We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise”

Mounts Botanical Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Barrington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

If you like to relax and enjoy the views of a well landscaped garden. This is the place. Ever turn brought you to different types of plant life. Very educational for all ages. The only negative for those of us that are not familiar with the plants and trees names is to have more signage added. I look forward to going again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NHgardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    106
    28
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Serenity and beauty at its best!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

If you like strolling through gardens, admiring the flora and fauna, you will love this place. I particularly love the two butterfly gardens, the herb garden and the old fashioned vegetable garden. So much to look at and keep your interest. One delightful area after another to discover. There are several picnic tables so you have a place to eat your lunch if you like. Plenty of parking and a suggested entrance fee of $5.00. But so worth it. It is next to a busy airport but it doesn't take away from the beauty and serenity of the park.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zonicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely and Peaceful Place”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The landscape is diverse, well planned and well taken care of. The volunteers are well informed, friendly and hardworking. This is a really lovely place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

After reading reviews I though this would be a great place to relax and view some of the tropical flowers and foliage that we don't see in Massachusetts. I am an avid gardener and was very disappointed in the lack of flowers and the little variety that was there. I thought the condition of many of the specimens was poor and not what is usually seen in this type of venue. I have been to many small botanical gardens from Maine to Florida and this was not anything close to the condition of other places. There were more flowers in our hotel parking lot than here and our trip through Jupiter Island showed a much wider variety and better specimens than here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,899 reviews
1,045 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,875 helpful votes
“Lovely garden with many flowers, trails and water views”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had not been to Mounts in years and forgot how beautiful it is. It has been around for a long time and has well developed areas of trees, plants, water views and flowers. It is a serene setting although sitting near PBIA airport with planes taking off and landing close by. The garden had to cut down trees years ago so it would not interfere with the expansion of the airport. Luckily for the community it survived and is still going strong. Admission is $5 but they participate in a reciprocal program with the American Horticultural Society so membership in one of those gardens allows for free admission. A beautiful place to visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mounts Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Mounts Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing