We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of fruit and Harry & David”
Review of Cushman's Fruit Company - CLOSED

Cushman's Fruit Company
Attraction details
Lantana, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great selection of fruit and Harry & David”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Store is easy to navigate, helpful sales staff, and terrific sales--not to mention the delicious fruit. This is a great place to order fruit to be delivered as gifts.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
274 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Can sample fruits. Locally grown, will ship. FUDGE ...”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This store is open only seasonally.

Cushman's is not an orchard, which I used to LOVE when they had orchards around here and you could visit them, but just for a store, I enjoy Cushman's because we always find something we like to take home. I have never left empty - handed.

I am guessing at the date - I have not been here for some months, but I typically stop in around honeybell season.

It's nice because there are separate bins of different fruits for you to buy, and usually they have slices of samples. Try before you buy is great. And to be able to sample one type of orange right after another really shows you the difference in taste and helps you to choose your favorite. There are other citrus items for sampling, as well.

There is small amount of gifts to be purchased, as well. And the fudge -- OH, the fudge. Their fudge is SOOOO good, I mean SOOO good. You will find such a variety of flavors. with peanut butter and key lime and orange ... And of course the regular chocolate plain or with nuts.

THey will give you a small sliver, as well, to sample to ensure you bring home the one you love. Some say the tiger - soemthing or other is their favorite, where I did not care for it. so giving the small samples is a great idea because I always end up buying several varieties to suit everyone's taste. It is truly the best fudge, in my opinion, that I have found in years and years.

There is also a little station where you can buy items to have shipped, but sometimes they do not ship for months (inquire within for those details) due to others ordering first, when the crops ripen, etc. So it's not always a quick gift.

Anyway, worth a stop in to sample and bring home some yummy oranges.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderer305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
295 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“great to get season fruit”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

another very good tourist place for florida fruit, the must is the honeybell orange during season

Helpful?
1 Thank redbook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviera Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for gifts”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Have shipped quite a few gift items up north for the past couple of years and have never been disappointed in the service or the quality. The recipients of gifts have been quite pleased.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank lidedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Fresh Florida citrus at a bulk price. Honeybells in season, too.”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was looking for Honeybell tangelos at a price somewhat more affordable that around $1+ each. Supermarkets, when they get them, have marginal quality at a premium price.

I stopped into Cushman's, one of the largest mail-order vendors of Honeybells, about a week after Christmas. Lots of bargains around, post Christmas sales of merchandise of related companies, plus big warehouse size bins of Honeybells. You select your own and fill up a net bag, like before supermarkets prepackaged everything in plastic wrap.

All the orange groves in far south Florida have been disappeared, so this is a great substitute to driving north to the Indian River area to find fresh citrus. Almost like going to those grove shops in central Florida.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SoBeSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cushman's Fruit Company also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing