We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana

Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I found this place on my way to Ft. Lauderdale and had to stop for gas. They have a sign from the Interstate, which can be questionable, but I and my group were hungry and on the outside it looked like the real deal. It was. Earlier this month this same group made a special effort to return, our memory from the first visit a year earlier still lingering. Our return visit was even better. It's quaint and Cuban. The prices are reasonable, especially for lunch. The staff is very friendly and helpful. And the food... I ordered the Bistek a la Havana both times and sampled other items as well. All excellent. I look forward to my next trip to south Florida.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ABPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    215
    62
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Sangria Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Yummy Sangria. Get a pitcher, it's a better deal if you plan to have more than one. Service is always good here. My family loves going to Havana for lunch or dinner. Every dish sounds so good. The sandwiches are very tasty and they have the BEST tamales. MY mom and I thought we would never like tamales but Havana's are so good. Now we order them every time. Good atmosphere, different from most restaurants. Havana has been around for a very long time and it's because the food and service is excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieBryant19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best chicharones in palm beach county!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Good atmosphere! Walk up window for some quick Cuban Specialities is a must for anyone to do whether its a sunny afternoon or a late nite snack!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jsaintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuban food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

A local favorite for a reason. I've never had anything that isn't excellent. The walk up window is open 24 hours.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“impressive pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

WE Visited West Palm Beach Florida three time since July. Havana is two blocks from where we are staying. I first notice the walkup 24 hour window. I bought a take out lunch and some GOOD Cuban coffee. I was in a rush so got the mostly fried food in the window display. empanadas chicken and beef and a potato puff . Good but standard . Friday night we went inside for dinner > a Totally different experience Lovely interior two stories well appointed. The waiter Domingo was as attentive and informative as any could be. He explained all the specials and questions since we are not experts. I had Cuban Grouper with salsa delicious. My wife had a strip steak and shrimp nice fantail style with garlic strong. Sangria pitcher was a bargain and very good got a buzz. Deserts look interesting but we were too Full. We will definitely go back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank none422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing