We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six locals scammed by the Hibiscus House caterer, Leilani's Catering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Beach Hibiscus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2010

*SCAM ALERT* I haven’t stayed at the Palm Beach Hibiscus B&B, but it appears to be a fine place to spend the night. However, our group of six locals did have dinner there last night with the house caterer, Leilani’s Catering.

Leilani takes only advance reservations and pre-orders over the phone. There are no written menus or price lists; it’s all done verbally. BEWARE. When the bill of goods came, we had been sold something entirely different than had been agreed to in advance.

We had pre-ordered five entrees with sides ($25 each), two appetizers ($10 each), and 2 desserts to split ($8 each). With 6.5% local sales tax, our check should have been $171.47 before tip.

Instead, Leilani handed us a bill for $285.00 – five “all-inclusive” dinners ($50 each, including two desserts that we hadn’t requested), one separate appetizer ($10), plus $25 sales tax at an inexplicable 9.6%. As we were about to miss the opening of a theater performance down the street, we unwisely and unhappily paid up and hurried out into the night.

My advice would be to enjoy your breakfast at this B&B but steer clear of any “specials” involving Leilani. If one does decide to sample her dishes, which are actually delicious and well-presented, insist beforehand on a written bill of sale and pay up-front for only what is included in the bill.

Bottom line: Our local crew can afford to pay for good food. But nobody likes to be ripped off.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sojourning_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 248 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed here while visiting family in the area. It was our first trip with our 1 year old, so we were a bit apprehensive. No need to worry here, Randy couldn't have been more accommodating or welcoming. He provided a crib, high chair and even a baby gate as there were stairs in our suite. Pat, the Manager greeted our baby and us with a genuine smile and laugh every morning and remembered how we like our coffee. Breakfast was good, including fruit and a main item like quiche, pancakes or french toast. It's served at a big farmhouse table in the main house.
The location can't be beat, steps away from Publix market, and a quick walk to City Place, Clematis street or Flagler Waterfront.
We loved the "Old Florida" decor. I ma very picky about the bed and linens and wasn't disappointed. Although we didn't have ours with us, I always appreciated when pooches are welcome!
It felt like we were staying in someone's home, not a hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We LOVED our room with a huge four poster bed, an antique vanity, a private little porch overlooking the bar and courtyard, etc. The bar has the most reasonable drinks in the downtown area and the people around the bar are friendly locals, as well aspeople staying at the B & B. So we got GREAT DINNER TIPS! The breakfast in the morning is a full breakfast, and is yummy and gourmet. We had a fruit cup (in a crystal dish), homemade blueberry pancakes (real fruit), a homemade breakfast quiche...The Mgmt are fantastic!!!!! If you want a romantic weekend get away or even just a fun, nice place to stay where you're not just a number - this is the place.

If you go to bed earlier than 11 PM, have them put you on the quiet side away from the little bar. This wasn't a problem for us, but if you are the "early to bed types", just ask for the side facing the other way.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadySomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

ok....soo love this place. want to feel like family/ THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU. one room is even better than the next....so don;t stress about which room to pick. you will want to spend your time hanging around the tiki tables and relaxing in the ohhh so nice palm tree covered beautiful areas. walk to city place etc. the location is to die for! Pat, the manager is the most genuine and kindest person you will ever meet. this is what B&B's should all be about. a breakfast do die for. and a wonderful man to make you feel like you have been part of this amazing family for years. stay here once and you will be hooked. you will look forward to coming back-----i can't wait--your friend and guest PAM MAKKOS

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamnalex0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The Hibiscus House is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are amazing and the ambiance is fabulous. The most tranqual and relaxing stay we have ever experienced. The owners made us feel so welcome and they are so kind. They serve the best homemade meals. We will recommend the Hibiscus House to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We spent a wonderful weekend at the now Palm beach hibiscus this past weekend and wished we could have stayed longer. Pat and Randy were gracious hosts and available for anything we needed. We stayed in the Rosemary suite which was great. Loved the jacuzzi tub. Chef Leilani is so sweet and an awesome chef. We had the best filet that we have ever eaten and all the other food was just as wonderful. Leilani is truly a asset to this B and B. The bartender Keith is very accomodating and the atmosphere at the bar is really fun. It's definately a locals bar which is the best kind. Everything is within walking distance with Clematis st and city place a few blocks away. We will definately be back soon......

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacker37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I had my wedding and ceremony here this July and could not have asked for a more magical evening. Everything was put together just as I had dreamed. I never once had to worry about any details. Everyone there treated us as if we were family, and it showed on our special day with the care and attention that was given to us, our family and friends. Words cannot express how much they have done for me and my Husband and we look forward to spending our 1st year anniversary there and hopefully many more!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Palm Beach
0.4 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#4 of 34 in West Palm Beach
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
925 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Biba
Hotel Biba
#17 of 34 in West Palm Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Palm Beach
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Palm Beach Marriott
West Palm Beach Marriott
#14 of 34 in West Palm Beach
717 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#28 of 34 in West Palm Beach
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hibiscus

Address: 213 S Rosemary Ave, West Palm Beach, FL 33401-5745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Palm Beach
Price Range: $141 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Hibiscus 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Hibiscus is a charming boutique Bed and Breakfast with Key West style ambiance. A hidden tropical oasis in the heart of Downtown West Palm Beach. Conveniently located between City Place & Clematis Street, a short stroll to movie theaters, restaurants, nightclubs, shopping, art galleries, & specialty stores. Also, close to Palm Beach Convention Center, The Kravis Center, Norton Museum and the sandy shores of Palm Beach. The free trolley stops right at our door. Each of our well appointed guest rooms have their own private bathroom, some with claw foot tub or Jacuzzi bath. A hearty continental breakfast is served each morning in our dining room. Wireless Internet service and flat screen televisions enhance your room amenities. Enjoy the tropical atmosphere while sipping a favorite cocktail, glass of wine or beer. Choose a delicious appetizer or dinner from the new inspired menu at Our Backyard Bar at the Hibiscus. Come visit and experience extraordinary service from the staff. The Palm Beach Hibiscus is your home away from home whether on business, pleasure or simply looking for a staycation closer to home in West Palm Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Beach Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hibiscus Hotel West Palm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing