We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Atmosphere...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bar & Grill

Sunset Bar & Grill
Ranked #48 of 640 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We have been compared to Soho,but with a Mayberry attitude. It's cozy,artsy,romantic. We pride ourselves on making your experience one of a kind. We offer live music in season. And we are in Northwood Village, 2 miles north of downtown Clematis St and 3 blocks west of Flagler Dr on the corner of 24th St and Broadway (us1). All the shops and restaurants are privately owned and operated. And visit us the last Friday of every month for our Art and Wine & Dine Promenade from 6pm till 9pm for live music,wine tasting,and artist. All shops,boutiques, and restaurants are open. Come Relax & Enjoy
United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm Atmosphere...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The owners are great! They make sure you feel welcomed. Very Comforting food and we love the artsy decor. They did a wonderful job revamping the outdoors. So happy to have this fab place to go to in the neighborhood. It's a perfect place for couples, business or solo too which is not always an easy find. All in all a very welcoming, warm place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilieUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My partner and I have been visiting Sunset Bar & Grill for the past 5 years or so. The owners, Matt and Terry, are always coming up with new menu ideas, and the decor changes regularly, making each visit like it was your first time. It is eclectic, upbeat and fun. We always ask for Nancy as our server and she is a gem! She treats us (and everyone else) like family! Her recommendations are always spot-on! The food is delicious and well prepared and the presentation is as great as the food. There is entertainment on some nights that just adds to the great atmosphere, which is like a comfortable livingroom. You can't go wrong with this gem of a restaurant, so enjoy yourself at Sunset!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TJSJupiter_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Northwood bound"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Had occasion to visit the West Palm Beach area on business for second time this month. For dinner, we again made our way to the interesting neighborhood of Northwood and headed straight to Sunset Grill. This was a return engagement for us as we so enjoyed our first. Small,artsy with very friendly staff. A bit disappointed they have no happy hour,however the wife says bartender Nancy serves up a mean cosmo and I was able to get an excellent dark ale draft brewed in Tampa.

We had Carlos again as our server which was pleasant and the food was excellent. Actually
had the grilled Mahi Mahi, same as before. So much for being adventurous, but you can't go wrong. Sides were mashed potato, green beans and squash. Ceasar salad to start was fresh,
chilled, light on dressing and very crispy croutons. Desert was caramel cream cake which was
the only part of dinner that was just fair. If you order by 6:30pm, all inclusive for the
"Sunset" price of $16.95.

Helpful?
1 Thank TommyLongboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Eclectic, artsy ambiance with delicious dining options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Husband and I went early on a Friday night (in order to beat the crowd). For a half and hour we were the only patrons. Service was good. Ahi tuna appetizer rocked my world and bread was offered (we declined). Husband had the basil tomato soup (of the day) and he liked it.

Funky red walls and a slew of unique orange glass vases displayed among local art really set the vibe. The groovy light fixtures and ceiling fans, along with an 80s sound track that had the staff singing along, created fun ambiance.

Both of us were yearning for meat: I ordered the gorgonzola covered filet and he the grilled rib eye. Both cooked to perfection and tender. Delicious flavor.

The accompanying side dishes on the plate were interesting: a scoop of mashed potatoes, a scoop of mashed carrots, a tiny quiche (YUMMY!) and string beans. All were tasty and not so much that you'd feel stuffed after the meal. We had no room for desert. (Some might think it was plated sparsely, as the servings were not heaped on.)

Cons: Tried an Oregon pinot noir that looked and tasted like a blush/rose...no flavor and I couldn't even finish it. So with the small glass of it and it's lackluster taste, at $10 a glass I felt very dissatisfied.

Fun place to eat. Advice: don't go TOO early but if you're going later, make reservations. Ask for the garlic butter for your bread and potatoes...very good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrosBahamasBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Point, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visually nice, that's about it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Took 25 minutes to get bread on the table, 40 minutes for appetizer, hour for main course. Paid $65 for 2, main course served on an appetizer dish with 4 slices of zucchini, 4 baby carrots, and one baby sized scoop of mashed potatoes. Food was tolerable.
No wheres near close to the money, super slow with only 5 tables seated.
Looks nice and that's about it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Bar & Grill also viewed

West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Sunset Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing