We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austere room in austere location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Weston is not too far from the beaches along Highway 1 and also Alligator Alley across to Naples but I do not see the point in staying there as it is a soulless bedroom community and you have to drive to find a restaurant in the many small, characterless malls. I think better to stay at one of the beaches where there are restaurants to hand and you can have a pleasant walk after dinner.

Bonaventure is a very large resort, truly a village as reception desk has about 10 check in staff and it is a drive to each of the pairs of individual blocks which all have their own pools.

We stayed in one of the Heron buildings.

The Good -
Good sized bedroom with comfortable bed and television.
Pleasant pool area with hot tub.

The Bad -
Depressing hospital like corridor.
Lounge/kitchen area gloomy as no windows.
No washing up bowl and the rubber plug would not stay in.
No balcony and room overlooked car park.
Wi-fi available at a charge of $6 an hour.
A few tiny ants here and there in the room.
Staff member in situ at ground floor elevator to try to sell you timeshare.
Timeshare sales pitch phone call to room.

The Ugly -
Room only cleaned on 4th day after arrival, any extra cleaning $25 per day.
If not checked out by 10am $75 charge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZebraLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry that our resort or location did not meet all of your expectations. The well-appointed Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort features spacious one and two bedroom suites that are equipped with living and dining areas full furnished for maximum comfort. Guests can relax at one of the resort’s six pools or explore the famous South Florida’s Spa, Tennis and Golf Community of Weston. Travelers from all over the world choose this area for it’s sumptuous dining, world-class shopping and the excursions to natural wonders such as the beautiful Everglades. We hope that one day you return and allow us another opportunity to prove that our resort and Weston are a great destination for a vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Vacation Village at Bonaventure
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 461 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

When we arrived for check-in, person at registration asked if I was married. I thought that was odd. He was trying to get us to attend the complimentary breakfast and sales presentation. Not interested! It was not easy to find our building - Sandpiper 1 - because it was about a mile from check-in bldg. The tiny map that we were given was nearly impossible to read. Thank goodness for GPS! Covered parking was at a premium, but we never had trouble finding a spot in the main parking lot. The rooms were ok. Kitchen utensils were sparse. Had trouble with the room keys (plastic key card) during the entire trip. They brought us new ones, but still difficult to get them to work at times. All in all, not bad, but nothing special. Not nearly as nice as the Vacation Village at Parkway in the Orlando area. Did not use the pool, but hot tub was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vallvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post about your visit to Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort. We’re sorry to read about the issues you had during your stay. Your thoughtful comments have been forwarded to the resort’s General Manager for review. Our goal is to provide an outstanding experience for every guest that chooses to stay with us and we hope you’ll give us another chance to exceed your expectations again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The negatives started at check in with assurances that the "complimentary" breakfast and review of the resort was very low key and brief. Despite our misgivings, we accepted. We were awarded a "$100" food certificate and then informed that we had to pay a "$20 deposit" for the complimentary breakfast. We needed to pick up a "breakfast voucher" at a separate location the next morning, but the pick up was actually meeting with a sales person who drove us to the country club breakfast. The buffet was cold and followed by a pitch by the sales person who kept telling us how important all of her clients were to her. A tour of Weston and a model unit were interesting; but then we returned to the home base for the "sale". A 30 minute presentation by our sales rep ensued despite our comments that we already owned three timeshares. When we told her that we weren't interested, she responded with "what have I done wrong?" We assured her "nothing" but then came the "boss" who promptly chided the sales rep in our presence because she didn't have a blank piece of paper handy for him to write his "offer" on. She was visibly (and appropriately) annoyed. Once we had told her we weren't interested, she looked at us like we were something she pulled out of her ear and we concluded that we were no longer on her "friends" list. The "boss" started in with his work story and how he had been let go by Wyndham unfairly (presumably to convince us that we should stand up to corporate America and buy one of his units). He gave us a "special" price that was about two thirds of the original price from the sales rep. He was one of the more obnoxious people we have ever met. Fortunately, he was needed elsewhere and quickly lost interest in us and left after 15 minutes. By this time we were really getting annoyed and still wanted our, now $80 gift certificate, and the sales rep took us to still another building for picking up the certificate. Almost home? Not quite, because we had to talk to ANOTHER "corporate" person who asked us what we thought of the process (and we did tell him) and proceeded to offer us still another price that was about 25% of the original price. After convincing him that we were serious about not wanting to buy, we were shown to ANOTHER person who somewhat reluctantly gave up the $80 certificate. Total time? Four and one half hours! And there were plenty of people still undergoing the process when we left.

We've been to many sales pitches for timeshares, but this was far and away the worst. In retrospect, we should have walked out after the original sales rep decided we were dirtbags for not buying; but we were determined that we were going to at least get what they promised. The whole experience soured our perception of the resort, which was ok although not great. We have spent four other weeks in timeshares on our two month winter vacation and this was without a doubt our least attractive and most disappointing experience.

If you ever go to this resort, DON'T do the timeshare presentation.

Oh yes, and like others on this site, we were turned off by having to pay $50 a week for wi-fi (which we did) and $10 to use the safe (which we didn't). Just a couple more indications of the low class organization.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We sincerely appreciate your detailed review of your stay with us. We’d like to apologize if the sales team detracted from your vacation experience in any way. We have passed along your comments to the sales manager for their review. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and this is certainly not the way that we’d like to be remembered. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Be careful where you stay! Stay out of the old units and remember that a "partial kitchen" is nothing more than a hotplate with attitude. You want utensils with that? Guess again.
Unit B (Heron Towers I) dark and gloomy appearance, outdated and inadequate amenities, and questionable maintenance practices makes me wonder if Vacation Village at Bonaventure is truly worthy of its RCI Silver Crown Resort Award status. It wasn’t my intention to spend my holiday in a budget motel, yet that’s what I feel I got.
To be fair, the unit was clean and the property appeared to have been freshly painted. Housekeeping was excellent and there were plenty of towels. Resort property and pool area were also well maintained.

Room Tip: Unit A is a two-bedroom unit Unit B is a one-bedroom unit Studios are the really old and ugly B un...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpongeBobBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

We are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. As advertised, our B unit partial kitchens consist of a hotplate, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, refrigerator, icemaker, dinnerware and utensils. Our A units feature the same kitchen amenities but includes a range top and dishwasher. Both unit styles also feature living and dining room areas. Though our amenities were not what you expected, we are happy that you found our resort clean and properly maintained. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review of our resort and we hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again the next time you visit Weston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Outward appearance & lobby on arrival were great with wonderful reception staff, however the sales counter should be avoided at all costs - very pushy, misleading & confusing! On arrival in our room, we discovered the A/C wasn't working & wouldn't because some maintenance worker had shut off the water line instead of repairing it. We then had to change rooms & the maint. guy helped.
Both rooms had 17" (I think) color TV - didn't know they were made so small. There were several channels out of commission which we reported but were never fixed in the whole week.
Beds were comfortable but the pillows should have been thrown out years ago.
The mid-week cleaning left much to be desired; tub not cleaned, no towels replaced, etc.
Pool & outside very clean & neat. Concierge lady very helpful for tour of the Keys.
Expected much better.
No attempt made to compensate for the inconvenience & poor quality.

Room Tip: Room allocation depends on your own timeshare level
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

We are so sorry for the problems you experienced while staying at our resort. Our goal is to provide an outstanding vacation for every guest that chooses to stay with us. In the case of your visit, it appears that we had a bit of a lapse in our service. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments and we hope that we will have another opportunity to host you again in the future so that we may have the opportunity to deliver the service that represents the cleanest and friendliest resort in the Fort Lauderdale area..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My room was very nice. No complaints at all. Easy check in and out. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VICTIMUnitedSates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you taking the time to share. We’re happy that we could provide you with a great vacation experience and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in Weston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

First off we bought his trip off urban delight and no where on the advertisement did it say we'd have to go to a two hour tour of the timeshares for 79 dollars. Even if we had too 79 dollars for 5 days is worth it anyways. We arrived tired to the "welcome center" which was in a totally opposite direction and it is necessary in order to get a one voucher for stay. After you view the tour you get your remaining vouchers for the rest of your stay! So that's a good way to make sure you don't flake oh on them. Then we drove tirelessly to our hotel in which we needed to check in at a very nice place. Once we got our room keys after they charged us 14 a day extra for taxes in fees, thinking this 79 dollars was too good to be true, we drove yet again to another place to stay! The property is nice and I thought we'd have a nice room... Wrong!!! The place was totally old w small tube TVs and furniture all chipped. We could've dealt with that but the problem was this room looked nothing like the pics on urban delight!!! Went to se the bathroom it was very clean. No hair anywhere and then sat on the bed and it squeaked!!! And it was hard too! I called front desk to hav them tell me to call the "welcome center" and for the welcome center to tell me to call the place where I paid via telephone. I called them to only get reroute to the hotel again!! They said they could not change my room but they can change my bed. Really? Your going to move a whole bed! The poor maintenance man... He had to change the bed. We left and ran errands at that time. I waited for a return phone call from Diane from the holiday break who advertised the resort on urban delight about changing rooms and by midnight, actually this am, she still hasnt called back. I wake up to a loud blasting tv and furniture moving because the adjoining door to the other room to where someone else is staying sounds like a fake wall! I knock on the door thinking it's a cleaning crew but it's a elderly couple who can't hear hardly at all! So we are up now and have the tour scheduled for 10 am I will continue the story after that. So far we are tired and sleeping on a hard bed next to people who could've just stayed in our room with us with all the noise we hear from the paper walls. Oh and hey have a list of things that if they come up missing that you have to pay for like we want to steal dollar general forks and spoons I which they charge 5 dollars for each! Wow!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nurseandtheofficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.6 mi away
Vacation Village at Weston
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Weston
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Fort Lauderdale Weston
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sunrise Sawgrass Mills
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Address: 16461 Racquet Club Rd, Weston, FL 33326
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range: $96 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vacation Village at Bonaventure 3*
Number of rooms: 653
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-appointed Vacation Village at Bonaventure features spacious one-and two-bedroom suites that are equipped with luxurious living and dining areas and are fully furnished for maximum comfort. Relax at one of the resort's pools and watch the palm trees sway in the tropical breezes. Nestled within the famous South Florida Spa, Tennis and Golf Community of Weston, this resort offers maximum privacy for guests but is within minutes of Fort Lauderdale's famed beaches and attractions. Sumptuous dining, world class shopping and excursions to the Everglades are located nearby for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacation Village at Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Hotel Weston
Vacation Village Bonaventure
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Weston
Vacation Village Weston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing