We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All is Well that Ends Well”
Review of Leila Restaurant

Leila Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Leila Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 670 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Datura
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“All is Well that Ends Well”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Leila is conveniently located with nice outdoor seating and very comfortable nouveau Mediterranean interior. The buddha sound sets the mood for what would promise to be a nice dining experience.
Our experience however did not start off so well although looked promising when we walked in. However when manager/owner (Akram) stepped up the tables were turned. My wife and I enjoyed the mezze selection we ordered and the Sheesh Tawook was well marinated and fork tender. We definitely took a liking to the abundance of grilled vegetables which adorned the entree dishes. All in all a good experience, I would recommend this establishment and would certainly return for another visit ...
A suggestion I would make to readers of this review who are Halloumi lovers ... ask what type of Halloumi is available on the day your visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    37
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Middle Eastern food in South Florida”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

As someone who is both a world traveler and a "foodie", the food at Leilas is the best Middle Eastern food in South Florida. For appetizers try their hummus,muhumira and sambusik. The fatoush salad is also very good. Both the chicken and lamb kebabs are some of the best found anywhere and their cous cous is the best I have ever tasted. All accompanied by wonderful grilled vegetables,
To complement the wonderful food is a very gracious host/owner(Alex), a personable and knowledgeable wait staff, and the best belly dancer that I have seen whether in the U.S. or the Middle East.
All in all a memorable dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Syrian food, really good”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoy the interesting flavors of Syrian food, and we were not disappointed. The walnut and pomegranate molasses appetizer is wonderful, the baba ghanouj, with a delicious, smoky taste, was the best I've ever had. Ground lamb kabob was also excellent, and we really enjoyed their special dessert.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rountreec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful !! Big smiles :)”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My hubby and I went there a few weeks ago for a "later" Valentines' Day dinner. It was a treat! Everyone there was just wonderful. The service was terrific and they were VERY busy! The manager actually was our server and she was fantastic. She kept everything running pretty much on time. But because we had to wait a bit longer than usual, they "comped" my 2nd glass of wine! Yes, 2nd!! That was very good too. It is situated in downtown WPB. Near City Place, etc. There was a belly dancer...really good food and we are going back for certain. One suggestion. Their "chopped salad" is not what we are used to at all. Peppers, cucumbers and one other veggie coursely chopped. Frankly, not great. But they made up for it with dinner. Again, if you can, it is definitely worth a visit. You'll really like it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennionetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of two favorite restaurants”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Leila is one of our two favorite restaurants in the Palm Beaches. As a couple who love gourmet food, good wine and travel, we have settled in the past several years on Leila as the place for delicious Middle Eastern cuisine in an elegant but relaxed setting. We often take our out-of-state guests there, including those of Mediterranean descent, who appreciate the menu and fine food. We particularly enjoy the gracious welcome we receive each time we visit from the owner and the good service from a very experienced, professional staff.

The food is wonderful. I am stuck on the lamb kefta and couscous, which comes with fresh grilled vegetables with a delicious homemade aoli sauce. Recently, a friend ordered a lamb shank special entrée and raved about it. Also, you can make a whole meal off an assortment of their mezzas. We almost always order the baba ghanouj as our appetizer when we go – it’s the best I’ve had anywhere. Plus, hot pita and fresh olives are always brought quickly to the table.

We frequently go before heading to Palm Beach Dramaworks, which Leila has supported for years, or simply for a quiet but elegant evening out when we want to be spoiled with good wine and good food. Enjoy!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leila Restaurant also viewed

West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Leila Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing