We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got appetizers and drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna Opa - CLOSED

Taverna Opa
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hibiscus Street
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
541 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Got appetizers and drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stopped here for drinks and appetizers. We had spanikopita and hummus with warm pitas. They both were good. It was very middle afternoon on a Monday so not crowded at all. Service was good. We sat outside. I can see how this would
be hectic if crowded on a weekend We had no reservations No complaint about food or service. Drink specials were a good buy. Just tourists stopping through.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ms.go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    33
    28
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
242 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Greek Restaurant and Bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Taverna Opa is in City Place, a wonderful location in West Palm Beach. The food, drinks, and atmosphere are excellent. The Belly Dancers are very entertaining but confirm if they will be present on the night you wish go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tsoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Taverna Opa-Fell short of Greek authenticity.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family and I are of Greek descent and were thrilled to go to a Greek restaurant while vacationing in West Palm Beach. Our expectations may have been too high but the experience is not what I expected. We unfortunately had outdoor seating even though we had reservations. The hostess should have described the pitfalls of outdoor seating. First of all the seating outside is too hectic. People constantly walking back and forth because the isle seating is next to a thoroughfare of tourists. Secondly the belly dancers pretty much entertain the patrons indoors instead of equally entertaining the outside crowd. You could barely hear the Greek music outside and didn't get the feeling of being in a Greek Taverna at all. The food was nothing great. We had the octopus appetizer which was tasty but extremely small in portion. We also had the saganaki which was a nice presentation (lit up with fire) but very salty. Also barely had enough for four people to share. The main course meat sampler was worth it but the gyro dish was just a sandwich with some lemon potatoes. The vegetables for both meals were disappointing. Mushed up carrots (which Greeks never serve-not even unmushed) string beans that were from a can, and a little bit of zucchini (also mushed up). They appeared to all be boiled. Pretty disgusting and very unauthentic. So in all, we would not go to this place again nor recommend it unless they revamp their menu. I guess it was crowded because tourists don't know any better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nmnikolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst of the worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Anyone who likes this place must be impressed with a Denny's breakfast buffet. Lamb is overcooked. Salads are wilted. Nothing nice to say other than this is a tourist trap. Operator has many failures in the past. No surprise.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank white6180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was my first time at a Taverna Opa Restaurant. The food was delicious - Lasagna for me and Lemon Chicken (half) for my girlfriend. And the drinks were also very good. The staff could not have been friendlier. The outside seating allowed for great people watching. The atmosphere is very good, and the belly dancers mingling and dancing with the customers was quite different but common for a Greek Restaurant I'm told. Though there was no dancing on the tables as there is at some other Taverna Opa's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Opa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing