We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mattress was lumpy and too soft”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in West Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
FL
1 review
“The mattress was lumpy and too soft”
Reviewed April 8, 2010

The hotel is behind Best Buy. Nice lobby and the room was very nice. But... we could not sleep on the lumpy mattress. We even put it on the floor to see if that would resolve the problem with the support but to no avail. We turned the mattress over and sleep( not really slept) on the box spring.The pillows were horrible. Tried to sleep on the couch but it wasn't a pull-out and there no extra lines anyway. All night you hear toilets flushing. There were babies crying next door.
We were exhausted so didn't bother to call the front desk at 1:30am. The next morning we did speak to them and they were very gracious and offered to either send a refund or offered us a complimentary night. We decided to try again at another time hoping this room was just a fluke based on the great reviews of others. We will write another review after the second chance. The rooms are big and set up well.I didn't like the fuzzy TV in the bedroom and never used the kitchen area at all. Maybe this is good if you really need a suite but for someone who just wants a good nights sleep, it was horrible.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    374
    71
    29
    19
See reviews for
536
312
72
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Nice, clean, recently renovated spacious suites. Although near highway with good sound insulation. Free, safe parking. 10 minute drive from the airport, 10 minute drive from Palm Beach center. Close to the gas station and shopping mall. Free wired and wireless internet, two flat-screen TVs.
Kitchen with granite counter tops, stainless steel top range, microwave and fridge -no oven
Spacious bathroom with granite tops.
We were renting a car and stayed twice within the same week. First stay was for three nights and second for only one night before leaving for the airport.

The only gripe would be that for the first three days breakfast was not as expected. Servers were not quick to replenish the food. We had to ask for juice, pastry. There was no cheese or ham/salami. On our second stay this improved a lot maybe because of the upcoming spring break. We noticed sausages, waffle machine and replenishing done much faster then on our first stay. It seems that the management is listening and fixing the issues.

Would recommend and come back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ortaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Spent five nights on a trip to see the Cardinals Spring Training and some beach time. The main reason I stayed here was that I could get two suites per night for less than $200 total. With a 19 year old and a 17 year old, my wife and I wanted some space and so did the kids.

Here's the good:

1) Rooms are big, clean and new
2) Parking is free
3) Really close to airport (couple of miles)
4) Staff is very friendly in a not so friendly town.

Here's the so-so:
1) Free breakfast was just okay. Embassy Suites is generally much better.
2) Location is marginal. It's a few miles from City Place shopping and restaurants which is a cool place. And about 10 miles from a couple of good beaches. But the immediate area around the hotel doesn't have much. About 20 minutes to Roger Dean Stadium.

Here's the bad:
1) The pool is literally in front of the hotel and sits right on the parking lot. And it's tiny.
2) Noise. The highway is nearby and that creates considerable noise. Plus the hotel had probably 50 to 100 teenage girls for a Lacrosse tournament. They were really noisy at times.

Overall, if I had to do it over again I would have stayed at the Embassy Suites on PGA Blvd. or buck up for a condo on the beach (Juno Beach or Singer Island). These are much nicer areas and closer to shopping, restaurants, beaches and the ballpark. But if you want nice size rooms, good value, nice staff and a proximity close to the airport, this place is for you. Just bring a small fan or noise machine to drown out the highway, constant toilet flushes and loud kids.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Cardinalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonMA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We loved our stay at Hawthorn. I picked it almost soley based on the fact that it is #1 on the trip advisor reviews and isn't out of our price range (as the #1 hotels usually are!)

The room was great- we traveled with our 17 month old toddler so we were worried about her sleeping in the same room with us. The suite worked out great. I guess they do have 1 and 2 bdrm suites available, but they only had the 1 bdrm when we were going. So you walk in and you have the main room- a mini kitchen (stovetop, microwave, full sized fridge/freezer, sink, dishwasher, all pots and pans, glasses, silverware, etc), a sofa, a sofachair, a coffee table, a large desk, and a tv. I thought there was just way too much furniture in the small rooms! Plus, then they kindly brought up a FULL SIZED crib. It was just way too big for the room. We ended up actually stacking furniture in the corner becuase there was just no way to walk around once we added a crib in there. I asked if they could remove some furniture but the maintenence guy was not sure about that so we just made do. The crib was a beautiful real wood full size. All we really needed was a pack n play probably, but it was nice to have the space I suppose for her.

Once you get past the first room there is a 10ft hallway that has your bathroom off it (complete with vanity table) and the bedroom (no door) with king bed, and tons more furniture. Again, they even had an upholstered bench on the foot of the bed which only left about 18" between it and the large full size dresser (with nice deep drawers!)

The place was nearly at capacity when we were there but we never really noticed it- the service was excellent and the girls at the front desk always strived to make our stay memorable.

Breakfast was great- we loved the food! They alternated with pancakes, waffle maker, and french toast (in addition to sausage, eggs, cereal, muffins, bagels, fruit, etc) It was great with our toddler- we got to fill up her sippy cup with whole milk and even brought along one for the road to have with her dinner that night while we were out and about. We also grabbed some boxes of cereal for her to munch on throughout the day, so it was a real money saver and sanity saver for us!

The pool area was ok. The pool was much smaller than I'd imagined it to be from the website. The area gets NO SUN! It is in front of the building so you actually have to cross the driveway of the hotel to get to it... yuck! It does overlook the man-made lake with lots of birds at it- so you do feel relaxed once you trek over in your suit. The water was nice and warm in the pool and although it was small it was well landscaped and clean with nice furniture.

One thing I really didn't like was the turbo flush toilets! If you've stayed there you know what I mean!! You barely touch the handle and the thing catapults the water out to mars it seems! The bad thing about this is from about 5am on there was a flush it seemed every 5 minutes! I swear we musta been able to hear everyone within a 5 room radius of us doing their morning flushes. It was kinda silly the first few times, but by the end of the week I was over it! It was nothing to wake us up, but once I was up (to do my own turbo flush and check on the baby) it was hard to get back to sleep with all the noises. That beind said, I never once heard the guests around us through the walls, and I imagine they were noisy since it was an entire lacrosse team there for spring break training!

All in all, this hotel was surely great. We paid $169/noc plus $19 for the 4th night which beat the $135/noc with the AAA discount. The rooms have everything you could need. The location is GREAT- right off the highway. Our navigation actually couldn't find it, but you can spot it right off 95 (exit 71 I believe). I'd recommend this hotel to anyone with young children who would like a suite in a nice location within WPB. We also daytripped to Miami and the Everglades and it was less than an hours drive.

Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Before we even came to West Palm Beach, the hotel staff was happy to answer our questions over the phone about every little worry or need that we might have. I am sure I was annoying with all my questions, but the staff was gracious, friendly, and helpful.

The rooms were just right for two people. We stayed in a king room that was handicap accessible (we aren't handicapped) so we didn't have a tub, but the shower was enormous. The bed was really comfy with lots of pillows, and there were plenty of extra blankets in the dresser. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and pans, and even had an icemaker in the freezer (don't forget to turn it on when you first get there!)

We went grocery shopping our first day, and the shuttle driver volunteered to pick us up when we were done. The shuttle drivers were all very friendly and were willing to take us anywhere we wanted to go within five miles of the hotel, which was ANYWHERE. City Place, the beach, Worth Avenue, the racetrack, the airport, Clemantis Street... all within five miles. We never had trouble getting a shuttle ride TO our destinations, but we had a couple of issues getting back. Twice the hotel volunteered to pay for a cab ride home when the shuttle wasn't able to show up in a timely fashion. It was a little bump compared to all of the great service we received. And considering we didn't need to pay for a rental car, we were able to spend more money on actual vacationing, so it was great.

The hot breakfast buffet was great. Much better than your usual continental breakfast. There also was coffee/tea available all day in the lobby. The lobby was beautiful, and we even hung out there one night to watch a basketball game on the big flat screen TV with another couple we traveled with.

The swimming pool area was small, but very nice. I don't think the builder thought of the location of the sun when designing the patio, but it was clean and nicely landscaped.

The location of the hotel was central to everywhere, and since I'm a big walker, it was within walking distance to everything (my companions might've disagreed with that...) It was about three miles to City Place, and four miles to the beach. And it was a beautiful walk. I love Florida.

Thanks for a wonderful vacation, Hawthorn Suites! We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaMichelle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We loved this hotel...It is accessible to everywhere in West Palm, and priced right. No room service, but a nice free breakfast buffet is served daily.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcdinergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at for the price. It is located right next to I95, but we didn't hear it at all when we were in our room. The room was very nice, very comfortable. We had a well-stocked kitchenette that we didn't use that much, but it made it convenient to have it. We brought back leftovers and kept them in the fridge, and re-heated them in the microwave. There was lots of room to move around, almost like a small apartment. The ONLY thing I didn't like about it was the chintzy toilet seat. Everything else about it is an absolute 2 thumbs up, and we'd definitely go back, again and again. There was even a group of young men, possibly a stag party, just a couple of doors down, but the sound proofing in the building is so good, we didn't hear them partying at all. Also, it really doesn't have a restaurant (even though I checked it), but it does have an absolutely top rate complimentary breakfast. Hot scrambled eggs, pancakes or French toast, bacon and/or sausage patties, home fries, toast, bagels, muffins, yogurt, fruit, fruit juice, coffee, tea, so many things to list!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grifflover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Palm Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#2 of 34 in West Palm Beach
718 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn West Palm Beach Central Airport
Hampton Inn West Palm Beach Cent...
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
612 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton West Palm Beach Central
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West ...
#9 of 34 in West Palm Beach
952 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palm Beach Lakes Inn
BEST WESTERN Palm Beach Lakes In...
#10 of 34 in West Palm Beach
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach
Address: 301 Lamberton Dr, West Palm Beach, FL 33401-4851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New All Suite hotel with very convenient location to businesses and local attractions, only 2.3 Miles from Palm Beach International airport and steps from the new Palm Beach Outlets. Whether you're embarking on a temporary assignment, or in need of a place to stay when relocating to West Palm Beach, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham is the perfect hotel. Featuring one and two bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens with all utensils and a well lit work area with free WiFi and a 31" flat panel TV.We are serving free of charge a full hot breakfast daily. We invite you to come down to our Social Hour, three times a week in our Lobby, for a complimentary glass of wine, beer or soft drink together with selected snacks.Sign up for our Wyndham Rewards Program and benefit from Wyndham Hotels large network of participating point-redemption companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham West Palm Beach Hotel West Palm Beach
West Palm Hawthorn Suites
West Palm Beach Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing