We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilton in name only.. for overnight stays only” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in West Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hilton in name only.. for overnight stays only”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This was my first experience of staying at a Doubletree so perhaps I had unrealistic expectations - however the standard of this hotel is way below even the most basic Hilton property. For over $200 night I expected more than a tired 2 star motel on the freeway with almost no amenities. The hotel is between an office park on one side and a freeway on the other and at night is spooky with nowhere to go or sit. The interior is depressing with gloomy hallways a drab and an open lobby area with poor lighting that felt unclean and unsafe. To be fair the room itself while basic was comfortable enough and clean but once agin furnishings felt drab and old. Cabs are nowhere to be seen and I had to wait a very long tome until one was called. Staff were friendly enough but to be fair had no facilities to offer and were quite aggressive in insisting I fill out a survey and award a score of 10.I left as soon as I could and for only $20 more stayed at the oceanfront Hilton Singer Resort 20 minutes away which was more like the Hiltons I have been accustomed to. I can understand that a business person would stay at this hotel overnight but I am amazed that anybody would chose to stay at this hotel for a longer Florida beach holiday.

Room Tip: Stay away from highway facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umgeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00jayp00, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Umgeni,

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Your expectations were definitely not unrealistic, a clean, safe, comfortable Hotel is what you should expect from the DoubleTree brand. I only wish the beach was closer than 3.5 miles and we had more amenities to offer you in addition to our pool and hot tub, fitness center and restaurant/lounge. It is for this reason that we do provide complimentary shuttle service to City Place, a massive outdoor area packed with shopping, restaurants, entertainment and nightlife. It doesn’t seem you were notified about this as I am sure you would have enjoyed it. From your comments, it sounds like the Front Desk staff was too busy trying to solicit positive survey scores instead of finding out the guest’s needs and accommodating them which would make solicitation unnecessary altogether and for that I apologize. I can assure you I will be speaking to them immediately. We do take our guests comments seriously and will keep your suggestions in mind when we plan our next upgrade projects. We greatly appreciate it. I am glad to hear that while you did not enjoy the décor of the rooms, you did find them clean and comfortable. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    267
    92
    70
    41
See reviews for
193
165
56
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Hotel is located close to the airport and to downtown for those there on business. It is your average Doubletree with the cookie at check-in and clean, comfortable rooms. The buffet breakfast was good and there was plenty. The parking was well lit and safe. Not sure what the other reviews were talking about. My room was on the side that faced the office park so I did not hear any highway noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the office park are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bulldog1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

As soon as my fiance and I got there we were greeted with exceptional customer service and the best chocolate chip cookie you'll ever eat. When we got to the room as layed on the bed... Heaven! One of the managers Harland was very nice & helpful. We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ness2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I wanted a weekend alone with each other and chose the Doulbletree Hotel in West Palm Beach. We had a great time. The service was exceptional starting from the check-in desk to our room. The room was very comfortable and cozy like home. The staff was very friendly...we were welcomed with warm delicious cookies. Emmanuel has a great personality, he met us with a warm smile. Gurda checked us in with smile also. Sharon was our host in the dining room each morning and oh what a lovely personality she has. Very friendly and ready to assist us while we ate that delicious buffet breakfast. We had a great weekend and would recommend this hotel to our friends and families anytime. The location was great, close to City Place where we were able to go shopping, transported by the shuttle bus. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00jayp00, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Elizabeth D,

You are too kind! I think I can speak for all of us here when I say thank You for staying with us, and it was our pleasure having you. I will let the mentioned employees know they need to read this one for themselves!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

As a consultant, I do an extensive amount of work related traveling. When I called from the airport, the shuttle arrived in less than 10 mins. That was a pleasant surprise since I have stayed in many hotels that are close to the airport and I have had my share of transportation related issues. Also, the shuttle driver was hilarious...which really helped me unwind after a 6 hour flight. When I arrived to the hotel everyone was welcoming, polite, and professional. The room was very clean and I was greeted everytime I walked through lobby. My stay was excellent. I definitely plan to stay here again the next time I have to come to West Palm Beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxwell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00jayp00, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Maxwell J,

It makes me very proud to hear you were treated so well at our property! Thank you for taking the time to point this out and give credit to the employees who made your stay more enjoyable. I will be sure to pass the message along. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

My family and I stayed here recently. Our entire stay was great from beginning to end. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The hotel itself was very clean and well-kept. We have done alot of traveling throughout the years and you can really tell when the management really cares about the property and guests.

P.S.- Our kids absolutely LOVED the cookies.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00jayp00, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful survey! This is easily becoming my favorite part of the day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I must say the service was awesome. The staff was very accomodating.. The room was average no major bells or whistles. The wall air conditioner unit was ridculously noisy. Our room was facing interstate 95....you could hear the big semi trucks passing by. If you need complete quite while sleeping...this place is not for you. However, I was able to sleep over the noise.
On another note, I can't honestly say I would stay at a Hilton chain hotel again. I was very upset because I discovered that my Hiltons reward card had been cancelled. I called the 1800 number and was told the card was cancelled due to inactivity. I travel quite frequently and always stay at a hilton chain hotel. I had just stayed in a hilton in San Franciso just two months proir to this trip. They had no record of any of my trips within the last few years.I have been a member since 2007 and have accumulated thousands of points and have recieved free hotel stays, breakfasts through the years. The lady suggested that I call after every trip and make sure I am given points for staying at one of their hotels. Also, to make sure I actually present the rewards card each time. I do not have time to babysit Hilton to make sure they have given me points. Hilton...should have a universal system that automatically gives points regardless of whether you present the card or not. I was told that all of my points have been taken and they can only give me back 2500 points back and if I travel within the next 30 days they will give me another 3500. Give me a break...if you aren't going to have the proper technique to keep up with the times then don't offer reward programs. If you can get rewards then there really is no point in me staying at your hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldengoddess15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00jayp00, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Goldengoddess15,

Thank you for the kind words, I will be sure to post this for the staff to see that their dedication to customer service pays off!

Regarding your subsequent comments, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay at our hotel. We are currently in the process of changing out the older AC units and replacing them with new ones that are much more conducive of a good night’s sleep. Most of the old ones have been replaced already so thank you for letting us know we missed one. Also, regarding your Hilton Honors account, I know that after 1 year of inactivity your account will be deactivated. However, I have made a few calls for you and if you can call 1-800-446-6677 (Hilton Honors Support) and provide your account # and the name of the hotel you stayed at in San Francesco two months ago along with the arrival or departure date, they can reactivate your account and get you your points back as long as there was not 12 months between that stay and the previous stay. If there is anything else o can do to help please call the hotel and let me know, I would be more than happy to fight for you!

Regards,
Jason Peoples
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Palm Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton West Palm Beach Central
1.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Palm Beach Airport
Hilton Garden Inn West Palm Beac...
#4 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn West Palm Beach Central Airport
Hampton Inn West Palm Beach Cent...
#2 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport
Address: 1808 S. Australian Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in West Palm Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Palm Beach
#12 Business Hotel in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel West Palm Beach - Airport, centrally located just off of I-95 and Okeechobee Blvd. In West Palm Beach, is less than a mile from Palm Beach International Airport (PBI) and fabulous City Place, one of south Florida's most popular downtown destinations. For our guests' convenience, our full-service West Palm Beach, Florida hotel offers shuttle service to and from the Airport, as well as the many dining and entertainment venues of City Place.The Doubletree West Palm Beach, FL hotel offers understated elegance and tastefully-appointed guest rooms and suites that boast a long list of guest amenities, generous work surfaces, luxurious Sweet Dreams Beds, and complimentary wireless high-speed internet access. Order freshly prepared meals in-room or enjoy casual dining at Gecko's Restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Don't miss happy hour at Gecko's Lounge, or stop by for a nightcap after catching a movie or concert. Our airport hotel in West Palm Beach offers amenities like a heated outdoor pool in a lush, private courtyard and a well-equipped Fitness Center. Jogging paths, lakes and parks are all nearby.For the business traveler, our hotel in West Palm Beach, Florida provides a perfect Palm Beach County location surrounded by corporate campuses and Fortune 500 companies as well as easy access to Tri-Rail and all major arteries connecting south Florida metro areas. Stay connected with complimentary HSIA availability throughout the hotel and productive with our Business Center services. For groups, seminars, business or social functions, the Doubletree West Palm Beach Airport Hotel has modern ballroom and boardroom space that is perfect for your small meeting requirements. Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree West Palm Beach
West Palm Beach Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing