We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moved In, roaches... Ignored additional roaches... Dealt with unrealistic ignorance”
Review of Hotel Evernia

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Palm Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Evernia
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in West Palm Beach
West palm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Moved In, roaches... Ignored additional roaches... Dealt with unrealistic ignorance”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I moved into Hotel Evernia in an emergency situation. I was given a room. I asked if smoking was allowed and was told no, but occasional was accepted. Lived there for a week and a half. First room had roaches, opened drawer next to bed, roaches everywhere! Moved to other room.. Thought very accommodating. Blamed roaches on last tenant. Thought ok, good enough. Still roaches. Didn't complain. Went to ER, had emergency hospitalization for 5 days.. Already paid for room I want in. Got back, singing to relieve stress. Owner came into room (which was locked).
Said no singing..AND told me room was a mess and to clean up... No open food, just toiletries....didn't wAnt to use drawers due to roaches.. And no smoking,,, though told occasional was ok.. Who wants to go outside west palm beach at night?? Hmmm... Wgat kinda business are we running here?

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I want to first say that this hotel is in a prime location. You are steps away from the trolley pick up for city place and clematis. Upon arrival I thought the hotel was very nice. We were greeted by one of the owners and she was very helpful. Our room was located on the 3rd floor and we did not have a private bath. As you went up the stairs the air got warmer and more stale. It's a very old building so I wasn't too surprised by the smell. Each room has its own shaker air conditioner, no central air. It was a relatively cool night out but we were still pretty warm in our room. I'm not sure how someone could survive in the summer on the third floor. The room was clean but the ceiling fan needed to be dusted, the carpet could definitely be replaced, and the comforter was old with some cigarette burns. The mattress was pretty hard and it was a little difficult for me to get comfortable. The rooms are also very small, so if you have a baby or small child, you may want to take that into account. The hall bathrooms were clean, two toilet rooms and one shower room on our floor. We only stayed one night so we didn't end up using the shower. You would definitely want to bring some flip flops to wear in there though. Overall, if you're going to stay a night or two and won't be spending a lot of time in the hotel, this place is great because of the location. But, if you're looking for a nice place to relax and spend some time, I'm not sure this is the right hotel for you.

Room Tip: I would stay on the first floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Was looking for something inexpensive and within walking distance to City Place & Clematis Street. This hotel, built in 1925, was perfect in both regards. The rooms are very small, but if all you're going to do is sleep there, it is adequate. Staff was very nice and accommodating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jflock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Thank You for making my stay so comfortable!! The hotel does show some age, but seems well kept. Very cute place with nice atmosphere. Especially pleased with the location. I will recommend this hotel to my friends. See you next time!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SereneShiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This place has the potential to be a great one, however they need to put money on it. I arrived here after a terrible experience in another one. The place look like one of these historical houses that have never been renewed. The lobby is fine, the guy at the front desk is VERY nice, he takes care of everything you tell him and there is this blonde girl who does the cleaning that is also very nice. The room is small but has fridge and microwave. The sink is outside of the bathroom which i found strange but apparently long time ago that was a normal layout. I did have one huge complaint because the bathroom has a communicating door with the room next to you and one day i spent the night out and the next day when i arrived for some reason the lock was broken, like someone from the room next door was trying to get into the room. I told the hotel that and they did all possible to change me to a different room that same night which was something i really appreciated.
For a one or two nights stay the place is fine, not fancy at all but provides shelter if that's all you need. Location is great, a couple of blocks from cityplace and Clematis street, the place is cheap and the service from the people working there is really good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the other side of the Backyard cafe. They have music everyday till 10:00pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pyyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Have stayed there several times & enjoyed the comfort. Definitely shows a lot of the historical qualities, keeping the old fashion look. Friendly staff made us feel at home.
Location is very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SereneShiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Dirty and there's rats. They are roof rats in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dalethesnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Palm Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn West Palm Beach Downtown/CityPlace Area
Residence Inn West Palm Beach Do...
#11 of 34 in West Palm Beach
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Palm Beach Marriott
West Palm Beach Marriott
#14 of 34 in West Palm Beach
692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#7 of 34 in West Palm Beach
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
774 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Palm Beach-Airport Conference Center
Holiday Inn Palm Beach-Airport C...
#15 of 34 in West Palm Beach
585 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Palm Beach Airport
Hilton Garden Inn West Palm Beac...
#2 of 34 in West Palm Beach
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Evernia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Evernia

Property: Hotel Evernia
Address: 609 Evernia St, West Palm Beach, FL 33401-5703
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in West Palm Beach
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing