We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A living art gallery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pantavi Hosteria & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Tumbabiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A living art gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Oh it was so nice to be back at Hosteria Pantavi, this time to celebrate New Year with friends. It is the perfect place to get away of it all and relax: the setting in the dry valley, the gardens and flowers, but most of all the rooms and suites that come alive with all the magical paintings of the owner Camilo Andrade. Enjoy the good massages of the spa, the nice food in the cozy restaurant, drinks and live music in the bar, the wonderful and attentive staff,… If you have your own car you can do a daytrip to the nature reserve El Angel (do the short walk at the laguna Voladero!).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This place should be better known. It's a really beautiful friendly environmentally friendly place to stay which is spotlessly clean and professionally run but had the personal and friendly touch. An example of the latter is how the manager, Camillo, helps you plan exactly the activities you'd like to do (and he speaks about 9 languages so he can probably do this where ever you come from) and has clearly given a lot of thought to his guests' enjoyment - there are several lovely sitting areas, a games room, DVDs to borrow and while the outdoor pool isn't heated there is an outdoor jacuzzi which is. The prices are very reasonable and the food excellent. No price lists are displayed (for drinks, food, laundry etc) which might be something for Camillo to think about, but they are low (definitely the lowest hotel prices for beer and food that we have have experienced here - about $1.50 for a bowl of delicious soup or a large beer; $7.50 for a well-cooked main). Similarly Camillo doesn't put out leaflets or a written folder of information about walks and activities but he is always available to speak to and provide the information you need. The other staff are also really friendly. We feel really lucky that we found this place and had a excellent 3 days/ 4 nights there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsbk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hosteria Pantavi is a little off the beaten track and found among the sugarcane plantations of Tumbabiro. It's location was not a problem for us as we were traveling as part of a group tour (Exodus). This is a great base for trips to Otavalo, Ibarra, El Angel, Cotacachi - any destination in Ecuador's northern Andes. There is also a mineral hot spring not far away... it is local and not fancy, but the waters are hot and relaxing after a long hike.

Pantavi offered good sized rooms, in-room safes, comfortable beds, modern bathrooms (a little small), the water pressure is not the best. Bathrooms share a skylight and voices travel from one room to another. In terms of food, I found it tasty but didn't enjoy the desserts. The service was a little show, but who's in a rush? The prices for food were about $15pp dinner. Breakfast was a buffet of eggs, bread, cheese, fruit, coffee and juice. The dining room was beautiful and full of original art.

Loved this scenic and peaceful location with the mountains in the background, birdsong to wake you, soaring ceilings, modern amenities, lush gardens, and original art everywhere. Pantavi is built on the ruins of old San Clemente hacienda - a cotton plantation. My only regret is that we had such a full schedule that I didn't have time to just dream away an afternoon under the trees or on the verandah. Watch for the hummingbirds - they were right outside me door (room 8). There is a pool - which is a little cool and not sparkling clean.

Location 4 - Absolutely gorgeous but not close to other things
Service 4 - Always helpful and smiling, but a little slow and forgetful
Food 4 - Good and tasty. No immediate choice in the area ... you must eat here
Comfort 5 - Rooms are modern and have extra blankets for cool nights, the grounds are beautiful and so are the views

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Pantavi is a fantastic place to stay for a couple of nights while traveling to the northern highlands of Ecuador. It is close to Otavalo, Ibarra and to the Chota Valley. A great place to relax after visiting the main touristic sites of the region or a long hike.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Really delightful hacienda run by local artist. Beautiful bar and restaurant areas all decorated with art either by the owner or from his collection. Good size rooms and bathrooms. Evening set meals were tasty.

Room Tip: The only annoying thing about Ecuador is that a so-called double room usually has a single bed and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_and_Jane_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited Pantavi as part of a group tour of Ecuador. The hosteria has been created from an old hacienda by Ecuadorian artist Camilo Andrade and his Dutch wife Marjolein. It is filled with Camilo's artwork (he'll give a really interesting talk about his art and wall murals if you ask) and has interesting natural surroundings, the gardens (I think largely the work of his wife) are an artwork of interesting form in themselves. All creature comforts are catered for in a very friendly relaxed environment that simply inspires. The food is very good and extremely reasonably priced ...and vegetarians are well catered for! Staff are friendly and easy going but efficient as well. The bar area is wonderfully designed, again with lots of art work, interesting furniture and a lovely open fire area. Sometimes there are exhibitions of other artists at Pantavi. We were very priviledged to stay in the cottage at the bottom of the garden which has its own patio area, kitchen and sitting area, bedroom, external linked passageway with hammock to another room with jacuzzi! Quite an amazing experience. Like other travellers we used it as a base from which to travel to the El Angel Nature Reserve and paramo. Ecuador was an extremely beautiful country and staying at Pantavi was a real highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: Staying at the cottage is special!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This a great place to be with family and friends, with chuldren or not. The place itself offers comfort and activities combined to an extremely pleasant atmosphere: art in different forms themes and techniques, great service, very good and plenty of food. Thermal waters, horses, spa treatments, etc., here or very near by.

Deffinitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiana_Sus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumbabiro
2.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
8.9 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
19.6 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ibarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
12.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantavi Hosteria & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantavi Hosteria & Spa

Property: Pantavi Hosteria & Spa
Address: Km. 7 en la via Salinas, Tumbabiro 171245, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Tumbabiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tumbabiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pantavi Hosteria & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hosteria Pantavi is a gorgeous and charming place with a cozy atmosphere, decorated with original art that matches the colorful environment. We offer fifteen comfortable and fresh rooms with private bathroom surrounded by lush gardens. Additionally we have a swimming pool, restaurant, a cozy and artful bar and a convention & game room. It is the ideal place for families and small groups who are looking for the perfect retreat to enjoy Northern Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pantavi Hosteria & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing