living and dining areas and are fully furnished for maximum comfort. Relax at one of the resort's pools and watch the palm trees sway in the tropical breezes. Nestled within the famous South Florida Spa, Tennis and Golf Community of Weston, this resort offers maximum privacy for guests but is within minutes of Fort Lauderdale's famed beaches and attractions. Sumptuous dining, world class shopping and excursions to the Everglades are located nearby for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacation Village at Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Hotel Weston
Vacation Village Bonaventure
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Weston
Vacation Village Weston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing