We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you know nothing about TexMex you might like this place”

Rocco's Tacos and Tequila Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocco's Tacos and Tequila Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 668 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Rocco's Tacos offers a true taste of Mexico within a fun casual environment. When you first step through the door you become part of the atmosphere, joining a diverse crowd enjoying flavors picked directly from Mexico. Experience guacamole prepared tableside. Sample from 225 varieties of tequila. Order a margarita with a sour mix you'll taste nowhere else - it's made right on the premises. Rocco's provided a diverse menu with a distinct attention to detail including corn tortillas made by hand and cooked fresh on the Comal in our kitchen, just as they are made in kitchens throughout our neighbors to the south. Prepare for a treat, with the authentic Mexican flavors of Rocco's Tacos. Whether you're looking for a tasty lunch, a destination to build, or a late night fun, you'll find it here. Enjoy.
New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“If you know nothing about TexMex you might like this place”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The interior is cool, the guacamole is great but you should bring your own chips. I don't know how you totally ruin chips but they do with too much seasoning. I would say if you are in the mood for a drink and nothing else the place isn't bad. If you are hungry...keep looking

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJBNYFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    385
    182
    59
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delivers value...and fun!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

First, be sure to sit outside, or at least close to the street. Part of the good feeling one gets from Rocco's is participation in the Clematis street scene. Second, order the guacamole, because it is freshly made and served in handsome stone vessels that make you feel you are participating in an ancient tradition. Third, expect the food to be good and the portions generous, but don't expect creativity. We are regular patrons, and Rocco's can always be sensed on to deliver its solid food and ambiance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyPartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Guac but Forget the Rest”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Rocco's is a hometown favorite. Why? Who knows? The Guacamole and chips are great. They even season the chips, the seasoning of which they should bottle and market. But that's as good as it gets. We've tried Rocco's more than once, always hoping that it would be better. One time I had the chile rellenos which were too bready and seemed to die on the stove, or in the oven but died somewhere. My wife sent back her fish tacos --- more chopped lettuce and tacos that hadn't even been warmed but cold out of a packet and the fish --- where's the fish. On our recent visit, I had pork carnitos --- aargh. Okay, it was probably pork but it was dry, leathery and had very little taste, a far distant cousin to any really good pork carnitos I've had elsewhere. Oh, well, the guac and chips are good, but you might want to leave it at that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReachOutoftheDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The Place on Clematis”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had read and heard a lot of positive comments about Rocco's Tacos so looked forward to eating there. It didn't disappoint! The guacamole was unbelievable. A half-order is probably enough for two. We were first served warm taco chips that were unusual -- had barbecue seasoning on them. That really added terrific taste to the guacamole which was freshly made and brought to our table. My wife ordered queso which is a meal in itself, as she learned. Very different from what she usually eats at Chili's (and good!). I ordered the plate of two chicken tacos with rice and a wonderful small salad. Excellent! The atmosphere is fun the moment you walk in, with a bicycle overhead and masks on the walls. Our server, Johnny, was outstanding.

Clematis Street, otherwise, was disappointing. Beware of the meters and have change ready -- 12 min/quarter (not a factor in this review).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimgreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Liked the guacamole and chips”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Three of us for lunch sitting outdoors people watching. Ordered the guacamole and chips and they were outstanding. Tortilla soup was OK, the jalapenos relenos were mostly batter and tasted fairly bland. We ordered a variety of tacos which we all agreed were unremarkable. For all we had heard of this restaurant we wondered what all the fuss was about. Too many other choices so we won't be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeyondFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocco's Tacos and Tequila Bar also viewed

West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Rocco's Tacos and Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing