We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Both Family and Couples Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #41 of 114 Restaurants in Wesley Chapel
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Both Family and Couples Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

New look and make over at this Sonny's favorite local spot for dinning... A great place for family dinning and a neat bar for couples looking for good old fashion BBQ meal and Wings... Everything on the menu looks and tastes great... The meat is always tender and tasty and the sides are plentiful and delicious... The salad is long and always stocked with a nice variety of crowd favorites... My favorite is the smoke turkey on a bun with two sides... I enjoy the corn on the cob and the steamed broccoli...My wife enjoys her turkey sandwich with the fries and cold slaw... The food always arrives pipping hot and so plentiful we have to take some home... The selection of the BBQ sauces on each table is great (love the selection of BBQ sauces)... The sweet tea is the best in town... During football season, we sit at the bar and enjoy the plentiful tasty wings while watching our favorite football teams play on the TV screens... By sitting at the bar you get a discount price on the wings... The management team and staff are the most delightful folks you'll ever meet... The restaurant is very clean and cheerful... Definitely our favorite Sonny's restaurant...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StPeteBeachHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words, StPeteBeachHoliday! We're so glad to hear that you enjoy dining with us for your favorite turkey on a bun meal! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    10
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great baby back ribs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We don't have Sonny's up north, so it's must visit on every trip. Food was delicious, service was great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MACritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review, MACritter. We're glad to hear that you enjoy dining with us! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please don't waste your money at this Sonny's!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013





This location has ruined the whole Sonny's experience.  We ordered ten wings and 2 big deal pulled beef brisket meals. First came the wings with no celery or dressing.  Second there was the dirty silver wear and no plates to eat from. The waitress had no clue what she was doing!  She brought out our beef brisket, well at least I thought it was. It was fatty and nasty. I told the waitress and she informed me they changed to chopped brisket and it tends to be fatty. I then asked for sliced beef and that was just as bad. The waitress said she would have the manager come over and he never did.  I over heard other customers complain about the terrible food as well. I was disgusted with the food and service. Do yourself a favor and don't eat there! I will never go back!




Disgusted in Wesley Chapel




5324 Bruce B. Downs Blvd.
Wesley Chapel, FL 33543

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagboy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
@Jagboy74, we are sorry to hear about your experience at our Wesley Chapel location. Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com so that we can better address all the issues you encountered. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still great BBQ Huge Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I think Sonny's quality has improved over the years. "Family-Stye" meals are huge. Great value for 4.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank usjetjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“WOW - so awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been going to Sonny's since 1981 in Tallahassee (as an undergrad at FSU) and have always been a fan of their smoked meats and sides. WOO HOO! Now having lived in Gainesville for the past 20 years (where Sonny's first opened in 1968) I can honestly say that my experience last night in Wesley Chapel was the worst ever. Yes, the portions were huge and the meat was o.k. (save for the fatty pork slices) but the sides were amazingly undercooked. Imagine soggy French fries, fried okra, some abysmal corn nugget appetizer that actually came with Ranch dressing (really?!), baked beans that were tossed out of a can (have had fantastic beans at the Gainesville sites), southern style green beans that tasted like tin cans, mushy corn bread and sad, terribly sad mac 'n cheese. At least the sweet tea was great. Come on Wesley Chapel! Sonny's has always been a wonderful place to go for inexpensive, southern barbecue. And what is up with the employees going out of the front door to smoke a cigarette right by the entrance? Not good, not good. I must say that the service was wonderful, though. Sigh....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatormusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

Wesley Chapel, FL
Wesley Chapel, FL
 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing