We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandview R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grandview Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grandview R&R”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just back from two separate stays at Grandview B&B before and after a caribbean cruise. Loved the location in one of the historic neighborhoods with detailing not found in any modern hotel area. Breakfasts offered a nice variety of fresh fruits, cheeses, pastries, along with a main dish that included delightful eggs benedict one morning. We stayed in two different rooms types; one a nicely equipped efficiency and the other a lovely standard room. Hosts Jan, Peter and Rick were very kind and informative. The attention to detail was very nice in this historic home and we hope to enjoy a stay with them again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macsnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
170
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Grandview Gardens was the just the right place for our mother-daughters girls weekend. Jan and Rick were wonderful hosts, welcoming us to their home, highlighting area "must do" list, and seeing to our comfort. The historic district is lovely with shopping, museums, antiques and excellent restaurants and night-life nearby. We highly recommend Grandview Gardens!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent the weekend there and it was a wonderful trip. Grandview Gardens is so much more relaxing and comfortable then any hotel. You feel like you are being pampered in your own home. Jan, Peter and Rick quickly assist with any requests and offer lots of local information. The rooms are kept very clean and breakfast was delicious each day. I recommend this BB and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay. Very clean and comfortable. Motivating design ideas/details that i will take home with me. I will be back here next year and look forward to showing this place off to my friends:)

Room Tip: They all looked great to me. I enjoyed overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When they opened in 2004, I was the first guest for the B&B. They were so nice to take me around the downtown and took good care of me who just landed to USA myself , not knowing good English. They are like my first American family. I took my parents, my uncle and aunt there years after. The rooms are clean and beautiful. The breakfast Jan makes is awesome and fresh. Peter and Rick are so kind and friendly. I need to go back again soon!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sachie719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

As a regular I come back every year to my oasis in the sun. Jan, Peter and Rick are wonderful host to make very stay a unique and very special experience; they open up their home to their guests.

The historic 1925 property has been carefully restored to reflect the original Spanish Mediterranean architecture inspired by many famous architects in South Florida over the last century. Rick and Peter are excellent tour guides on the history and architecture of Grandview Heights, Palm Beach and the surrounding. And they always have a good idea for something new and special to see, where to shop, eat or go. Need a bike or a cellular? They got it for you!

The tastefully styled and decorated rooms are always in a meticulous state and every year you can see some addition, update or new idea. Rooms are luxurious and yet homey, featuring private entrances and terraces facing towards the pool or gardens. With all the amenities and details you feel like home. Relaxing by the pool and in the wonderfully landscaped garden is my favorite.

The breakfast is a special treat as well - by the pool or in the main house you get to relax while being treated to a delicious breakfast. A great start into the day and a good time to make plans for outings from my oasis in the sun.

Looking forward to my next visit next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are individually designed and special. Talk to the owners to get advice what suits you bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainerFFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This little guest house has had rave reviews, but I really feel I must redress the balance for the discerning traveller. The Grandview is located in a residential area next to a park. I was awoken every morning between 5 and 6am by either the garbage trucks arrival or the screams of coaches as legions of little kids turned out to play sports.
The rooms are a good size, but the quality of the bed linen leaves a lot to be desired. The furniture is worn, somewhat stained and the floor around the bed looked like coffee had been spilt, it stayed that way for the duration of my stay.
Particularly unpleasant are the black face flannels and the note advising guests to use these to avoid makeup stains (because "makeup includes tar"), one wonders how many layers of grime deposited by previous guests lies embedded in those face cloths.
Strangely for a guesthouse the Grandview only offers a cooked breakfast on a weekend. This is completely at odds with the usual standard of guesthouses in the UK and US where full breakfasts are the norm and a welcome start to the day. The fresh fruit/pieces of cake for breakfast are served around a pretty pool, but when you are so tired from all the noise thats been going on in the park in the preceding hours the effect is somewhat marred.
The Grandview is an expensive guest house in my opinion. Rooms can be found at The Chesterfield or the Brazilian, both of which are full service hotels, for more or less the same price and I would advise people considering the Grandview to do their research before booking. There are many less expensive better equipped options around Palm Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandview_Gardens, Owner at Grandview Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for the feedback and we're so disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Yes, the youth group using the park as a practice field was a problem in September, which we did resolve with the city recreation department. There are no more sports groups practicing in the morning hours. And while most visitors love our mexican saltillo tiles and find their imperfections charming, they do present a challenge in terms of discoloration. We can confirm that there were/are no coffee stains on any of our floors, but there are permanent discolorations which cannot be removed by cleaning. Thank you also for the feedback regarding the black makeup towel, which is now an industry standard and typically provided in most US B & Bs and many hotels. These towels are also washed separately in high temperatures just like regular bath towels. The idea is to protect the environment and minimize waste as makeup removal with white wash clothes requires that we often discard those clothes after one use. In addition, we do supply disposable cotton makeup removal pads in all rooms. Finally, regarding breakfast, our menu is scaled down in the slowest time of the year, which is July through September, but the menu is clearly described on our website and includes a selection of cereals, yogurts, cheeses, cold cuts, fresh fruit, freshly prepared fruit salad, fresh fruit juices and breakfast cakes. In addition, we serve toasted muffins, white or whole wheat toast, bagels, butter and jam and freshly brewed premium coffee or tea...everything served on porcelain with proper linens. On the weekends and holidays, in addition to the buffet, we serve egg dishes made-to-order along with bacon or sausage and/or eggs benedict on Sundays. From about November (Thanksgiving) to June, a warm breakfast specialty dish is also served 7 days a week. We would be delighted to welcome you back the next time when you are in West Palm Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Palm Beach
0.5 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#2 of 34 in West Palm Beach
718 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
407 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
585 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Property: Grandview Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1608 Lake Ave, West Palm Beach, FL 33401-7006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grandview Gardens Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of West Palm Beach, Florida, Grandview Gardens Bed & Breakfast and Vacation Cottages is located in the Grandview Heights historic neighborhood. City Place, the rejuvenated city center with its restaurants, theaters, cafes, nightclubs and boutiques, is 15 minutes walking distance. The beaches are 5 minutes away by car and 15 minutes by bicycle (which we provide complimentary). The Palm Beach Convention Center, Norton Museum of Art, Antique Row, Kravis Center for the Performing Arts and the famous resort island of Palm Beach with its beautiful beaches are 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Grandview Gardens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Gardens Hotel West Palm Beach
Grandview Gardens Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing