We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute small zoo!”

Palm Beach Zoo & Conservation Society
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Palm Beach Zoo & Conservation Society is home to more than 500 animals on 23 shaded tropical acres, including endangered Malayan tigers, Mexican spider monkeys, jaguars and more! The lush grounds layout includes an Interactive Play Fountain (with changing tents), a Conservation Station which includes a Wildlife Carousel and Safari Train for children to ride, and interactive wildlife presentations. Parking is free, with a shuttle provided to across-the-street parking lots on busy weekends. Guests can dine at the Tropics Cafe, or they can grab a quick bite at the concessions stand and Dippin Dots. Shop seven days a week at the Wild Things Gift Shop, and on weekends at the Marketplace near the Tropics Cafe.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute small zoo!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you're looking for a nice, small, friendly zoo, this is a nice place to go. If you're looking for a Bronx Zoo, or even a Miami Metro Zoo experience, you're going to be disappointed.

The staff were very friendly, and they were always glad to answer questions or point you in the right direction.

Our son loved his trip on the carousel - the place was mostly empty on a weekday, so we had it run just for us.

The zoo is easy to navigate, and has a nice big fountain in the center kids can play in.

Slightly on the pricey side at $18.95 per adult for a zoo of this size, but we enjoyed ourselves.

Very small gift shop, but if you're going to a zoo for the plush animals, you shouldn't be reviewing trips on a website.

Overall, I'm not sure we would go again, unless they changed a number of the exhibits, but I would recommend a visit for those in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    267
    98
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clive, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Smaller Zoo”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We visited the zoo the first part of May 2013. The zoo is designed as a wheel hub with spokes running out for each zoo section coming out of the main part of the zoo. The zoo was enjoyable and can be viewed in 1/2 to 1 day's time. Acceptable number of animals to see in good viewing areas.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmc1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very cool little zoo”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I went last weekend and the zoo staff was dressed up for Halloween and passing out candy to the trick-or-treaters. That was a nice treat! The layout of the zoo was easy to wander through. It wasn't too crowded and we could see all of the exhibits. We started from the right and made it all the way around the loop in a good amount of time. It was just long enough to wear us all out! The animals were very active and they all looked like they had a good home there, so I liked seeing that. If you are in the area, I would recommend coming here for a nice relaxing day at the zoo.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Luv This Zoo”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We are members. We frequent this zoo. The staff is great. Luv the shows. again and again. Kids Luv the water jets park portion. The animals have very nice shelters that keep them happy (I think.) Lots of shade etc. VERY NICE ZOO!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LUVBBQMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“2 nd time here”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very nice zoo. Unique layout. Start in the hub and go out on 3 different paths that represents different parts of the world. Good assortment of animals. Only found 2 where animals were off exhibit so we got to see almost all of them that they had. A few exhibits only had one animal in them which I'm sure is unavoidable but sad. We spent a little over 2 hours walking around. Very enjoyable day was had. Lots of different kinds of birds all over the place

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HuronsForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Beach Zoo & Conservation Society also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Palm Beach Zoo & Conservation Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing