We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saddlebrook Hopman Youth Tennis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wesley Chapel
Reviewed March 28, 2012

28 March 2012

Saddlebrook Hopman Tennis Youth Program Review Summary: Excellent.

Two children, a female 15 and male 16 attended the program in the spring of 2012, the former, first time, for a week, the later, third visit, for two weeks. Under the direction of Larry and Howard More, the program consists of skilled coaching, and a balance of hard work and making the exercise fun for the kids. All the coaching staff is highly trained and effective. The continuity is impressive; many of the coaches have been there for 5 to 10 years. This appears to be a professional career, not a job, to the coaches. Complimenting the instruction, the leadership is keenly focused on the abilities of each child and provides reports to the parents on needs, progress and attitude.

From making the first reservation to the children returning home, the administration is responsive, clear, organized, and pleasant. There is the sense that the children are safe at all times, from being picked-up at the airport to on-campus supervision. The facilities, food, rooms, courts, pool, extra curricular activities are excellent. The social dynamic is positive as well. The kids returned home having made new friends.

In summary, the Saddlebrook Hopman tennis youth program is recommended positively. A safe, comfortable, professional, tennis experience was provided to our daughter and son.

JWD, New York City

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 800 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We just completed a meeting that included 30 participants from all over the country. The facility and staff at Saddlebrook did everything perfectly to make our total experience exceptional. We will return.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Travelingwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

First family tennis vacation for us. Was a splurge... but for the most part was worth it. Tennis instructors were FANTASTIC, with the exception of one (he ran great drills, but didn't give much instruction per se), and tennis skills were definitely improved upon (I am a 3.0 player and my husband a 4.0). The other participants were a joy to play tennis with as well! Our 10 year old son (a beginner) had a great time in the all day kids' tennis program, and our 8yo daughter thought 2 hours of tennis a day was just fine... and preferred to hang out at the "S'kids" club the rest of the day. (The girls providing day care there were awesome.)

My one complaint: The second day of our stay, the resort was overrun with families staying there for a local lacrosse tournament... the resort was FULL. The families and kids were nice, but when we were hoping to relax in the hot tub after a full day of tennis... we had to deal with 14 young kids in the hot tub (had to be the mean 40-somethings and ask them to vacate). Worse yet, the wait at the outdoor bar was 30" for a drink, and there were no lounge chairs available by the pool, once the lacrosse games were done for the day.

Would I go again? Absolutely. Wish I could go today for the quality of the tennis instruction! Would I go when the lacrosse teams (or any other huge group) were staying there? No... I wouldn't. We went for tennis, and loved that part, but it would have been nice to enjoy the other amenities without such a huge (and preteen!) crowd.

Room Tip: Would reserve a suite if possible... for a few bucks more, you have a kitchen and dining area, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Game2GoAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Over spring break I took my sons, both high school tennis players, to Saddlebrook to participate in the Hopman tennis program. We had previously participated in programs at Kiawah as well as Van Der Meer and Smith Stearns at Hilton Head. The instruction and facilities at Saddlebrook were truly outstanding. Howard Moore and his staff took a genuine interest in all of the players and did an excellent job of skill matching. While physically pushing the players, the instructors provided individualized instruction. I only wish I had taken my kids to Hopman years ago. It was the best instruction they have ever received. As an added bonus, while our kids were at the clinic,my wife and I watched John Isner tune up with James Blake for Indian Wells.
We booked a Deluxe Suite. It was the perfect size for our family. The suite appeared to have been recently renovated and was very clean and comfortable. The kitchenette allowed us to fix breakfast in the room, which was healthier, cheaper, and more convenient than eating in the resort dining room.
Great pool and fitness facility. We are already looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had a very nice long golf weekend. The resort is obviously a bit older, but seems they are doing a nice job of keeping it up and renovating in some key areas. Our condo was fine..near the pool/pro shop and was updated recently. The golf courses were good but not great courses. I will say that the staff and service were very, very good. The steak restaurant was very good but it's a shame it's only open on Fri/Sat. Breakfast selection was really really good.

Again a very nice place but not top shelf in terms of resorts. No serious complaints and I would recommend this place to anyone looking to have a nice long break. Pool was very nice and the tennis camps seemed very, very busy so they must be good. Some decent 'off campus' dining available in Weseley Chapel if you want to take a break from resort dining.

Some great wildlife to observe on the property...gators, turtles, all kinds of birds...really great.

Room Tip: Wifi was was woefully slow....Cluster #3 was very nice and close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

4th time ti Saddlebrooke and still love it! We come for the Tennis camp which is top notch. Superb instruction. Nice resort too: good breakfast buffet, nice gym (although a bit of a walk), occasional tennis pro siting, great landscaping, friendly staff.

Ways too improve: Rooms could use some updating especially for the prices they charge. Also, they recently updated their cable system but now their is no Tennis Channel:( A little bit of a disappointment for us seen as we like to watch it while in the room sometimes to visualize what the teaching pros are telling us. Hopefully they will have it if we come again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

All about the tennis! If you are looking to play tennis and have a good time, look no farther. The staff with the resort as well as the tennis program were great. The Pros at Saddlebrook were excellent. The facility is easy to get around. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wesley Chapel
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-Wesley Chapel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Wesley Chapel
Best Western Wesley Chapel
#3 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
312 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa North - Wesley Chapel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dade City-Zephyrhills
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddlebrook Resort Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddlebrook Resort Tampa

Address: 5700 Saddlebrook Way, Wesley Chapel, FL 33543-4499
Location: United States > Florida > Wesley Chapel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wesley Chapel
Price Range: $211 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saddlebrook Resort Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
780 Acre resort 30 minutes north of Tampa International Airport with 95,000 Sq. Ft. of indoor and outdoor meeting and function space, two Arnold Palmer signature golf courses, 45 tennis courts in every grand slam surface, European-style Spa, Half-million gallon Superpool, Sports Village with Fitness Center; four award-winning restaurants and three lounges, the Saddlebrook Golf Academy and Hopman Tennis Programs for instruction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Saddlebrook Resort Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa Hotel Wesley Chapel
Saddlebrook Hotel Tampa
Saddlebrook Resort Wesley Chapel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing