We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Fit for Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I had the unfortunate opportunity to almost stay here. It was a trade / reservation with RCI. We did make it to the unit. I have visited more comfortable tenement housing in the South Bronx. Cold tile concrete with lousy basic furniture. It was very clean, but also very loud. I could hear the clock ticking in the neighboring unit, as well as every word spoken by the loud occupants of that unit. In short, don't come here on vacation or to relax if you expectations are much above basic living. And yes, we did leave. It took only seconds to reach that decision after our exposure to the accommodations. I must say, the reservations supervisor didn't argue with me, almost like I was not the first person to reach this decision.......

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Mje12518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We apologize for the issues you experienced and regret that our accommodations and services didn’t meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and we hope that your experience doesn’t deter you from visiting Weston in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Vacation Village at Bonaventure
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 461 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

I went for a whole week with my family and boyfriend. We found the units very spacious, comfortable beds and nice balconies. However, the kitchen was a little dated, as well as the TVs. Also, we didn't like the fact that laundry is outside the unit and you have to pay for soap and the use of washer / dryer. On the other hand we loved the swimming pool area and jacuzzi, specially at night it was super relaxing,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melaniamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for posting about your stay with Vacation Village at Bonaventure. We’re happy that you enjoyed your vacation and appreciate that you took the time to voice your opinion. The resort is a favorite destination for families due to our spacious accommodations that feature all the comforts of home. We hope that we can welcome you back for another relaxing stay the next time you’re in Weston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms at the Vacation Village are very nice, clean, and comfortable. They are in a great location in Weston. There are two golf courses right nearby. They have a nice pool. Located reasonably close to the Sawgrass Mills Mall. Also fairly close to the BB&T Center where the Florida Panthers NHL team play. They also have concerts at that arena.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kscdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Along with our spacious accommodations, the world- class shopping and attractions in the area of the resort makes Vacation Village at Bonaventure a sought-after vacation spot. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just stayed at this place and after attending 1 timeshare presentation in Orlando we now had to do another one. The first in Orlando was nice. The sales person understood that we didn't want to buy timeshare. This was not the case in vacation village. We was held hostage in every sense of the word. We couldn't get the voucher for our second night before we attended this. It was supposed to be 2 ours but we was closer to 4 when we was done. It was essentially a pyramid scam. This was revealed near the end of the sales pitch. If someone you've given a voucher buys a unit you'll get money. I can't see this any other way than a pyramid scam. The manager had no respect for our declines to her offers and kept making new ones, even though I said we didn't want it for free. I can't encourage people enough to stay away from here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bobojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Attending a presentation is mandatory when a guest purchases a discounted vacation package. We realize the prospect of purchasing timeshare is a big decision and that is why we try to take as much time as we can to present all the benefits of vacation ownership. The negotiation process you described is no different than any other sales negotiation that markets significant purchases in a lifetime. Our business is nothing like a pyramid scam. We have a referral rewards program, which operates the same as most other companies’ rewards programs. If an owner at Vacation Village recommends the resort to their friends and family and that person agrees to attend a presentation, the owner receives points that can be converted to cash. We regret that the presentation was not what you expected and that you did not enjoy your experience and we hope your next visit to Weston is more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is "Time Share" type of resort with several buildings. We are the family of 2 + 3 daughters.
We have arrived late Saturday night for one week staying. Check in was fast and smooth. Finding the our building "Sandpiper I" was not so easy especially at night. It took us about 1/2 hr because directions given by the staff and the map were not great. The map looked like my three years old daughter's drawing :-).
In the morning I found the much easier way to move around.
We have gotten the unit on the third floor. To our surprise it was combination of two units A & B. They have common entry to small corridor leading to two separate doors. Units can be used separate or together since there is the connecting door inside. Each unit has fully equipped kitchen (stove, fridge with icemaker, microwave & dishwasher). Pots, pans, dishware and utensils are also provided. This was useful for breakfast preparations. We have not prepared any dinners since this was also the vacation for Mommy ;-)
Each unit has two TV's. They are little bit outdated. Flat screens would be nice.
From the beginning we were offered free gift ready for pick up in the main lobby.
We didn't fall for it since we learned from other reviews it was the catch to get you for the Time Share selling seminar. Simply ignore and decline any freebies and you would be OK, unless you want to spend few hours listening and then trying to get them off your back.
Amenities are great. Each building complex has own swimming pool. Lots of activities for every age at the main complex - Weston.
All buildings, grounds and units are clean. Small note - the furniture in the units are really outdated so are the wall colour schemes.
Lots of tennis courts and golf courses in the neighborhood with discounts for the residents of the resort.
Quite few restaurants, small shopping malls in the area. Very close to the biggest outlet mall of North America - Sawgrass Mills with shuttle bus provided by the resort.
Very easy access to a highway.

Room Tip: Definitely request if possible Unit type "A" which can easily accommodate six people. It...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryszard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staff was cold and unfriendly. No room service. No vending machines. They have the worst case of mosquitos I've ever seen. I went to sleep and woke up to bites in my face , arms and legs. My children had bites in their heads and face. They moved our room which was fine and there was difference. They charge you $8 per day to park your vehicle in a large uncovered parking lot. Oh, and how about waking up every morning to doors and drawers slamming and loud talking from the inconsiderate cleaning staff. Don't stay here you will be very dissatisfied and disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laadytish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The B-side 1bed/bath on the 6th floor of the Ibis building was a perfect location for the 4th of July weekend. Spacious and very clean room with a kitchenette, living room, balcony with a view of the tennis courts and pool, 2 flat screen TV's was certainly enough for the two of us.
Staff were very friendly and efficient at both check-in and out and even the guys who were offering the timeshare sales pitch took our declines as existing owners very readily.
In room Internet was like dial-up but not a major issue for us.
We were out and about in Weston and Ft. Lauderdale during our stay and therefore did not not use the pool or attend the presentation until the last day when we had some free time available.
A nice lunch at the Country Club, some pleasant conversation, toured Weston and the latest model available, completed a short survey all with no pressure to buy and we were on our way to the airport with a gift voucher in hand.
Well rested and enlightened from the first use of our timeshare, we would certainly return and readily recommend Vacation Village to visitors and guests alike.

Room Tip: 6th floor Ibis was well away from the noise of the pool but still provided a beautiful view of the p...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillandNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.6 mi away
Vacation Village at Weston
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Weston
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Fort Lauderdale Weston
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Address: 16461 Racquet Club Rd, Weston, FL 33326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range: $96 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vacation Village at Bonaventure 3*
Number of rooms: 653
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-appointed Vacation Village at Bonaventure features spacious one-and two-bedroom suites that are equipped with luxurious living and dining areas and are fully furnished for maximum comfort. Relax at one of the resort's pools and watch the palm trees sway in the tropical breezes. Nestled within the famous South Florida Spa, Tennis and Golf Community of Weston, this resort offers maximum privacy for guests but is within minutes of Fort Lauderdale's famed beaches and attractions. Sumptuous dining, world class shopping and excursions to the Everglades are located nearby for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacation Village at Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Hotel Weston
Vacation Village Bonaventure
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Weston
Vacation Village Weston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing