We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value but can be a hassle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value but can be a hassle”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beware that this is a timeshare! When you check in they offer a free lunch or breakfast And gift for a 'survey'. The breakfast and gift was not worth the harassment they put on you trying to force you to buy a time share and then being very rude when they realize they can't. The room was a studio with a nice bedroom, bathroom, living room, and kitchen. It was very clean and spacious and extremely worth the money! But the staff were borderline harassment. The morning of the free breakfast we were stuck with someone who barely spoke English, got us lost, refused to hurry the process, and take us back to our vehicle even when we refused to buy a timeshare. The room and entire resort I give a 4.8 and value a 5, but the staff and services no more than a 3. I would stay again but refuse the breakfast/lunch, gift and any survey.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malloryvargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re sorry that the time spent reviewing the resort wasn’t what you expected. We’re thankful that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and that you appreciated the value we offer our guests at Vacation Village at Bonaventure. Even though timeshare ownership may not be a viable option, we hope that we may be able to welcome you back as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    144
    99
    67
    51
See reviews for
196
138
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Check in took for ever. We actually did check in quickly, but we weren't given a key! We drove over to our building and happened to talk to the person in charge of housekeeping who told us our unit was ready. Back to the main building to get our key! Ha ha. People at front desk told us the earliest we could check in was 2 p.m. We told them we were told that the unit was ready. They scoffed at us and said it was "impossible". Back at 2 p.m. to get the key. Told this time that the earliest check-in would be 3 p.m. Ha ha. To cut the long story short we FINALLY got checked in at around 3:40. Granted, they do say check-in is at 4 p.m. However, if the unit is ready, why can't they just let guests move in?! The air conditioning ran the whole time, yet the unit was hot and humid. Maybe it just takes a while to function? Nope. By the next day the air conditioning was still running and sweat was dripping off us. Called Maintenance. Some man turns up and, after putting his hand to the vents, states," The air conditioning isn't working." Oh really? We never knew. "I'll need to get a technician", says the man. Hours later, no technician has arrived and the air conditioning is still running and it's still hot and humid. Call Front Desk and request they move us. Off we go to a different unit. This does seem kind of familiar. If you look at my review of Vacation Village at Parkway you'll see why. Now, the air conditioning here in the new unit does in fact work! But, what is that odd noise? Can't be water running surely? Hmmm. Sure does sound like water. We investigate and discover that the toilet keeps running all by itself every half hour or so. Very talented toilet they have at Vacation Village. What to do? Call Front Desk yet again? No way. Just be happy that we only paid around 360 dollars for the week. Would have been awful if we had paid a penny more. The 25 dollar "activity" fee is a bit of a joke. The Internet was extremely slow and, although they had various activities, they certainly weren't worth 25 dollars, neither was the Internet. As for maid service. They they finally turned up at 4:15 p.m. We thought maybe they weren't coming at all. When they arrived one was saying how she had to leave. I can understand that. 4:15 p.m. is indeed rather late to be cleaning rooms. Several hours earlier Housekeeping had been in the unit adjacent. Why they just didn't do our unit immediately afterwards is anybody's guess.
If you can get a really good price here, then it's not a bad place to stay. We had a unit on the sixth floor with a beautiful, panoramic view. The immediate area is upscale and very pleasant. There are many pools, and there's a golf course very close by. There is a computer room with these antequated computers that continuously break down. The laser printer is excellent, however. The gym is not big enough for so many guests. But, fortunately, most people lounge by the pools, so the gym is not always busy at all.

Room Tip: I'd request a unit that is high up. You can get really wonderful panoramic views.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay. We understand that customer service is key to being successful in the travel industry and we clearly dropped the ball. We’re so sorry for the issues you had with our resort and have notified their management team so that your comments may be addressed. We appreciate that you took the time to share your review, as it will help us provide better service in the future. We're thankful that you recognize the overall value we offer and hope that you consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to Weston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent facilities, all amenities as expected. Quiet neighbor hood, but noisy on the perimeter rooms. Good facilities, and helpful staff. Nice shuttle service, and lovely park setting in Weston. Be back soon!

Room Tip: Look for a room on the pool side if possible, the freeway to the Glades and East was exceptionally n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful comments! It is truly a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that our services and location had fit your needs. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor for others to see and we hope to share our hospitality with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to find this hotel after a cancelled flight out of Ft. Lauderdale. Based on the photos, this looked like a pleasant place to stay in decent proximity to the airport considering everything else was booked.

Upon arrival around 9:30pm, we were notified there was no record of our reservation. We had to wait 20 minutes in their sterile hospital-esque lobby while they "found" our reservation. Once we checked in, we were notified that our room was not located on the property at the building we checked in at (the building and property photographed in all the ads, and apparently all the photos here on tripadvisor), but rather down the street a ways. We hopped in our car and headed down the street and pulled up to housing project looking, dingy buildings.

There were thug-like people loitering in the parking lot, entering and exiting the building due to a broken lock/card entry system. We entered as well...

We were on the 6th floor. Once we found our door, it was actually the door to an anteroom with units "a" and "b" - we were "b". It felt like Locked up Abroad.

Inside...dingy, disgusting nightmare. Low popcorn ceiling and sterile, medical fluorescent lighting lit a windowless living/"dining" area with broken tile and dirty walls. Please see my photos...

This led to the bathroom and bedroom. The bed sheets all had holes - or bite marks - and no mattress pad. Mirror and tiles falling apart.

The smell?! Think nursing home meets extreme body odor.

I am extremely disappointed in the false advertising. We booked based not only on the professional photos on the website, but the photos here on tripadvisor. Did we get punk'd? The resort style pool was back at the same property we checked in at. The pool with our buildings looked like a murder scene waiting to happen.

I understand policies are in place which prevents refunding clients, but I work in hospitality and there is always an exception. When no other alternative is offered, make the customer happy.

We paid full price for our room and left after half an hour to a reputable chain hotel 25 miles away - I'll take cleanliness and security over distance any day.

Very disappointing and disgusting experience. We were planning on decent, but paid for disgusting.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Llingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re very sorry for the issues you had while at the resort. The service you received is not our normal standard and we regret that you are now disappointed. Even though we can’t change your experience, your comments have been forwarded to the resort’s General Manager so that they may be addressed and prevent any future issues. We hope you return and allow us a future opportunity to prove that we have the friendliest staff and best accommodations for travelers visiting the Fort Lauderdale area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed here for several years and have always enjoyed it very much. When we had any problems the staff were very responsive and extremely friendly. They always seemed very eager to ensure you had a pleasant experience. Sorry to say we did not get that feeling this time. While the units are clean (though the furniture is quite well used) and the grounds are beautifully maintained the staff and their interaction with visitors is quite different. First we were put in a handicapped room with no door on toilet, flat shower with only a curtain to keep water in. After calling we were given another room. Had a note in the room which said let them know if they forgot anything but never received what we asked for or heard from anyone. Couldn't ' see out of fogged up windows in living room, sliding door was difficult to open and screen was on backwards and did not fit door.
Cleaning staff right outside our door with 2 carts we had to weave thru. Not even acknowledged by staff who just kept talking in Spanish as if we weren't there.. Towel exchange was challenging as most staff did not speak English and had to get interpreter. All in all way below past years experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jmohrhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We’re very sorry that we were unable to meet all of your expectations during your most current visit. As your past vacations with us have proven, it is not our intent to be rude to our guests as we always strive to offer a positive experience for everyone that walks through our doors. We ask that you reconsider your view on Vacation Village at Bonaventure and allow us a future opportunity to once again exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The units are in scattered high rise buildings which resemble dormitories more than a hotel. There is no desk, lobby or staff on site except for the main reception building. The walls are paper thin so neighbors talking in normal voices sound like they are in your room. There is a kitchen area with coffee brewer but no coffee supplied. When I asked about this they told me the units are more for long term guests so if you stay just a few nights you're out of luck. There is no shampoo provided, but there is soap. The TVs are small, old and probably 20 years old. There is a beautiful swimming pool area at the reception building but if you don't arrive and claim a chair before 9 AM you're out of luck because guests come down early to throw towels and books on chairs to reserve them for the day. When I checked out no one was interested in asking how my stay was, and didn't seem to care. I think you'd do better at a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Stay across the street at the Bonaventure Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re sorry that you were disappointed in our service. Vacation Village at Bonaventure is a timeshare resort and though we don’t offer personal amenities like coffee or shampoo, we do offer condominium-style accommodations that include room amenities like Jacuzzi tubs, living rooms, dining areas, and fully appointed kitchens for our guests. In addition to the pool located at the Registration Building, the resort features five other outdoor pools for guests to use. Since we’re a timeshare property we strive to be frugal with our owner’s maintenance fees by replacing items like televisions only when in need of repair. We’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations but we hope you will consider staying with us again so that we may have a future opportunity to prove that we are a great lodging value in Weston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaica
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here the night before we went on our cruise and loved it! It was a bit hard to find, but once we checked in, they gave us an upgraded room that was spacious and clean and had wonderful amenities!

I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugartooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort and writing a wonderful recommendation. It’s always nice to hear back from families about their vacations with us and we’re happy that you enjoyed our hospitality. We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Weston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.6 mi away
Vacation Village at Weston
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Fort Lauderdale Weston
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Property: Vacation Village at Bonaventure
Address: 16461 Racquet Club Rd, Weston, FL 33326
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vacation Village at Bonaventure 3.5*
Number of rooms: 653
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-appointed Vacation Village at Bonaventure features spacious one-and two-bedroom suites that are equipped with luxurious living and dining areas and are fully furnished for maximum comfort. Relax at one of the resort's pools and watch the palm trees sway in the tropical breezes. Nestled within the famous South Florida Spa, Tennis and Golf Community of Weston, this resort offers maximum privacy for guests but is within minutes of Fort Lauderdale's famed beaches and attractions. Sumptuous dining, world class shopping and excursions to the Everglades are located nearby for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacation Village at Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Hotel Weston
Vacation Village Bonaventure
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Weston
Vacation Village Weston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing