We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote, beautiful & wild!”
Review of Delta Dunes Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Delta Dunes Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kau
Wiesbaden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Remote, beautiful & wild!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Delta Dunes Lodge is definitely in the middle of nowhere. To get there from Tsavo Nationalpark we chartered a private plan from Air Lamu, that took us right onto the beach in front of the lodge. That was a great experience in itself. Gettig up through the Dunes to where the lodge is, requires a bit of fitness and you better wear proper shoes as the sand can get a bit hot around noon time. Delta Dunes is a true Robinson Crusoe barefoot paradise with 360 degree lookouts on true wilderness. The Indian Ocean to the East, the Tana River Delta to the West and and endless dense forest / jungle inbetween - fantastic, but you have to love this kind of rustic charme and be prepared for visits of baboons or vervet monkeys as the bungalows have no doors or windows. The staff of the lodge look after you very well though and will probably take care of unwanted visitors before you even know they were there :-).
We loved the walks on the beach, miles & miles all to yourself in both directions, we loved the fantastic meals that were served in different locations everytime and the company of the managers as we were the only guests at the time and we loved our boat trip on the Tana River into the sunset - great birds to see!
Two nights is definitely not enough in this place, we should have stayed at least 4 - maybe next time ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheodorWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our 3rd and last stop on our first African adventure could not have ended on a better note. The flight to Malindi was easy. The trip by car to the Tana took nearly 3 hours and then another 20 minutes by motor boat to the lodge. The lodge is built on the dunes that are wedged in between the Tana river and the Indian Ocean. A perfect location for a place like this. The facilities have a "rustic/elegant" style. A lot of the furniture and decor is made from driftwood or stuff that have been washed on the beach over the years...done in a very classy way. Our room high on the dunes and was comfortable with a view of the river. We did get a wake up call from a group of about 6 monkeys...they were so cute, but did scatter some of our belongings around the room. We let them. The food was the best we had on our trip. Wilson, the chef, is outstanding. I wanted to bring him home with us :) The seafood served was very fresh, right from the waters in front of the lodge. One night we had giant lobsters, the largest I have ever seen. The pool is great! Clean and warm. The beach is great. The water is very warm and the waves are long and mild, perfect for body surfing. I could have spent a months here, but unfortunately we had to go. Thanks Anna and crew for a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view, either the river delta or the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is just the perfect place to rest after a Safari. I have been here twice with my family and I'm afraid I wont be able to fully describe how special it is. Grandiose desert beach going on for kilometers paired with the genuine african beauty of the delta.
Rooms are made with local wood assembled in an original design and you can really feel how every little detail is cared for. They are on the dunes so you get a nice breeze.
The service is attentive and smiley and the food truly excellent.
The first time I came here I was afraid I might get bored in such a remote place but this is just impossible. Days pass so quickly at the Delta and a part from the nice sea, there are many activities such as as fishing, sunrise walks, kayak, beach sailing... During our stay we even saw a few animals like hippos, waterback (sort of gazelle, i don't know how to spell it), baboons, baby bush, velvet monkeys, and many beautiful birds. On the road to get there we even got a glance of a cheetah.
Only negative point: mosquitos ( but i guess it depends as well in the time of the year) so bring a repellent with you.
If you wish to spend some days on the seaside in Kenya I totally reccomend this lodge, not coming here means missing something unique.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank A121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I took my three teenage boys to the Tana Delta lodge and had the best week. From the minute you are picked up by the speedboat you know you in for something special. The bandas (small houses) are truly, truly stunning. Perched on top of the dunes, these driftwood houses are well worth the walk up the sand dunes. Barefoot luxury at its best. The most comfortable beds and every detail is thought of, such elegance in the middle of nowhere. I was a little worried that the teenage boys would get bored, but there was no need. The beach is one of the most beautiful I have seen, a huge expanse of deserted coast line and they spent hours sand yachting, power kiting, surfing and just kicking around a football with a couple of the staff. And then there were fishing trips, bird watching trips, barbecues on the beach,waterskiing, kayaking sundowners on the river and quite simply the most delicious food ever. I was slightly apprehensive before I went, in terms of security. But any minor concerns I had were swiftly allayed...and you feel totally safe. The askaris are always present without being visible and to be honest it felt a whole lot safer than London. If you are after a unique experience in the most beautiful place you have to go to the Delta Dunes and stay for as long as you can, you need at least 5 nights for it to get under your skin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I spent an amazing vocation in Tana Delta Dunes last summer, it was just smth you can never forget. We arrived by speed boat to the Lodge and from the first step the place impressed me so much. Even at night it lookes so beautiful and private. Such places give you the rare opportunity to complitely relax from the daily life in a big city and on the second day you forget about all rush and push and want just to lie next to the pool or on the beach. During my stay the owners of the Lodge came to the place as well and i hear so many interesting stories about whole place, Malindi, Kenya and their company - Liberty International Tourism Group. Those guys really know what they do in that life and how to serve the clients in a perfect way. All bungalows were done with simple stuff but so nicely that you feel yourself somewhere not from this planet. The staff in the Lodge was always friendly and fullfiled any my wish: any kind of food were always waiting for me on the table, I just had to inform them 1day in advance, any kind of beverages/coctails. There are many activities on the beach such as windserfing, kayaking, windbicycles, regular bicycles, water safari, bird watching safari, fishing and many others. We spent really unforgetable vocations in paradise. Thanks a lot.

Room Tip: all rooms in Tana Delta Lodge are perfect so you can stay at any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was the last stop for us on our trip to Kenya, and it was a relaxing way to end our safari. Getting to the lodge is a bit of a hike, but it is well worth it once you are there. The property is difficult to describe, but beautiful. The views of both the Indian ocean and the delta is unique and spectacular. Upon arrival we were greeted by the managers of the property, David and Lara. They are wonderful, and made us feel very welcomed. The room is completely covered, but has no walls, so you are completely exposed to the fresh air. It was lovely to fall asleep to the crashing waves and wind. The king size bed sleeps well, and also has netting. The shower was a little rough when it was windy, but nice and warm. The beach is secluded allowing you privacy. Sand-yachting is a must do! Each meal was freshly prepared and tasted wonderful. Overall, the Delta Dunes is a must if relaxation and peace is what you seek.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Najgeenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

1 was with 5 friends beginning July 2012 for 3 nights there.... outstanding and I will come back. We enjoyed every day with our private Warden who was showing us the Tana River Delta and it´s beauty.
Fun in the morning on the Beach, explore the afternoon on the river with game and bird watch and fishing as well the sun downer and back at night when the sky was filled with stars´. unbelievable and unforgettable. There is so much to do that you should stay at least 4 - 7 days. Relax, enjoy, plan your dinner where ever you want... in the Dunes, on the river bank, on the beach at one of your beautiful eco house... They will arrange everything for you! Thank´s to the management and the team...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engelbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewAfriTerr, Public Relations Manager at Delta Dunes Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review and kind words. We do hope you "will come back" in the very near future as we continue to renovate, build and train our staff so as to offer the best service we can! Thanks again and all the best. The Delta Dunes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delta Dunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Dunes Lodge

Property: Delta Dunes Lodge
Address: 2A Convent Drive | Tana Delta, Kau 00508, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delta Dunes Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Dunes, "The Wild place by the Sea," is a lodge uniquely combining beach, river and bush to give you an unforgettable experience. Perched on top of miles of rolling rippling sand dunes with fabulous views overlooking the old delta of the Tana River on one side and the Indian Ocean on the other, alfresco accommodation and mess area are built in a castaway style but with all the ultimate comforts. This is the only wetland of its type in Eastern Africa. Explore this phenomenon with incredible birdlife; aquatic life and wildlife coupled with endless miles of vast uninhabited beach that is wild, exciting and extremely beautiful……all to yourself! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Delta Dunes Hotel Lamu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing