We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place for a short visit”

South Florida Science Center and Aquarium
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The South Florida Science Center and Aquarium (former South Florida Science Museum) provides curious minds of all ages with an entertaining and educational journey through science and technology. The Science Center features more than 50 hands-on exhibits, a digital planetarium, freshwater and saltwater aquariums, as well as natural history exhibitions. Established in 1961, the South Florida Science Center and Aquarium is a non-profit institution dedicated to its mission; "Open Every Mind to Science".
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice place for a short visit”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a great time. It is small but packed with things to see and do. They have special exhibts all the time. Check their website for more information.
You will enjoy it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank filome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    81
    61
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
347 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Take the kids!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a perfect place to take your kids or visitors! It is a small enough venue to do everything thoroughly and a good way to spend an afternoon in an air conditioned place. Adults will enjoy it too!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The planetarium show was interesting. Most of the exhibits were fun. Some of the aquariums were filthy. We went on Senior day for a discount. I don't know if I would pay full price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Such a cute museum!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I took our 5 month old to Florida to meet some relatives and wanted to find something indoors to do since it was HOT outside (early September). We found this online and since it had an aquarium, thought it would be good since the baby likes fish. We felt the price for adults was a bit steep for how small the museum is, but they are currently expanding. It also seems slightly run down... could use some sprucing up. But overall, it was a nice hour or so in the museum. We would have spent more time but the baby can't do many of the activities. If he was a toddler, we definitely could have been there longer. Or, if it was cooler out, we would have played mini golf or something, which is outside. The aquarium room has a lot of fish and my son enjoyed watching them and trying to "catch" sea horses. He got to pet a nurse shark too.
We didn't do the planetarium, maybe when he is older. We will definitely be taking him back when he can play and do more.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank akitkat118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great science experience for children (of all ages)!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Make sure you take in the planetarium experience. There are multiple interactive displays great for explaining science to children (and to renew an interest in adults).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Florida Science Center and Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to South Florida Science Center and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing