We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for kayak”
Review of The Kayak Shack

The Kayak Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best place for kayak”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you are anywhere near Tampa, you need to enjoy a day on the Weeki wachee river which is an hour drive. I went today and saw 20 manatee, deer, and otters. The water is crystal clear and 72 all year round. The reason to rent here is the people and the kayaks. They are at the end of the river, so you go up the paddle back to your car, much better than getting kayaking all day then getting in a van with folks who have been paddling all day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TampaInsuranceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    20
    5
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, IL
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“great canoe/scuba trip to see manatees”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our initial plan was to rent a power boat to take us to the River Hospital Hole, where we planned to scuba. However, the marina was closed for the day when we got there. We had driven quite a while, so we were very discouraged. We stumbled upon the kayak shack, where the staff was so friendly and helpful. We rented a canoe very cheaply that was big enough for our tanks and equimpment. A much greener cheaper option than a power boat. We paddled lazily for about 10 minutes, easily found the hospital hole from their directions. At about 10 feet under we found 3 manatees, including a mom and her baby. We swam among the manatees for 2 hours. It was a once in a lifetime experience and the folks at the kayak shack made it easy. We heard a couple people who just canoed comment that they had not seen any manatees. If you are canoeing and staying at the surface, remember manatees only come up for air about every 20 minutes., so you need to give it some time a the hospital hole. Otherwise, they're about 10 to 12 feet deep where the water warms up.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Take time to see the real Florida”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A great day out that is realxing and value for money, Take a cool bag with a picnic, a hat , sunscreen and enjoy a day watching the wildlife of Florida in natural peaceful surroundings a hidden gem.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Please take time to enjoy the real Florida”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a lovely day...
The lovely couple who own the 'shack' are very accommodating and helpful.
My Husband and I had a great day Kayaking down the river .. because the water is in a natural spring area the it is warm and crystal clear so you are able to see all the fish and manatee below (even in January). My Husband and I had a really great time relaxing, nature watching ..a really easy paddle down the river we would both recommend you hire from these guys and get yourself a really great day out. Phone in advance for directions because despite using the 'sat nav' we still managed to get lost when trying to find them.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Fl
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Laid back, old style Florida scene-far cry from beaches/theme parks”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We wanted to take some friends to a different Florida and doing the trip on this river was just the right thing! It's a canoe/kayak-your choice - trip that floats you through a very different part of this beautiful state. We saw manatees and slews of birds not seen during the hot months.
It's a great trip in July because the shade of the tree canopy keeps it cool. But in January, it was just as awesome with warm water and visiting wildlife.
At $30./per watercraft it was an affordable day out. The outfitter drives you and the vessel up to the put in and then you paddle down back to the pull out. It's right beside a good seafood bar and grill which is a nice reward after the trip. Btw-trip is not strenuous at all and any age able to stay inside the boat( who won't freak out on the water- like my 70 year old Mom) can do it easily. Very cool.
Owners Jon and Amber made it super easy and us feel welcome and relaxed. We took coolers with sandwiches and drinks and it was a great day outside!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank curbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kayak Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Kayak Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing