We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thai”
Review of Palm Sugar

Palm Sugar
Reserve with OpenTable
Palm Sugar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 668 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Dixie Hwy
Description: This concept started from our creator's passion for food, and a vision to add innovative, exotic, and genuine flavors of Southeast Asian to our dining experiences. We focus on quality ingredients freshly prepared, and warm customer services.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
189 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Palm Sugar.
The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed and fun. The location is a few blocks away from the busy City Place shopping area.
There was a wide selection of Thai dishes on the menu, and all of the food we had was incredibly good, very fresh and beautifully presented.
My one complaint was that when we ordered a bottle of wine they only had one in stock. (We were a party of 7 and would have ordered several bottles!) The wine list was limited but OK, and the restaurant needs to make sure that they have enough of their listed wines on hand to accommodate their patrons.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolynvonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    9
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This place is GREAT!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on trip advisor, and we were VERY happy the food was wonderful we had 2 appetizers 2 mains and 4 of the sake drinks , all for $65 bucks, and the service was top notch ,, can't wait to go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davedemm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Signature dish is actually tough/stringy pork in a very bland bun”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Based on several online reviews we went to Palm Sugar with high expectations, especially since Chinese pork buns have been a favorite of mine since childhood (my parents always took us to Chinatown when visiting big cities such as Chicago, New York, San Francisco and Toronto with large, authentic Chinatowns).

I was utterly disappointed. First off, the pork bun is not a traditionally filled bun; rather more like a sandwich. Construction wise, I was open to it. However, it turns out that the buns are already pre-made sitting on the counter in a cookie jar and they are warmed up in the microwave vs. steamed, which of course results in a horrible texture. The pork filling was equally bad. Instead of tender meat in a savory sauce, it was over-done, tough and stringy pork with no taste to the sauce. To add insult to injury, they had the audacity to charge $16 for 2 little buns of 2-3 bites each. Wow ....

Even with seemingly good reviews, I should've trusted our restaurant rule of thumb: avoid places that are not full of people that are happily enjoying their meals. Even though the Palm Beach boat show was 3 blocks away and most restaurants along Clematis were full of people having their "post-show" dinner, Palm Sugar was noticeably emptier .....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Locavore33301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, FL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, interesting menu”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food here was very good, and the menu is fun and interesting. The "fuzzy duck" was delicious and intensely flavored with lime, chili, cilantro, garlic (?), etc. The Satay went over big with the kids, as did the calamari, and they enjoyed trying the bubbly teas with tapioca in the bottom. Our outdoor table was sticky and had to be re-cleaned before we could eat on it, but that might have been a rare oversight, I dont know. Interesting menu, highly seasoned food, good presentation, interesting interior. I would recommend this to anyone who likes adventurous eating and asian cuisine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank donnabaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quite Impressed!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been here several times. The food is always excellent. The service is very attentive and professional. The pricing is average for the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scuba14u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Sugar also viewed

West Palm Beach, FL
 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Palm Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing