We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Florida Science Center and Aquarium
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The South Florida Science Center and Aquarium (former South Florida Science Museum) provides curious minds of all ages with an entertaining and educational journey through science and technology. The Science Center features more than 50 hands-on exhibits, a digital planetarium, freshwater and saltwater aquariums, as well as natural history exhibitions. Established in 1961, the South Florida Science Center and Aquarium is a non-profit institution dedicated to its mission; "Open Every Mind to Science".
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“SKIP IT!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Even with a discounted admission (because they were setting up a new exhibit), this wasn't worth it. The aquarium part was nice enough, but there is virtually NOTHING to the science exhibit. The outdoor exhibits were covered with cob webs. The planetarium has only a few shows and the one near the time we were there was too young for my kids. Just not worth the stop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank adobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen W, Public Relations Manager at South Florida Science Center and Aquarium, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for your less than stellar experience. We would love the chance to make this right and would like to invite you back to the Science Center for a complimentary visit. Please call us at 561-370-7723 if you'd like to visit us again. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    77
    59
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went with kids. Thought it would be fun but there were only 5 tanks of fish. And after we bought tickets they informed us that half the museum was closed so they could set up the Titanic exhibit. Very unimpressed with this place. For the amount of things we got to see they should have only charged a few bucks. Suggest you call ahead and make sure everything is accessible and open before heading there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen W, Public Relations Manager at South Florida Science Center and Aquarium, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
When a customer takes the time to leave a review online, we listen! We want to apologize for your negative experience and let you know that we would like to offer you 2 complimentary passes to see our new Titanic exhibit now on display. Please call 561-370-7723 to schedule your visit. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cool crabs.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The building has gone through a nice upgrade. The entrance is very new and clean. The aquariums look great. The planetarium had a good variety of shows. I can't say I learned anything new and the exhibits were pretty lackluster though.

Helpful?
Thank Theexplodingawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Space Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Morning”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Went on Thursday morning and was greeted with several classes of screaming, ill-behaved children. My son and I moved through the museum avoiding the classes, so it was ok. The museum itself is small, but nice. My son is nine and very science oriented. I think he most enjoyed the "touch and learn" experience in the aquarium where the attendant was knowledgeable and pleasant. It would be nice if they added more of that type of experience. The outdoor section was pleasant and the puzzles were fun. This is a very small, local museum. It took us one morning to see everything, which was fine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EGF321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Big improvements!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Signed up for a family membership this year. The grandkids love this place and I love the fact that they have revamped the place and added many new displays. It is much smaller than the one in Ft. Lauderdale and so a bit overpriced for the amount of displays. The kids love the dinosaur movies and the gator golf outside.

Only complaint, need more parking closer to the building. We had to walk from another area in the road and it was dangerous with cars zipping around the bend (even though they are driving through a public area).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elissaszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Florida Science Center and Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to South Florida Science Center and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing