We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people, cozy accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice people, cozy accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Vacation Village was very nice. The service was great and people were extremely nice. I'm in my mid twenties and I was the youngest person there by about 40 years, but I can't complain because everything was great. It seems like this place is more for retired couples. The room was great! It was like staying in a cozy little apartment with a kitchen, living room, and small dining area. Even though I'm young and a long ways from retiring, I would stay there again :)

Room Tip: Find something with a kitchen and living room,it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkeley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We’re happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and our friendly hospitality during your time at Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort. The resort is a favorite destination among both our senior guests and families due to our tropical locale and close proximity to south Florida’s famous attractions. We’re glad that we could provide all the comforts of home for you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    140
    98
    67
    51
See reviews for
195
135
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Location - Approx. 25 min from FLL, 30 min to beach, located near 84 West and Bonaventure blvd. 10-15 min to Everglades, BB&T Center, and Sawgrass Mills Mall. It is quiet, safe, clean residential area. You will definitely want to rent a car.

Room - fully equipped kitchen with jacuzzi tub. One bedroom unit comes with huge balcony where family of 4 can easily dine. Inside the dining table seats 6 people, and the sofa can be pull-up bed for your kids.

Pool - the heron pool was always clean. There were some activities such as fitness class and bingo game. If you don't mind driving, the swimming pool at the registration building has the biggest one with nice waterfall.

Staff - Everyone made us feel home:-) Maintenance people here are very friendly and helpful. When one of our vehicle had a battery issue, they called for help to send the van to give a jumpstart!!! Thank you!

Amenities - weekly activities, massage, complimentary shuttle bus to the registration or publix for grocery shopping, coffee available every morning, Italian take-out, gift shop and gym.

Massage - I had a great chair massage service which was only $1 min at Weston pool. Initially requested for 15 min but extended for 30 min. When I told the therapist that I work on my laptop all day, he realized where I had pain. Didn't expect 30 min chair massage could give me such a relief on my shoulder, neck, and back!

Room Tip: The three buildings at the registration area seem to be newer and have easy access to front desk, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IssayDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your 5-star review! ! We’re happy that you enjoyed our amenities and appreciate that you took the time to voice your opinion. It’s our goal to provide excellent accommodations and services to all of our guests and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you at Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I think we got the reject building. When we questioned it we were told all the rooms were the same. Well then I guess the room online was false advertising cuz it looks nothing like what we were in. And 1500 sq feet was what we were to have. Yeah. Nothing close. Place was filthy. Had to go to store to get cleaner for everything which turned every cleaning rag black and our socks still turned black in a short time. Hairs everywhere. Old run down furniture that was broken. Closet door was broken. Pull out couch mattress was not even usable. Springs were coming thru mattress and that was all u felt. So we had six people for a full size bed and queen bed. If u wanted to go to the pool you had to drive, too far to walk. Usethe grill. Drive-and they were broken. Play pingpong. Drive. We were no where near the actual resort. And the unadvertised $25 mandatory fee for the use of the horribly slow internet and the room safe and resort activities. Really? I have my own internet and we were so far away from the resort we couldn't do any activities anyway. The shuttle ran every hour instead of on an asneeded basis so u were on the shuttle for 45 min just togo to resort. Screened in porch was just nasty. So many dead bugs in screen words can't explain how bad. Had to do an inventory report of everything in the room, which included the price of every thing we might" steal". Just to get ur parking pass u have to listen to a speechabout paying for a" complimentary" breakfast. Only ever saw 1 smoke detector in unit. Don't know where the steps were. And door had no latch so my two year old could run out whenever she wanted. Watched housekeeping give us" fresh" towels as she threw a pile in the hallway floor and then folded them and brought then in our room. Ants in our room. Rat bait outside. Dogs downstairs. Would never stay here again. Worst timeshare I have ever stayed in. Disgusting. Not a resort. Waste of my money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank asdf159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay. We understand that customer service is key to being successful in the travel industry and we clearly dropped the ball. We’re so sorry for the issues you had with our resort and have notified their management team so that your comments may be addressed. We appreciate that you took the time to share your review, as it will help us provide better service for our future guests. We regret that you now have such a negative impression of us and we hope that your next vacation experience in South Florida is more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

First where you check in was not near our room/building. You need to drive to it, it is not in walking distance. We were in Heron 2. The accommodations were ok. The place we were in was the a and b unit. It was clean and spacious. The place was a little dated and all of the lights did not work but for our week stay it was ok. The staff we encountered were friendly and always said hello. The pools were nice, the hot tub was also nice but was really hot. The area around the place was nice and it was safe. This is a silver resort and the rating is correct.
Now when we arrived we were asked to step over to set up an "owners update" we were told it was just an update and would take about 1 hr. Since we are new to the time share thing we decided after a long conversation with the lady that this would truly be an update and only ONE hr of our time. Well it was nothing of an update it was just a hard sell. The person we had was VERY RUDE and several times stated " I don't know how you got in here, how much did you pay to stay here, we spend a lot of money on marketing you to have you come to our place. Well they did not market us at all we chose to come here no one asked us to come to your resort. After an hour and a half we asked them to finish there sales pitch and they did not respect our repeated requests even after telling them that we had no intentions of buying since we just purchased in March. She then went and called over the higher up and we told her we would not be purchasing they finally took us out of the room to the exit door we were pressured again and comments like "your our first ones done". We explained once again that this was to be an update and only last 1 hour we had friends we were meeting based on that. So if you are an owner DO NOT go to the update talk. Just decline. Please make sure you read all of the reviews since there are quite a few that use words like "hard sell" "rude". The place is nice for a week stay but the hard sell is really bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a A unit if you just need a room for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank mdsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We’re sorry to hear that our resort did not meet all of your expectations and that you had difficulty finding the welcome reception area. Due to the size of the resort, we have seven buildings at this location, which are spread out across the property. This allows us to provide multiple amenities (pools, playground, etc.) to our vacationing guests. We apologize for the way you were treated by a member of our marketing staff and your comments have been forwarded to the department’s management so that that the lack of professionalism you experienced may be addressed. Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort offers great accommodations at affordable prices and we hope you give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I booked a week at Vacation Village at Bonaventure through a special website dedicated to selling leftover inventory. I already saw the mediocre ratings on Tripadvisor but did not think any of it since I only paid 350$ for the entire week.
When we arrived we got a unit (A+B) at Sandpiper after a lengthy check-in process. The first unit was not clean (greasy and sticky floor) and we got a different unit which was clean. Both units we have seen were outdated and the furnishings can be compared to very old motels. The pool next to Sandpiper was basically unusable. Surrounded by the parking lot and with a big warning sign that the water is not potable. Would you ever send your kids into a pool with recirculated non potable water?
After check-in the concierge booked us on an "owners update". Since we know the drill with timeshares I asked specifically if this is a sales pitch and the concierge answered with "No". I should have known better - this turned out to be a lie. Of course the "owners update" turned out to be a high pressure sales pitch and took much longer than promised. How desperate the timeshare company must be for fresh cash was proven by the fact that at our exit interview (after not buying anything from them) they were prepared to sell us their original offer at 75% off! The sales team was using high pressure methods and did not respect our repeated requests to finish the sales pitch. Instead they sent the supervisor over who tried to convince us to buy a timeshare while at the same time making fun and disrespectful comments about Diamond Resorts International and their CEO Mr. Cloobeck. Since we are already owners with DRI we were not amused with the unprofessional attitude of their sales team.
A little bit more about the resort: The different buildings are scattered out throughout Weston which is not very convenient since you have to drive to the registration building or some of the larger pools unless you are lucky enough to get a unit directly at the registration building. Weston itself is conveniently located to drive into the Everglades, shop at Sawgrass Mills Mall or go to Fort Lauderdale for some sightseeing, dining or relaxation at the beaches. If you can get a week at the price I paid and you can live with outdated accomodations then staying at Vacation Village at Bonaventure will be a good deal for you. However if you are used to stay at resorts with more then your basic motel furnishings you will be disappointed and should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The A unit is larger and has a balcony. The B units are much smaller and don't have a full kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for posting about your week at Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort. While you enjoyed our convenient location, we’re sorry that the overall decor and comfort of the resort failed to meet your expectations. We apologize for the experience you had with our sales staff and your comments have been forwarded to their management team where your concerns will be addressed. Your observations will help us to improve our performance and our property and we hope that we may have another opportunity to welcome you back to prove that we are an excellent choice for lodging while in Weston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived at Fort Lauderdale Airport about 8:30 at night and arranged for a shuttle service to take us there. Registration desk is in one of the many buildings and was difficult to find. Took about 20 minutes to register and then had to wait 45 minutes for shuttle to take us to the building. We stayed in Sandpiper I which I think may have been one of he older buildings. Our Unit was A and B and we were very happy with the unit. Nice balcony, had everything in the kitchen that you needed. Would suggest that each unit have an electric skillet. Unless you have a car it is difficult to get around. But we are walkers and managed to find the grocery store, drug stores, dunkin donuts etc. One thing that we had to get a ride to was a liquor store. Arranged a trip to Sawgrass Outlet Mall. Found a shuttle company called KSA Tours who are wonderful. I found the apartment clean, the pool was great, the staff friendly and helpful. The shuttle service was good if you wanted to go to restaurants in the three mile radius. We ate in most nights and during the day we played at the pool. We were luckey with the weather. I suspect that if the weather were bad and you had no car, there would not be too much to do. The golf course and the country club were very nice and within walking distance. The one think I didn't like was being pestered to go to the presentations. I have enough weeks and don't want any more! All in all I would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weblie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our complimentary shuttle service and access to various dining and shopping options within walking distance to the resort makes Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort a sought-after vacation spot. Thank you for sharing and we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just got back from a week at Vacation Village Bonaventure, stayed in Flamingo 2. Of the three resorts, Weston, Mizner and Bonaventure, Bonaventure is the least of the three. Just a pool and no hot tub, restaurant, etc. The rooms are okay. A bit dated but clear. Only A unit has balconies, so keep that in mind as the balcony was a lovely way to have morning coffee and an evening nightcap. You are able to use amenities at the other locations but they are too far to drive to. The pool at Weston is beautiful. The area itself, town of Weston is just beautiful. Mostly residential. I will say about Bonaventure, if you are a golfer and visit in the off season, it is right next door to the Bonaventure Country Club and the rates are extremely reasonable. The Country Club also has a very nice little bar area, nice to be able to walk to.
We will return to the area sometime in the future, but will definitely try to book into Mizner or Weston next time.

Room Tip: B units do not have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort. We’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations during your stay but are thankful that you enjoyed our beautiful locale. As mentioned in your review, guests are welcome to enjoy all the amenities of our two other Weston properties. However Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort features six pools and a hot tub of it’s own. The resort also offers complimentary shuttle service to local restaurants, shops, as well as our Weston properties. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.6 mi away
Vacation Village at Weston
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Fort Lauderdale Weston
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Property: Vacation Village at Bonaventure
Address: 16461 Racquet Club Rd, Weston, FL 33326
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vacation Village at Bonaventure 3.5*
Number of rooms: 653
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-appointed Vacation Village at Bonaventure features spacious one-and two-bedroom suites that are equipped with luxurious living and dining areas and are fully furnished for maximum comfort. Relax at one of the resort's pools and watch the palm trees sway in the tropical breezes. Nestled within the famous South Florida Spa, Tennis and Golf Community of Weston, this resort offers maximum privacy for guests but is within minutes of Fort Lauderdale's famed beaches and attractions. Sumptuous dining, world class shopping and excursions to the Everglades are located nearby for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacation Village at Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Hotel Weston
Vacation Village Bonaventure
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Weston
Vacation Village Weston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing