We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking For a Relaxing Yet Filled with Activity Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wesley Chapel
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Looking For a Relaxing Yet Filled with Activity Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Saddlebrook resort. Our experience did not include golf or tennis as we spent our time relaxing at the pool. We enjoyed our dining experience at the on site restaurant. The salad bar is not something you would find anywhere else. A variety of cheeses and small bites to start a first course. The staff go above and beyond to ensure your stay is a memorable and pleasant one. The comfort of the resort extends into the rooms where the beds are amazing. The small kitchen allowed us to eat one meal a day in the condo. If I were to offer an improvement in the room it would be to have larger trash canister available in the kitchen. One additional improvement would be to dust the room prior to a guests stay. The light fixture above the dining table and the blinds were very dirty. I must also agree with other reviewers that if there are guests on the second floor above you, the loud noise from their walking about is a bit distracting especially at 6am. Overall, a very nice place to stay for a couples retreat or family. This visit included our 4 year old son and my parents.

Room Tip: 2nd floor to avoid noise of guests above. Cluster 4 is a bit farther away but allows for ample priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30somethingfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    197
    101
    50
    39
See reviews for
231
103
65
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

The beauty as soon as you turn into the resort is awesome! It doesn't stop there. The grounds are breathtaking. The rooms are spacious and well equipped,the staff knowledgable and very helpful. We saw alligators, unusual birds, snakes, armadillos and someone even sited a panther. I would not have liked that but we're grateful for a second floor suite! I would definitely consider returning. You can't go wrong here. A special note of thanks to the gentleman taking care of the valet parking! Overall a fantastic place!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsunreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Traveling for business, I didn't enjoy the 45-minute drive from the Tampa airport and then meandering through the property's confusing roads to reach the main resort. You give your car to valet, only option, check-in and then require the assistance of golf cart shuttles to your rooms spread throughout the vast property. This is not efficient when one is working and would prefer to just come down the elevator bank to the conference center at all hours. The property seems dated, rooms/bathrooms weren't as clean as they could be, and dining options were limited. The out buildings seem like old motels, so as a female, I didn't appreciate being on the first floor for safety concerns, but I wouldn't have liked the second floor without elevators either. Very happy to depart!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

They've done as much as they could with this aging lady, but she's still ancient. Ceilings creak when guests walk on floors above, smell of mildew is striking in the rooms, Dempsey's restaurant hasn't updated the menu since Ike was President except for the stunning prices. A place to stay only if required by a conference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stillooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at the Saddlebrook Resort recently for a wedding on 09/14-09/16. I was so upset and disappointed.
Before actually booking a room, I called to find out what the prices would be as a discount for the wedding party. The two bedroom suite listed online was $204 and the discounts for the wedding guest were $199. I informed the Bride-to-be about this because she was under the impression (from her wedding planner) that she would be getting a great discount deal for her guests; $5 isn’t a discount. We were not informed either about the $10 valet parking a night, or $10 resort fee.
The conditions of the suite we stayed in were less than satisfactory. Everything seemed neat and picture perfect. The lobby was very nice and elegant looking. However, the cleanliness of our room was terrible. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite and the smaller bedroom sheet had stains on them, the bathroom mirror was broken, wallpaper coming off in the rooms, the appliances were out of date/old. For the amount of money people pay for the rooms, especially the suites, we were under the impression it would be nicer than this. But all of these issues do not compare to the disgust of seeing not one but two roaches, different sizes, in the matter of 30minutes. I brought this to the staffs attention at the front desk (mind you I was in the middle of a welcome party by the pool for the bride and groom) and nothing was done. They wrote down the information, and asked if I wanted someone to spray, and informed me that it would be brought to a manager’s attention and I should receive a call the next morning. No one called me, no manager contacted me. I was apart of the bridal party, and I was getting ready for the wedding the following day, I did not hear from any manager. I had to call to find out why I hadn’t heard from anyone. I still to this day never spoke with a manager, they asked if I wanted to have someone come spray the room, and I told them no because we didn’t want our stuff being sprayed. They ignored our request and sprayed anyways. I felt like our concerns, and experience as a customer didn’t matter to this staff.
The last problem I want to address, when we first got there to check-in there was an issue. I had another couple sharing this room with me, and a friend. Our friend arrived first and in order for her to be able to check-in to our room, I had to talk to three different departments. They then took a card number from her to have on hold (which I didn’t know about) when I arrived they took my card number also and informed me that I had to hold $380 on my card (meanwhile they still had the first card still holding for the room). I said I didn’t want a hold that large on my card because I wasn’t the only one paying for the room. They said they would be able to hold $100 and then when I check out we can pay for it however we wanted to. That wasn’t the case. On Saturday there was a message on the room phone, when I called I spoke to someone I believe her name was Sherry, who was incredibly rude. She stated she informed me of this and she knew she told me. I was arguing with her for awhile because she wasn’t the one who checked me in. Then she started repeating “your card was declined…it’s declined and we need to have another card number to hold the room”. When I explained continuously to her that we were told they would hold $100 on my card and then when we checked out we could pay however we wanted she corrected me saying that isn’t how it worked, almost as if I was lying. She then stated “Your card is being declined because we need to hold another $140 on the card”, now totally $240 that needed to be held. I have never heard of this.

Needless to say, I will not ever be coming back to this resort, and I will be sure to pass my experience along to friends and family. I will also note that the Brides family was shocked as well, and wanted to make sure I brought these issues to someone’s attention.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Disappointing. Although the front desk told my group at check in that the rooms had recently been updated, the carpet had stains, the wallpaper was peeling, and the bathroom was outdated other than a newer tiled shower. The hotel rooms did not have adequate lighting in the sleeping area or the bathrooms. The area outside of the room was filthy-the outdoor carpet look ancient and was covered in debris from the trees.
I was at the resort for a convention, and the restaurant did not have enough staff to handle the rushes at lunch and at the end of the night. Oh, and the morning of check out I had items on my bill that the front desk could not explain and the little cafe in the lobby charged me $10 for a latte (Starbucks is less than half of that!). The shuttle service around the resort was great , prompt and available at all times.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeriDMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've returned this week from 5 days of the Harry Hopman program at Saddlebrook.  
There are lots of reviews on the resort in various places and I'll let the reader turn to those for the 'resort' goer.  My suite was more than adequate.  This review will focus on tennis.  
First thoughts:  it would be very difficult to improve on this program if what you are interested in is full immersion tennis for 5 hours a day.  It is challenging, compelling and addictive regardless of your fitness level (disclosure:  age 50, relatively fit, and worn out by the 5 day mark).

STAFF:  headed up by Howard Moore, the staff hails from all corners of the globe and all are superb experts at both the game and instruction of the game.
Howard (England) has been there for better than 25 years, and has boundless energy.  Truly boundless.  He is very excited to do what he does and if you aren't motivated to excel for him, you aren't motivatable
Thai (Vietnam) is an expert on your technique.  He is able to breakdown your stroke (each of them) in pieces and communicate to you what you do, why it's bad and what and how to change.  He is a phenomenal player.  To give you an idea, on day one, the first 3 hour session he fed balls to three of us in various manner and missed a grand total of one feed.  One.  Something like 600-800 balls.... Kind of unfathomable.
Vlad (Cuba) is another great instructor who is very good at picking out your most obscene stroke malfunction and massaging it till he can work on the next most offending part.  He is very affable and fun to drill with.
Shawn (New Jersey) takes the Hopman program to heart.  He will work you as hard as you can go.  Then push you just a little harder.  It matters not how fit you are (or are not) he will challenge you.  He is big on consistency and match type play, and will make you better very quickly.
Mitch (USA) is another young instructor who wants you to do well.  He will spend extra time with you focusing on your biggest needs, and empathizes with  his students well so that they improve on their skills.  He can see well across the court what is happening good and bad and offers good insight.  There are more.  These are the guys with whom I worked.
I cannot imagine a better group of instructors to improve your game.

Facilities:  you will play on clay.  Har-Tru.  They are dragged smooth and clean each morning, and are in fine shape.  The courts have shade, cold water, towels chairs and anything else you may need.  We spent all of our time on one of about 4 courts, there are many, many more if they need them.

Your day:  will start with some very light jogging, then stretching for 5-10 minutes.  Then you will break up in groups based on skill levels.  Mini tennis is typical for 5 minutes then some baseline strokes to warm up.  After that it'll be 2.5+ hours of drills, games (different types that expose different things) and match play.  It is fun fun fun.  And as intense as you want it to be.  You will break for lunch, then back at it for the 2 hour afternoon session.   You will be tired at the end of the day, but fired up about the next day because you're here to get better and you will.   

In conclusion, if you want country club light tennis lessons, perhaps another place is your best bet.  You want to work your but off, learn intricacies of strokes you probably didn't know (but are capable ofemulating), then go to Saddlebrook.  You'll be glad.  And I'll be back.

Room Tip: Well, I got an upgrade without asking for it. Off season perhaps. Ask, maybe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cbeeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wesley Chapel
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-Wesley Chapel
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wesley Chapel
BEST WESTERN Wesley Chapel
#3 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn of Wesley Chapel
Rodeway Inn of Wesley Chapel
#6 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
8.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddlebrook Resort Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddlebrook Resort Tampa

Property: Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
Address: 5700 Saddlebrook Way, Wesley Chapel, FL 33543-4499
Location: United States > Florida > Wesley Chapel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wesley Chapel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saddlebrook Resort Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
780 Acre resort 30 minutes north of Tampa International Airport with 95,000 Sq. Ft. of indoor and outdoor meeting and function space, two Arnold Palmer signature golf courses, 45 tennis courts in every grand slam surface, European-style Spa, Half-million gallon Superpool, Sports Village with Fitness Center; four award-winning restaurants and three lounges, the Saddlebrook Golf Academy and Hopman Tennis Programs for instruction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saddlebrook Resort Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa Hotel Wesley Chapel
Saddlebrook Hotel Tampa
Saddlebrook Resort Wesley Chapel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing