We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort Despite Age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wesley Chapel
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
241 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort Despite Age”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The family spent a weekend in Cluster 2 of the Saddlebrook resort in one of the one-bedroom suites. The suite was large with a full kitchen, dining bar, dining table, couch, easy chair and ottoman. The big screen TV was in great working order. The room had access to a patio with two chairs and a table. It had a partial view of one of the resort's pools.

The bedroom had two queen beds and plenty of drawer space. Lots of pillows too! The sheets were soft and fresh. There was an in-room safe. The bathroom had marble floors, and wonderful shampoos, etc.. The towels were large and absorbant.

We needed both the air conditioner and heater that weekend. Both worked well. The room was all in all very nice. . . . BUT . . . . you couldn't help but think it was last decorated in the 1980s. Nothing was old. It was just old looking.

Check-in was smooth. The valet parking charge is $15.00 / night. A bellman drove us, in a golf cart, to our room. He got us ice and assured us if we needed a ride anywhere on property, it was complimentary. We rarely used the service, as our room was right in the middle of things.

There were two good sized pools near our room, including one that was heated. Large towels were available at the pool shack, along with a variety of board games. The two hot tubs were GREAT! The pool bartender, Lorena, made an excellent pina colada and was very friendly.

Truthfully, everyone at the resort was friendly. Especially Lorena and Jackie C., a server in the Tropix restaurant.

The gym was small with older machines, but all were in good working order. Towels and water provided at the front desk.

The two restaurants we ate at, Tropix and Dempseys Steakhouse were both nice. The food quality in Tropix was very good, not GREAT. Breakfast is served only buffet style. $9.95 for continental. $17.95 for full American. The resort adds an automatic 18% gratuity to all checks.

Dempseys has an awesome salad/antipasto bar and incredible parker house rolls. The filet mignons were large and delicious. The prices were high. . . although not much more than you'd expect at a resort.

It was a weonderful weekend. We will probably visit again. My only concern is the rooms are in need of a makeover.

Room Tip: Ask for Cluster two rooms. They are right in the middle of everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    202
    101
    53
    39
See reviews for
234
106
66
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a great day out at the resort. I'm relatively local to Tampa and a buddy and I went down to play some golf before a Tampa Lightning game. It was a pleasant surprise. The golf course was a nice layout, a bit dry, but the greens were in great shape. Other than golf, there seemed to be a ton to do on the resort. Noticed both hard and clay court tennis, a great pool deck, spa just to name a few. It was about 1:15-1:30 hours from Disney and would present an less hectic option to your visit to Central Florida if you didn't mind the drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Took a recent trip to Saddlebrook outside of Tampa for a golf outing in February. Less than 30' from the airport with easy access. Outstanding accommodations, food, and golf. Very challenging but enjoyable golf courses. All staff were amazingly nice, friendly, and helpful. Not there for a meeting but a prime location for groups up to 750-1000. Condos all being upgraded with free Wi-Fi for Internet connection. Notables were Mark Marker, Winnie at the pool, Angela on the course beverage service and Paul in the golf cart return area. Don't miss the grouper sandwich. Good luck on the Saddlebrook 18th. It deserves it's signature hole ranking!

Room Tip: Any overlooking the golf course if you are a golfer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gen114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is probably our 10th trip to Saddlebrook and we are bummed that it is over already. We keep coming back because it is such a fabulous relaxing and serene place where we enjoy playing both of their great golf courses. Our day consists of 18 in the AM, a great lunch at the outdoor restaruant by the pool (Winnie will take good care of you) and either 9 or 18 in the afternoon. We have dinner at one of the restaurants or go off site where there are at least 25 great places within 10 minutes (check out the BBQ place one exit up--never better!). If your a golfer, this is nervana for you. Don't forget to have a great massage while your there as well! The staff are so helpful and friendly, you want for nothing!

Room Tip: The two bedroom condo's are perfect with 2 bedrooms and a large living room and kitchen, and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in a condo in the walking village. Our room was excellent with a great view of the ninth hole. We found the people to be friendly and willing to help. We had rain one day and one of the maids went out of her way to go the front desk to get us some umbrellas. The valets seemed to do a good job in getting our car there promptly (it helps to give them a heads up when going out).
The golf courses were in good shape which is not always the case in Florida in February. Only negative we found was the cost of food at the resort. It was very overpriced. However there are some nice restaurants within 10-15 minutes away that were good and very reasonable for the quality of food. Also, there is a Publix close by if you need supplies for the condo. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Condo 149 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had no expectations of Saddlebrook but they could not have disappointed me more. The service was atrocious from the front desk, to the valet, to the waitress, to the manager. I stood by the valet desk waiting for 3 minutes until the man standing directly next to me said Oh do you need a valet? Umm, yes, I do, that is why I am standing here. He was the valet. The food was AWFUL! Dempsey's Steak House was an over priced diner. I ordered creme brulee that must have been sitting on a shelf for days. The crispy top had turned to mush! The manager thought that was how creme brulee was suppose to be served! I was locked out of my room for 4 hours and it took a total of 6 people to figure out how to replace the lock. Since my room was a 15 minute walk from the front lobby and I am 7 and half months pregnant you can imagine my frustration! Additional complaints include: the room service took 2 hours (they forgot to take my name, but isn't that part of their process??), you had to walk through a swamp with alligators to get to the main lobby, the rooms were musty and poorly cleaned, and it is in the middle of nowhere. But hands down the most offensive part of my trip was that I was attending a conference onsite that didn't offer bottled water so instead the resort offered pitchers of tap water that tasted like sewage (no exaggeration, no one drank it)! They eventually brought out a water cooler....that WAS COVERED IN FOOD SPLATTERS! It was so disgusting that not one person bothered to fill their cup up with it and no one from the resort seemed to notice that it was filthy! Don't waste your time or your money unless you are in to mediocre food, stupid service, smelly dated rooms, or you just love staying in a swamp full of mosquitos and alligators.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for a business convention. Very nice resort with beautiful rooms. Had a kitchen, living room, bedroom and private balcony. Food was very good. Well maintained grounds. Friendly staff. Nice golf course.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelsPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wesley Chapel
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-Wesley Chapel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Wesley Chapel
Best Western Wesley Chapel
#3 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn of Wesley Chapel
Rodeway Inn of Wesley Chapel
#6 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddlebrook Resort Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddlebrook Resort Tampa

Property: Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
Address: 5700 Saddlebrook Way, Wesley Chapel, FL 33543-4499
Location: United States > Florida > Wesley Chapel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wesley Chapel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saddlebrook Resort Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
780 Acre resort 30 minutes north of Tampa International Airport with 95,000 Sq. Ft. of indoor and outdoor meeting and function space, two Arnold Palmer signature golf courses, 45 tennis courts in every grand slam surface, European-style Spa, Half-million gallon Superpool, Sports Village with Fitness Center; four award-winning restaurants and three lounges, the Saddlebrook Golf Academy and Hopman Tennis Programs for instruction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Saddlebrook Resort Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa Hotel Wesley Chapel
Saddlebrook Hotel Tampa
Saddlebrook Resort Wesley Chapel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing