We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Larger than expected”

Mounts Botanical Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Larger than expected”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The garden is tucked in, but the available space is well used. We spent about two hours and could have easily spent another. I really like how the sub-gardens (sun, shade, rain, vegetable, butterfly, etc.) are arranged so you really get the individual feel of each one. There are many really nice spots for a lunch and I wish we'd brought a picnic one with us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JiCiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    109
    28
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely for the whole family”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had some time to kill before our flight and the garden was perfect. Of course you can spend as much or as little time as you want. The contribution is "suggested" but you will want to pay something. You will also want to take pictures. DO NOT MISS THE BUTTERFLY GARDEN and take a seat so you have time to see different kinds of butterflies appear.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bowwowwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hedesunda
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“exotic flowers, trees and planes”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we spent a few hours here discovering many beautiful exotic flowers and impressive trees. The low flying planes were an added attraction. The botanical gardens are well kept ,interesting and scenic. We all enjoyed our morning there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HedesundaDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Gardens”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Pretty but relatively small botanical gardens. Not the best time of year to see maximum blooms but worth a visit. Nice rose garden and excellent variety of plants. Good for a lovely afternoon stroll

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bkirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polkville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Whatta find!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As a native Floridian who "escaped" the mind-blowing expansion there decades ago, I still get back as often as possible to visit family still there. Funny thing is, my entire family has literally avoided ALL things "touristy" for our entire lives... such trips seem to only depress us, as we can't help but lament the seeming loss of "old Florida"! On my most recent trip down however, I decided it was time for us to finally take advantage of some of FL's more "historical" sites at least (and at last!)... and Mounts Botanical Gardens was certainly a HIT!

What's SO nice about MBG, is it's age... and VERY obvious level of caretaking. With the kind of development that's been going on in FL for ages now, getting the opportunity to see well-established and MATURE native/tropical flora is something that's more rare than you can imagine in the area... and the fact that MBG is the largest (15 ac) and oldest botanical garden in PB County is something that should NOT be overlooked by tourists to the area who are looking for that authentic "soothing tropical feel"!

Overly easy to get to (and find!), this oasis of tropical beauty serves not only tourists... but locals as well. Affiliated with the Univ of FL, they cater to those interested in gardening to a level that's amazing... Master Gardener, Ag extension, speaking, tour, and public involvement programs abound in their lovely facility. Volunteers working in the garden are the most friendly a person could hope to meet (especially "Lois"!), and even the Garden Director (Allen Sistrunk) is as approachable and interesting as could possibly be.

The entire garden (or "tropical park", really) is like all of FL... flat as a pancake, and easily accessible by anyone. I took my Mom (age 83) and Sis (who would slap me if I told her age), who were indeed a bit skeptical at first... but not for long! What we thought would be a pretty quick stop turned into a 3-hour stay... the abundance (and density) of unusual and mature palms, agaves, bromeliads, orchids, and fascinating species of just about anything "tropical" were simply amazing! They've a large tropical veggie garden that's worth exploring, as well as a new ornate herb garden currently being installed. The hard path takes one around a stunning small pond, that's large enough for a really cute island in its midst... accessible via an adorable little bridge. On foot, one can explore the pristine grassy paths that wind through gorgeous mazes of tropical splendor... and don't miss the hammock trail, near the front gate!

The entire garden is set up beautifully for a full range of interests, even children! The paths are SO fun to explore (even for adults!), and there's open grassy glens/play areas to be found as well. A LOT packed into this place... that you just DON'T want to miss!!! There's a $5 "suggested" fee for entry, which we (of course) paid on the way in... yet were so thrilled with the place, that we paid again upon exit.

I'll attach as many pic's as I can of this lovely find to hopefully give you guys a "feel" for the place... but quite certain your own "TRUE Florida experience" will be unique onto itself... ;-)


Paul

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PjinPville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mounts Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Mounts Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing