We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, drink and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blind Monk

The Blind Monk
Ranked #29 of 628 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: Wine Bar, American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A neighborhood bar serving a robust and regularly rotated selection of wine, craft beer, stinky artisanal cheeses, and small plates.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, drink and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My mother and I stopped here before heading to Night on Clematis and we were blown away. The cheeses we had were to die for - the brie and gouda especially! Our waiter was such a help, taking time to describe the cheeses and make recommendations. The hummus was also quite divine. We'd go out of our way to visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meganp909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, Owner at The Blind Monk, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. That is the best compliment we could have. Thank you!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cozy and pleasant atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Every time my wife and I drop in for a glass of wine here we always promise our next visit will be soon! They have a very interesting wine list with a wide range of possibilities for wines by the glass. The couch seating is very comfy and we usually end up meeting and chatting with those sitting nearby. We did not try the food but the expanded tapas and cheeses will definitely find their way to us on our next visit for the Sunday wine flights! Service is also friendly and attentive. Our server clearly had a good knowledge of the wines offered.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, Owner at The Blind Monk, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We love our regulars! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you and your wife enjoyed yourselves.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic and unexpected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great wine list, looks like a perfect date spot and even better wine list. The best artichoke dip I have ever tasted in my life!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GIRLINTERRUPTEDINNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wine and tapas casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Wine a bit pricing -same tapas selection always. Menu should be cycled Nice for pre meal stop

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stepohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, Owner at The Blind Monk, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated. I wanted to let you know that we have some new selections on our food menu. We have rotated off some summer items to make room for plates with more fall and winter ingredients.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent wine bar in West Palm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stopped at the Blind Monk for a glass of wine and some tapas after a movie and before dinner, and we were delighted! They have a thoughtful wine list for many palates and the tapas accompanied perfectly. We had the cheese plate, which comes with the choice of cheeses, charcuterie, and accompaniement, to make up a plate to your liking. We had the Humboldt-fog (a California goat), the D'Auvergne bleu, a bit of spanish chorizo, and apples to accompany. That, along with the Ahi Tuna Cru with avocado, cilantro, and lime with rice crackers made us very happy! This place is a reliable stop for a nice visit, smooth drink and a tasty bite.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank phacskaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blind Monk also viewed

West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to The Blind Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing